9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful thank you I will be using this as Edible Pixie Dust at my daughters Fairy Birthday Party! :) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flutter.styles March 27, 2011

This is so much fun to do. I did yellow and red. Thanks Hope :) Made for Bevy tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 22, 2009

Completely fun - I used these to rim "mocktails" for my DD and a friend...theyjust thought it was the best! I Love the looks of the red and green for the holidays - I can see this recipe really getting a lot of mileage! Thanks for posting a great was to dress up so many things! **Made for Beverage Tag Nov. 2008*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva December 16, 2008

How fun!!! I only made two small batches (red and green) by using 2 tablespoons sugar for each batch and 6 drops of each food coloring. I couldn't find any coarse sugar, so used regular granulated sugar. I found that the sugar clumped together when adding the coloring, so I let them sit out on a paper towel overnight to dry out a bit. I used these on Refreshingly Different Lemon Drop Martini #320833 and they looked pretty and added a little sweetness to a tart drink. Thanks mama for yet another keeper. And congrats on your football win!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme December 07, 2008

This was so fast and easy! I used a zip-lock plastic bag, instead of a jar, and just mixed the amount I needed. I also added some flavoring extract to match the color (i.e. lemon for the yellow sugar). I didn't have course sugar, but it still worked well! My only hint would be to add a few drops of color at first, adding one at a time as you mix, so as to reach the desired color, without going overboard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephsfanny November 11, 2008

How much fun is this? I used coarse decorating sugar and Christmas red and green as a trial run for December. I should have counted the drops but I just kept adding till I have rich colors. Some of the sugar melted when I put 3 drops on it to start with but I found that it works better if you place the drops on the glass sides and let it be picked up as you shake. Thanks mama for an early start on the Holiday Season :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 15, 2008

Never let it be siad you can't play with your food around here....Fun Fun Fun -- We used this over and over -- it is fun and sooooo very versatile. Plus no worries if the littlest of our little ones tries to taste the glitter the others are using in the project. Thanks mama!!! We made a couple of our batches scented by mixing a drop of color with a drop of scented oil (no longer edible I know) before taking the combined and droping in coarse salt. The little guy got to scent his with almond extract - not as nice as the others but remained edible and suited him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gull Lake Linda August 20, 2008

I saw this in the Salt Uses forum. We had some empty Penzey's glass jars (for seasonings), so we mixed up the salt in there and used the lids to make it easier to shake. My 5 yo wanted something to do, and this was quick and fun. We took some popsicle sticks, he put glue on them and shook the salt on them. Then we glued them together to make a frame. We'll put his picture in it. I don't use food coloring in cooking anymore, so this is a nice way to use up what I have. Thanks Mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead July 27, 2008

We use this method to color coconut shreds and now I will try it with sugar and salt. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent July 26, 2008
Homemade Edible Glitter - Colored Salt or Sugar