Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Fabric Softener Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Fabric Softener

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2010

      I love this recipe!!!!! My clothes look brighter after I have dried them. Please make sure you mix in bucket or pot first before transferring into containers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I really like making this recipe. However, after a huge explosion this morning, I have a suggestion. Mix the ingredients in a bucket. I had no problem with the mixture fizzing over and no explosions - which is a good thing. Still add the vinegar slowly and stir as you add it. Then after stirring real good, just use a funnel and pour it into a gallon container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I made this fabric softener this morning and washed a load of my husbands clothes and love this recipe! I was using plain vinegar, which also worked well but I like the idea of using baking soda. I also make my own laundry soap and love the addition of this softener! Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Fantastic! I use an old fabric softener container and make a half batch at a time. No need to add essential oils as the container still retains the smell of the previous softener. Kids like to watch it fizzle as we make it.. One note...when storing leave the lid off:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Love this recipe! I use it all the time. I have been using it now for 8 months and would never go back to buying it! It's so cheap to make. I use a old, well-rinsed gallon milk jug to put the recipe in. Sometimes I add essential oils, but it's not really necessary. Your clothes won't smell like vinegar if you choose not to use essential oils. It's even more economical if you don't. I have so many friends and relatives that are now using this recipe as well. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I make this up unscented, and keep a variety of essential oils in my laundry room with a dropper to scent the laundry with whatever scent I feel like indulging with at that time. I am making my own laundry soap as well, and the two have made such a difference! This softener is very inexpensive to make, and the clothes are just as soft as they can be. I LOVE this stuff! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      It's also good because the vinegar and baking soda clean all the 'greeblies' out of the washing machine and help prevent soap buildup. Good recipe, and I recommend mixing the stuff outside, less mess to clean up incase of an 'oooopsie'. Vinegar and baking soda great for bugs on roses...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I was searching for an enviro-friendly fabric softner and recipezaar was the first place I went to. I looked at three recipes and thought this one seemed the most legitimate. I'm so happy to say it ACTUALLY WORKS!!!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Nice alternative. I'm allergic to most fabric softeners so I have never used them. I made this as directed only a word of warning - it can be dangerous. :-) I was so careful when adding everything and then I capped it and gave it one swirl and immediately realized my mistake as the plastic jug swelled instantaneously and as I fumbled for the cap it exploded. It would have been a very entertaining sight to watch if I wasn't shrieking because gritty vinegar was burning my eyes. My two kids (playing underfoot) went running and screaming and my baby was cracking up in her bouncy seat at all of us running around. It was everywhere, even inside my cabinets and on my ceiling! Ha! Be careful! But it really does work nicely. What was left after it exploded anyways. I use a Downy ball by the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I halved this recipe to test drive it. It is FAB! DH is sensitive to any additives and I was desperate. This made our laundry soft and static free. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Great alternative to commercial fabric softeners. I used a citrus liquid potpourri for scent, believe it or not, and that worked fine. Clothes came out with a little static but I'm not not too concerned about static. I'm more concerned about the softness of my clothes since I live in a very hard water area. But with this homemade softener, the clothes certainly came out acceptably soft....and without that fake "chemical" feeling. I'll definitely use this instead of Downey. Update: After 2-3 months of using this, my clothes are now much more noticeably whiter. We live in a very hard water area and hard water can really make clothes dingy, so this stuff is a godsend. I will never buy commercial fabric softener again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I made a small batch of this today to try it out. I liked that it has less baking soda than other recipes. I used it on my bed linens, and then hung them out to dry on the line. The next full-size batch I make, I might put in a little borax too, just to add a little more booster to it. I think I will also make it without the frangrance, and then choose my fragrance when I do the laundry. That way I can choose to go fragrance free, or select whichever fragrance I'm in the mood for. Thanks, Littlemomma...I like the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Made this recipe a couple weeks ago and háve loved it, but my son told me this weekend that if he gets hot ( like working out) then he starts smelling the vinegar! Any suggestions for that? Anyone else have that happen?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I have used this recipe for about 6 wks. and I just love it . , I even gave it to my sister. I do not use any fragrance at all. THanks so much , Joanne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      We hang our clothes to dry and the clothes have been noticeably less crunchy in the drying process. This receipe is simple easy and there are good results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I moved to hard-water central Texas and had to start using more fabric softener at a time I had a lot less money to spend. So I am going to homemade laundry products all-around. This works great, easy to make -- but you should wear goggles while mixing it. And don't cap the bottle when you shake it! I added my French vanilla oils, and tomorrow I will make up some lavender tea from the buds I use for my homemade herbal tea, and add that to it. That should put Downy out of business! I started making my own dishwasher products last month - nothing like vinegar in the rinse to get rid of those hard water white blotches!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Been using this for about 8 months now. Wonderful recipe! Does a great job, even on my delicates, and so inexpensive! Try it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I tried this out. When I have an acrylic yarn baby blanket it is still staticky but for everything else it seems to do fine. When there was still any static I got my hands wet and grabbed and shook the offending item. That works too. I like the idea of not having chemicals coating the clothes and this will cost much less than store fabric softener too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Thanks! Works great! I used young living essential oils: purification...my favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This is a great fabric softener. It fights static cling and keeps my clothing fresh and soft. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Fabric Softener

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 17.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4093.5 mg
    170%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites