12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an effective, clean and economical recipe. Made my face and chest feel baby soft. I'll be making a big batch to have on hand. Thank for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 22, 2014

Wow! I love this stuff. I received an email from this website with all kinds of ideas about DIY gifts, food-related, and stumbled upon this recipe. I first tried a scrub with salt and burned and dried out my skin...tough lesson to learn considering so many others had only rave reviews :( But I decided to give it another try and this one is beautiful. I ground my oatmeal in my coffee grinder on coarse grind but it was still milled pretty well. Also I did substitute ground coffee for the wheat germ because I had it on hand and through my research I've learned caffeine applied externally may have wonderful properties for the skin. Whatever...so I gave it a shot and it just smelled so good and my face wasn't dried out. How amazing! The oatmeal is the key. I only used about half a teaspoon full and even that was more than enough. I am definitely gifting this. All my friends and I are struggling with dry skin and not wanting to spend a fortune at the counter. My kid's in college I don't have an extra $75 a month to spend on my face!!! This combined with my "Yes to Blueberries Age Refresh" overnight hydrating cream Target special and I am feeling marvelous! Glowing, renewed skin...exactly what this 40-year-old mama needs!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 January 02, 2014

I agree with everyone. I just tried it on my face and did as MommaEllen suggested, to apply it to my face over my kitchen sink. I used the sprayer to rinse it off and down the disposal it went. I love how cheap it is to make and it leaves my skin feeling wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal June 27, 2009

I can't believe I forgot to rate this. I have been using it for well over a year now, primarily on my face and love the results. I also use it on some rough patches I have on the back of my arms and it gets rid of them with one use--no other scrubs have worked on my arms in the past. This is a great scrub and I highly recommend it! Thanks for posting SaraFish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 26, 2009

This scrub works great! Dry scrubs are a great alternative for those of us that get clogged pores from the oily scrubs. It leaves a good, clean feeling. This recipe is completely adaptable also. It could be made even if you do not have one of the ingredients or other ingedients can be added such as pure cane sugar or coffee grounds. I simply add some water to the scrub in my hand and form a paste to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alanam_28 April 05, 2009

Thank you! I LOVE THIS! I like that it's a dry mix, and we can add in our own moisturizing soap. But I agree with the other person, be careful-- it gets clogged in the shower drain! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Texas November 06, 2008

Thanks for the inexpensive way to not go to the spa! Next time I will run the oatmeal thru the blender a bit before adding to the rest. I also will do this over my kitchen sink so I can lay a paper towel in the sink to catch the mixture and also so I can use the sink sprayer to get the mixture off my face easier. I too plan on making this for gifts, easy, cheap, and very useful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen August 24, 2008

I'll try anything once but this is something I'll be using again and again. We go through a lot of scrubs in our house because of hubby's job - landscaping. Our fave costs $25 each and we both use it daily so it adds up! Anyway, this will save us quite a bit as hubby loves my scrubs but hates smelling froo-froo. I used this one today on my face and it was heavenly!! I plan to make one for my mom, sister, MIL and friends for Christmas! I wonder if there is a way to add a pretty (and natural) scent. I'll experiment and let you know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch August 06, 2008

WOW!!!!!! I was very skeptical but this is just as good as the apricot scrub I buy. (Well, that I used to buy!!!!) This is fantastic, thank so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessdz68 March 30, 2008

OMG! This is THE most marvelous stuff! I used this once and I swear my face has not looked or felt this good in many, many moons! I love that it's all natural and doesn't cost a fortune and have a bunch of junk in it. After just one use my face is glowing and feels just like a baby's bottom - no exaggeration! I am SO happy to have found this :) Thank you SaraFish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkyGlitter January 16, 2008
Homemade Exfoliating Facial and Body Scrub