30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This seriously fantastic stuff! I added a little onion and garlic, made some in a matter of minutes, and trust me, it's incredibly good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teenlaqueefa May 19, 2012

Just made this! Looks great, tastes great... about to assemble my enchiladas and we'll see how the family likes it :) Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZombieDarling June 09, 2011

I really liked this. Used only 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch and 2 tablespoons of chili powder (mixture of mild and hot) and it turned out perfect. I had no idea how fast and easy it is to make this from basic ingredients. Super happy that I won't ever have to buy the canned stuff again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crunchy Numbers June 06, 2011

I give 2 stars because I'm not sure if it was just me. I believe I am a pretty good cook and I couldn't wait to try this!! However, I never attempted enchiladas before and refused to use the can sauce. I don't know if someone could help me w/what I may have done wrong. By the other reviews, it was probably just my lack of enchilada knowledge. But the sauce was WAY to thick for me. Nothing I did made it thinner. I tried adding more broth and when I ran out of broth I tried water. Nothing worked! And I do like the sauce thick, but this was to where I had to spread it with a spoon and it was extremely hard to dip the tortillas. I also felt it had virtually no flavor and tried adding additional spices with still not achieving the flavor I was looking for. I even tried cocoa which was a suggested Mexican secret with many recipes. Like I said, it was probably just me. But my excitement moved to discouragement. I think I will have to keep looking. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowgirlAtHeartOH February 24, 2011

Excellent sauce! I used this sauce with some Beef chipotle enchiladas. It was enough sauce for an 8x8 dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quicksterdnb January 19, 2011

This recipe is very easy to do. And the taste is so good. I used it in Awesome Beef Enchiladas. I used 1/8 cup of chili powder. I omitted the salt. Thanks SweetsLady :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 13, 2010

Now that I have this great recipe I don't have to use that canned stuff anymore, which is fine by me! Cheaper to make then to buy, this is going to be made often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cariannhillsgrove August 25, 2009

I used this Enchilada Sauce for WillowRiver's Ultimate Mexican Stuffed Chicken #324865 (which, by the way, was delicious). The sauce was wonderful! Thanks for a great, simple recipe! Made for I Recommend Tag Game, 2/18/09 - NELady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady February 18, 2009
Homemade Enchilada Sauce