Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Gel Pack Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Gel Pack

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe! Nicely conforms to any body part and seems extra cold! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Earlier this year I had such a horrible cough that I dislocated a rib. OUCH! This gel pack really helped because I was able to use a gallon size freezer bag and wrap it around my ribcage. I used a few drops of blue food coloring so everyone would know what it was when they opened the freezer. Thanks for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      After knee surgery, we needed an ice pack for my airedale mix dog. This worked out perfect as it would conform to her leg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Awesome. It's helping me with my headache. Thank you for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Perfect idea to help save some $$ instead of buying ones at the pharmacy. They freeze in about 4-6 hours. I found that this recipe makes a huge gel pack (gallon size bag) & it took 6 hours to freeze -- so I made some again using two quart size bags and splitting the recipe between the two bags. This is a much more manageable size in my opinion and takes just 4 hours to freeze into a gel. The only downside I see is that they do not refreeze - they just turn into one big block of ice. I'm wondering if I added more alcohol to the melted pack if it would work. That is my next trial. I'm going to make up a bunch to keep in a cooler for both soccer teams to have for those injuries that occur during the games. Thanks for posting and sharing. Found this recipe while searching for items to post in Topic of the Month March 2009 Going Green forum (Thread Going Green without Spending a lot of Green). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Great idea! My daughter is always saying she's too hot to sleep, and this is perfect. I colored it blue....it looks even colder, more icy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I am amazed how well this works! Now I am prepared for any aches and pains!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This beats frozen peas any day! Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Who knew!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Great recipe- going to share w/ our school football team !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      My husband just tore his bicep tendon and is waiting for the surgery to reattach it. He is going through ice packs like crazy. I remembered this recipe and he says it's better than using regular ice or purchased ice packs. Since he's using them constantly, I colored them each a different color so that it's easier for him to rotate them. I also vacuum sealed them. These are a lifesaver. He's happy and we all still have ice for our drinks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Sorry I forgot to rate this months ago ! Each of my boys has their own colored ice pack and they get used often during track season. Thanks for a solution to the frozen peas bag !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      I also reduced the amount, and double bagged it... but I didn't colour it because I didn't want confusion with some of the coloured bagged icelollies that are popular with the kids for treats at the moment. I put this in several very small ziplock bags since it's the smallest members of the family who are generally having little kid accidents associated with rough and tumble playing. It's nice to know that something like this is on hand for that moment when your hands are full carrying, and consoling a crying child, that you can just reach into the freezer and reach for something "to help make it better". Also good for those occasional blunders when I take something out of the oven and forget that 5 minutes later when I want to move it somewhere else that I DO indeed need the oven gloves again becuase it's still hot as blazes and no, my fingers are NOT made of asbestos ! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I scaled this down to just under a 1/4 and made a mini ice pack for the kids. Used snack baggies that I did triple bag just to ensure no leakage with it made of rubbing alcohol and being for the kids (I'm paranoid lol), also took luvmybge's advice of inserting a cloth and put in a baby washcloth and mom2's of dying it blue to be noticable and differentiate it from just water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I made two bags. One bag had a little less water in it bcz the bottle wasn't exactly 16 oz! Anyways, I think I will use a little more water next time (that's supposed to make it a little less soft?). It didn't gel up as much as a like, but my DH said it stayed cold a long time. He even got frost! It was a nice larger size too. Thanks. UPDATE: After being in the freezer longer, it has geled up much more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      This is awesome...DH had a toothache, and we didn't have an ice pack. He was a bit whiney saying that ice wouldn't help it, but...who would've thought that I was right! =) Was soft enough to gently mold to his face...toothache was gone in no time! I added blue food coloring to make it easier to find in the fridge. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This was wonderful to use after my daughter had some baby teeth pulled. It was cold but soft. Thanks so much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      My only suggestion would be to add food coloring so you can find it quickly in the freezer and no one mistakes it for a drink.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      Great idea! Did this years ago but had forgotten about it! Knee sugery prompted making a few and they work wonderfully!!Just right amount of "slush" to keep things nicely "iced" for about 20 minutes (recommended icing time) 5 minutes prep, using vacuum sealer! Thanks, JustaQT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Wanted to share that I got a nice thank you note from my nephews football team! The high school coaches said it was the best ice packs they have ever used. Very mushy, SOOOO easy to wrap around knees and ankles! Thanks for posting a recipe I have passed on to MANY people!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Gel Pack

    Serving Size: 1 (811 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes