47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Needed an envelope of onion soup and I searched my cupboards and couldn't find one. So used this recipe in Quick Beef Noodle Soup and it worked out perfectly. Will be using more often!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol September 28, 2009

Excellent recipe, thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa August 13, 2009

Fantastic, thank you so much, you saved my life!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotland July 26, 2009

This is convenient using ingredients in my pantry without making a huge amount! For the last ingredient, I used Citrus pepper. Since I was using this with other ingredients as a rub for recipe#1888444, I ground everyhing in my spice mill. Thanx for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady April 13, 2009

I used fresh onion and black pepper. This is awesome.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons March 26, 2009

I have used this many times!Great!! You can use Sysco Beef Base but put the base in right before using since the base has to be refrigerated but it is really a cost saving measure compared to cubes or granules. I also buy 1/2 gallon of dried onions at a time if you have a place to store them.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song January 06, 2009

This is a perfect substitute for store-bought onion soup mix. I've used it many times in many different recipes with consistent success. I actually prefer this over store-bought and love how it saves us money. I don't use the bouillon granules, but make my own by crushing 4 beef bouillon cubes. I place the cubes in a sandwich baggy, seal, and then crush them. Then mix in all the other ingredients. I mix up several batches to have on hand when needed. To keep them fresh, I keep all the baggies in an airtight container. I keep a rubber mallet in the kitchen and it works great for crushing the bouillon cubes. :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf October 09, 2008

I use this all the time and love it for its taste and convenience as well as cost!! This is one of those recipes you keep coming back to use again and again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 September 04, 2008

Oh, what a lifesaver this has been for me! If I'm out of granules, I simply crush up a bouillon cube (1 for ea. tsp needed) with my mini food processor. Thanks so much for posting! EDIT: I've recently started using beef flavored soup base and have been very happy with the results. The jar lasts forever and taste is great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud August 27, 2008

Made this specifically to use in a dip for a group I host each month, & found it to be much superior to anything I could have bought at the store! Your posting of the recipe is much appreciated! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 23, 2008
Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix