Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Fresh Bacon Bits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Fresh Bacon Bits

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2010

      What a unique idea!!! I never use the processed bacon bits as I find they have too much salt in them. I had a lb of bacon sitting in the fridge that I needed to do something with. I cooked them up then put them on a cookie tray and put my timer on for 20 minutes until they were partially frozen, then bagged them! They won't stay there long as I plan on using part of them for Dave's Killer Baked Beans (56969) tomorrow!! Kudos on a great idea!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Awesome tip, you have made my life easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Great! However...when is there ever any bacon left over for freezing?? Haha! Loved it, thanks for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      Simple, smart and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Easy and delicious. I always need crumbled bacon for one reason or another, and this makes it so easy to have it anytime. No more cooking the bacon as I need it, now I can make a large batch and freeze it (if I have any left)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Thanks Karen, this worked out very well and it made a lot of good quality bacon bits, saving me time in the evenings (when I don't really have any nor the extra energy while getting dinner on the table). I froze them as you suggested and can easily pour out just what we need, which helps to stretch that pound of bacon even further. My family loves them and it really perks up baked potatoes, pasta salads, soups or even sprinkled over our green salads. Thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Perfect timesaver. Being from the south, we add bacon to tons of things! Such a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I would suggest covering your bacon bits with a layer of saran wrap while freezing to prevent the little amount of freezer burn (dehydration) that will come from it. Other than that, fantastic idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Genius! This Time-saver recipe is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I am so glad I happened upon this; it will save me so much time and clean-up in the future. Thank you, Karen, for a great recipe!!! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I am not a bacon lover. I don't mind it as bacon bits added sparingly to other dishes. I do like bacon fat to fry potatoes in. I bought bacon bits in a bag once because my family loves bacon. I wasn't impressed plus I didn't get any fat. I needed bacon crumbled for another recipe and remembered seeing this. I didn't remember to partially freeze it so it didn't cut all together willingly but this was so great when it was all done! My family is going to be so happy to have bacon in their eggs. And I can't wait to have hash browns made with the fat! They and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Thank you so much! Brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      The only difference between the way you and I do this is that I use my kitchen shears instead of slicing with a knife. Works perfect....good idea to post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      YAHOO! What a terrific idea! I have always hated chopping bacon because there was always little pieces flying off my cutting board onto the floor, counter etc. I didn't like crumbling it with my hands because it sometimes made bacon dust which doesn't look so good. Also, the burned fingers mentioned by Wendy-Bob was always an issue. I was so proud of my bacon bits! Thanks for posting such a great solution!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      EXCELLENT! I have always cooked my bacon first and then chopped it up which has led to the burning of my fingers and bacon bits which are too large. This is a fantastic recipe and so quick and easy and effective. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      What a treasure this easy recipe is! The bacon does separate into even little bits while it cooks, and the bacon bits taste SO much better than the packaged kind. In response to a question I posed to Karen, I have frozen the excess on a sheet pan till solid, then placed in a Ziploc bag to use as needed...very handy for many applications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Sometimes the simple things truly are the best. I have always had trouble cooking bacon, so when a recipe calls for cooked & crumbled, I cut it and cook it as in this technique. Thank you for the hint on freezing the bacon first. It made all the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Fresh Bacon Bits

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.6
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    88%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 472.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes