Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2013

      Ok this is about the10th recipe for flour tortillas that I've tried, and I have to be honest they weren't the prettiest, but they tasted GREAT! I used cake flour cuz that's what I had and was afraid they may come out tough, but to my surprise they didn't. I have a tortilla press, but was to lazy to pull it out, but to me, rolling out the dough is the best part! I'm going to roll out circle if it's the last thing I do! :) I will make these again, with the all purpose flour, thanks for the easy and tasty recipe Charmie777.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      This is one of those recipes that I have to make several batches at once... One to eat and one to feed to the fam. LOVED IT! Thanks so much! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      I have to admit I was a little scared to try this.....I don't do very well rolling out dough, but I was brave! This turned out wonderfully. I rolled these out really thin, so thin I was scared I'd tear them moving them to the pan. They cooked quickly and turned out beautiful. Oh, and I used a pizza cutter to cut off any parts that weren't nice and round. Made for ZWT7!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Loved how easy these went together AND how good they tasted. So much better than the store bought ones we usually have. After a bit of trial and error found out it's VERY important to roll them out really thin. I had so much fun making these and will be doing them often from now on. Made for the C/S America tour for ZWT 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Quick and easy to make! I used whole wheat pastry flour and for the shortening I used half butter and half olive oil. They came out great! I will try experimenting with this recipe, adding herbs or cooked drained spinach for additional flavor. I really loved how easy they were to roll out. The dough when made with olive oil is soft but not sticky and rolls easily.

      ...OK, I tried them now with spinach and they came out great again! I used approx. 1 1/2 cups fresh baby spinach leaves. I cooked it slightly in about 3/4 c. water, then chopped the spinach and blended the spinach and cooking water in the vitamix before adding it in place of the water to the tortilla dough. It took about 1 1/4 c. pureed spinach to make the right consistency dough. Excellent; I will definitely make these again! Much better than store bought. You just have to make sure you roll them very, very thin, for the best tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Love these!! So simple to make! I used 3 cups flour, 1/2 cup 1 TBSP shortening and 1 cup of warm water, and they turned out great. I rolled them out as thin as I could. I was worried about them cracking when I rolled them up for our fajitas but they held up great! Good flavor. My husband wants me to make more for breakfast burritos this weekend! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I made these, for the first time about half an hour ago and they are very good. I did add some tex-mex spices
      to the dough, because I find plain tortillas bland. I added 1/2 tsp. ground cumin, 1/4 tsp. chille powder and about 1/2 tsp. Fiesta Lime spice mix. I was amazed at how east this dough is to work with. The only problem I had was moving the rolled dough to the frying pan. Maybe my hands are just small:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Made these today and they were pretty yummy. It's going to be hard going back to store bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      These are simple to make and taste wonderful. I have made them 3 times now and they have definitely become a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Same recipe I always use. I think people overthink this stuff. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      My husband and I made these on a whim today for lunch....WOW. They were great. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Basic tortilla recipe. Easy to make, just like any dough recipe. My first attempt at making tortillas. I tried the pasta machine method (because I couldn't find my rolling pin) to rolling out the dough, but either my machine is too small, or the tortillas were too big, but that didn't work well for me. So I rolled them out with a round beverage glass. My first couple were too thick, so I pulled and stretched the remaining tortillas to "paper thin" and they came out much better. And they cooked up very quickly that way too. Next time, I will cook them up two at a time (I can roll out the next ones as the first ones are on the griddle).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      These were so fun to make!!! And WAY better than store-bought!! I made a bunch and have the rest ready to go in the freezer! :) Thanks so much!! :) Made for the ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      These turned out really good. We made steak fajitas with these tortillas and the thickness of the homemade tortillas was great with the meat! My husband said that it was his favorite thing I have ever made for him, so we will have to keep this recipe around! Thanks for posting, it was really easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Really good. I was being super lazy and just rounded the golf ball sized ball of dough and put in the pasta machine and got it to the size I needed. They actually came out better that way, because I can not get my dough thin enough by hand rolling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I have been around tortillas all my life from aunts to grandmother to mother and now me. There is nothing differnt, from one torilla to the next. I am from Mexico born anyway and grew up In Calif. I have never ate a store bought Torillas Nor will I ever. I was hopping for something a little differnt like Roasted tomatoe tortills. I guess I was just a little disapointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Just like my grandma made in the olden days!! Super!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      My first time making tortilla's. Just like me...I am covered in flour.:) I can't tell you how happy I was with the end result. I thought at first I was going to be disappointed because my first one was ugly and it tasted like a flat biscuit. I mastered the rolling and the moving to the pan. They looked great!!! When I added the toppings for Meximelt a La Amy, they really helped make it a FANTASTIC meal! Thank you so much Charmie!!! Made for ZWT3 by a Floozie - Remembering Amy (Redneck Epicurean).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This is a very useful recipe to have on hand. I made a few dishes with these tortillas over the weekend. It's quick and simple. Made for ZWT3...a Toast to the Captains!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* - This was my first time making Tortillas. I use vegetable shortening and then kept to the recipe. I didn't have a cast iron skillet so I used a basic non stick pan, it did the trick. Thank you Charmie777

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (729 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.6
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    41%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 255.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes