Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2010

      AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! What else can you say???? This sauce was amazing. We are from the SW and just couldn't duplicate the awesome flavor of homemade enchilada sauce until now. I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan about 20 single rolled enchiladas and had a bit left over. This sauce is perfect, you will not be disappointed!! Thanks for sharing SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      WONDERFUL recipe! I especially appreciate the fact that you can control spiciness and sodium. The flavor is delcious. For more of a creamy casserole effect, I melted 4 oz. of cream cheese into the sauce. I also agree with other reviews to double the recipe for a 9x13 pan. I mixed part of this sauce with my shredded chicken to stuff the tortillas and poured the rest over top. Sprinkle a little cheese on top and you'll have the best homemade enchiladas north of the border!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the first sauce I ever attempted to make from scratch and it will forever be the recipe I use. Perfect flavor (I used 1/8 cup chili powder which gave it the perfect spice... not too hot, not too mild). Nothing but good things to say. I could go on forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Excellent and in my opinion a very authentic tasting sauce. I made 2 pans of enchiladas(16 total) and doubled the sauce as we like a good coating. There was a little left....maybe a cup. I shredded a deli chicken and then mixed with a cup of the sauce and a cup of chopped onions with the chicken in a large bowl.We also stuffed a little cheese inside as well. Oh....I did use a 1/4 cup of chili powder and a teaspoon of cayenne! Great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Great recipe for enchilada sauce! SOOOOOOOO much better than the canned stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I can't believe I forgot to review this before now. This IS my go-to recipe for enchiladas & burritos. I don't buy the canned stuff anymore. Perfect recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      I finally found a great homemade enchilada sauce. I hate to buy the mix but could never find a good one. This is IT! My biggest complaint about homemade ones is the overkill tomato taste, well this one wasn't enough ;) I ended up using the whole 8 oz can and it was PERFECT! Only used 1/4 chili powder and it was quite spicy (might have been the brand?) so no cayenne here. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      I have made this three time and it has passed the test! Wonderful recipe. Fast, Easy and Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      I followed this recipe, but made changes to suit our tastes as follows: Used 1 8 oz container tomato sauce, 3 TBL Chili Powder, 1 TBL Ancho Chile Powder, and all else as written. I used this to make what I call enchilada lasagna....quite good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Well, I am so tired of paying the HIGH price of Old El Paso's enchilada sauce in the grocery store. I'm determined to duplicate it! It has a flavor that I LOVE, and I want to make it. I'm an excellent cook and baker, as I'm told, and I think I can do it. THIS recipe is very close and VERY GOOD! I've read many other recipes and this one uses the same ingredients; they've all had great reviews. I make home-made tamales every year; I use a ancho chile sauce made out of pureed ancho chiles. I've been told I should go into business making tamales. I have to admit--the are FAB! However, I really want to find out what Old El Paso uses; I can not pin point the spice. For this recipe, I did add more oil, sugar, cumin, added cinnamon and a pinch of ground clove. It's is very good! STILL--looking for the Paso flavor...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      This seriously fantastic stuff! I added a little onion and garlic, made some in a matter of minutes, and trust me, it's incredibly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Just made this! Looks great, tastes great... about to assemble my enchiladas and we'll see how the family likes it :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      I really liked this. Used only 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch and 2 tablespoons of chili powder (mixture of mild and hot) and it turned out perfect. I had no idea how fast and easy it is to make this from basic ingredients. Super happy that I won't ever have to buy the canned stuff again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I give 2 stars because I'm not sure if it was just me. I believe I am a pretty good cook and I couldn't wait to try this!! However, I never attempted enchiladas before and refused to use the can sauce. I don't know if someone could help me w/what I may have done wrong. By the other reviews, it was probably just my lack of enchilada knowledge. But the sauce was WAY to thick for me. Nothing I did made it thinner. I tried adding more broth and when I ran out of broth I tried water. Nothing worked! And I do like the sauce thick, but this was to where I had to spread it with a spoon and it was extremely hard to dip the tortillas. I also felt it had virtually no flavor and tried adding additional spices with still not achieving the flavor I was looking for. I even tried cocoa which was a suggested Mexican secret with many recipes. Like I said, it was probably just me. But my excitement moved to discouragement. I think I will have to keep looking. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Excellent sauce! I used this sauce with some Beef chipotle enchiladas. It was enough sauce for an 8x8 dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This recipe is very easy to do. And the taste is so good. I used it in Awesome Beef Enchiladas. I used 1/8 cup of chili powder. I omitted the salt. Thanks SweetsLady :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

    • on August 25, 2009

      Now that I have this great recipe I don't have to use that canned stuff anymore, which is fine by me! Cheaper to make then to buy, this is going to be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I used this sauce with Bean and Cheese Enchiladas instead of canned. It was excellent! Thanks for sharing, SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I used this Enchilada Sauce for WillowRiver's Ultimate Mexican Stuffed Chicken #324865 (which, by the way, was delicious). The sauce was wonderful! Thanks for a great, simple recipe! Made for I Recommend Tag Game, 2/18/09 - NELady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.8
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    64%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 446.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites