30 Reviews

AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! What else can you say???? This sauce was amazing. We are from the SW and just couldn't duplicate the awesome flavor of homemade enchilada sauce until now. I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan about 20 single rolled enchiladas and had a bit left over. This sauce is perfect, you will not be disappointed!! Thanks for sharing SweetsLady!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginangino69 October 17, 2010

WONDERFUL recipe! I especially appreciate the fact that you can control spiciness and sodium. The flavor is delcious. For more of a creamy casserole effect, I melted 4 oz. of cream cheese into the sauce. I also agree with other reviews to double the recipe for a 9x13 pan. I mixed part of this sauce with my shredded chicken to stuff the tortillas and poured the rest over top. Sprinkle a little cheese on top and you'll have the best homemade enchiladas north of the border!:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laup547 February 09, 2012

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the first sauce I ever attempted to make from scratch and it will forever be the recipe I use. Perfect flavor (I used 1/8 cup chili powder which gave it the perfect spice... not too hot, not too mild). Nothing but good things to say. I could go on forever.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahLynn1228 March 14, 2011

Excellent and in my opinion a very authentic tasting sauce. I made 2 pans of enchiladas(16 total) and doubled the sauce as we like a good coating. There was a little left....maybe a cup. I shredded a deli chicken and then mixed with a cup of the sauce and a cup of chopped onions with the chicken in a large bowl.We also stuffed a little cheese inside as well. Oh....I did use a 1/4 cup of chili powder and a teaspoon of cayenne! Great

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman July 05, 2009

Great recipe for enchilada sauce! SOOOOOOOO much better than the canned stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkpsap September 22, 2012

I can't believe I forgot to review this before now. This IS my go-to recipe for enchiladas & burritos. I don't buy the canned stuff anymore. Perfect recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang April 20, 2011

I finally found a great homemade enchilada sauce. I hate to buy the mix but could never find a good one. This is IT! My biggest complaint about homemade ones is the overkill tomato taste, well this one wasn't enough ;) I ended up using the whole 8 oz can and it was PERFECT! Only used 1/4 chili powder and it was quite spicy (might have been the brand?) so no cayenne here. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Canadian Chef January 12, 2010

I have made this three time and it has passed the test! Wonderful recipe. Fast, Easy and Delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina B October 31, 2013

I followed this recipe, but made changes to suit our tastes as follows: Used 1 8 oz container tomato sauce, 3 TBL Chili Powder, 1 TBL Ancho Chile Powder, and all else as written. I used this to make what I call enchilada lasagna....quite good. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 May 04, 2013

Well, I am so tired of paying the HIGH price of Old El Paso's enchilada sauce in the grocery store. I'm determined to duplicate it! It has a flavor that I LOVE, and I want to make it. I'm an excellent cook and baker, as I'm told, and I think I can do it. THIS recipe is very close and VERY GOOD! I've read many other recipes and this one uses the same ingredients; they've all had great reviews. I make home-made tamales every year; I use a ancho chile sauce made out of pureed ancho chiles. I've been told I should go into business making tamales. I have to admit--the are FAB! However, I really want to find out what Old El Paso uses; I can not pin point the spice. For this recipe, I did add more oil, sugar, cumin, added cinnamon and a pinch of ground clove. It's is very good! STILL--looking for the Paso flavor...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suadeblue_11835114 August 09, 2012
Homemade Enchilada Sauce