34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making this for several months now and like it. I just buy some cheap conditioner in a fragrance that I like and make a batch. I use it in a HE washer & have had no problems. I like the fact that there is vinegar in there to cut the suds because I don't always use HE detergent.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Butter&Jam April 14, 2010

I tried a different recipe recently that basically just stretched the commercial softener, but my DH's skin is still sensitive to it. So when I saw this one I knew I had to try it, especially because it's completely homemade. We can control the amount of scent by using different conditioners or essential oils (which I have boxes full of so I'll be making lots & lots of this stuff! :)) Today I tried it per the recipe (no essential oil) & it's a two-fer! I had a lonely bottle of conditioner under the vanity for about a year now that I bought because it smelled great but it turned out worthless on my hair. I was just keeping it around "for an emergency". Now, I made a wonderful smelling fabric softener & I'm not wasting any conditioner! It makes the clothes feel clean & smell fresh. My only complaint was that the silky-like track pants & shorts that DS wears for gym at school came out with some static. It's definitely not as much as without any fabric softener at all & everything else came out very nice. Even the towels! :) Thanks for sharing, momma!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** September 25, 2009

It's so easy to do. I did half the recipe. And I mix the ingredients in a large bowl, then poured in a 2 L bottle of Coke with a funnel. This smells great and is inexpensive. Thanks barefootmomma. Made for 123 hit wonders

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 09, 2009

THANK YOU!!!! this worked FANTASTIC!!! needed to finish laundry..out of softner... had a 22 oz bottle of Sauve tropical cocconut..made this up and it worked perfectly..oh & I got the conditioner free with coupon shopping...THANKS again

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady July 16, 2009

I just finished making my 2nd batch of this. It works great. i too used it in my HE washer and had no problems. The cost of commercial fabric stoftener is just crazy. This is a huge savings. I can't seen any difference between this and store bought. Barefoot Momma in WV, this PA momma says Thanks! ***UPDATE*** 10/2011 I have been using this recipe for a while now and wanted to pass on a suggestion. I find that the fabric softner stays mixed better if I make a batch and let is sit for a while (week or two). I try to keep a batch premixed at all times.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom October 26, 2011

I have been using this recipe for quite some time now and I love it. I will never go back to the commercial fabric softeners again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csilcox75 July 28, 2011

Wow, this stuff is really great! I used a cheap vanilla-mint scented conditioner, and the scent is so subtle that it doesn't really scent the clothes at all. That's okay with me, since it still does its main job of softening the clothes. Even my bathrobe didn't get any static cling, and it always got a little even with commercial fabric softeners. I made enough to last awhile, but when I run out I want to try it with a stronger scented conditioner, maybe like a fruity one. Thanks so much for your recipe, barefootmomma!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice Princess June 05, 2011

I am going to be trying this tonite. I found hair conditioner for .58 a bottle that I will be using in it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdb613 May 27, 2011

I really liked the results! On top of that I will be saving! It's a win win! I can't wait to try other scents because I thought the one I picked wasn't strong enough. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz March 25, 2011

I didn't notice much scent - I used honey almond conditioner, but my DH's socks smelled fresh and it seemed like there was less static. Also they didn't have that coated feel that you get sometimes with softener. Made for PAC Fall 09

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet September 23, 2009
Homemade Fabric Softener