Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2008

      Quick, easy and delicious. I made this for use in another recipe and it was great. I didn't actually make it as soup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I needed onion soup mix without too much sodium and this one was easy to do. I used seasoning salt (no-sodium) and pepper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I like this better than the pre-packaged. I added two beef bouillon cube instead and it turn out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      What a great mix! I used this for a crock pot roast and the flavor was fantastic. I plan to use this recipe from now on instead of the prepackaged stuff you buy in the store. Thanks foodtvfan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Saved my pork tenderloin recipe! Thanks!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      THANK YOU!!! ya saved my recipe and me a trip to the store....... was not able to tell the difference in my finished product from the higher priced soup mix I'm making lots of these little packets and putting them in a zip bag to have on hand... won't be buying the store bought stuff anymore (unless I have a coupon and get it for almost free thank again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Used this to make French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches #28341 and it turned out well! I like how you can control the salt content with this as opposed to the store bought ready made type.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I intended to make my Mom's Marinara Brisket recipe #1172801 BUT I didn't realize I was out of Lipton's onion soup mix- I found this and had all the ingredients in my pantry and so you saved the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Tastes better than the real soup mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      Terrific recipe! It was a supper saver for me and will now be a permanent recipe. I won't need to buy onion soup mix again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      What a lifesaver!! I was getting everything together to make Thunderbird Roast (#59780) when I realized I was out of onion soup mix...aarrgghh!! This recipe saved the day! I followed the directions precisely and was VERY happy with the results. Thank you for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Thank you for posting this! It works perfectly and it's measured out to replace one packet of Lipton's. I didn't want to make an entire batch just what I needed. This tastes great and it saved our dinner! I'm a military spouse overseas and it is one hour to our nearest commissary! Thank again. Recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      I made this last week when I didn't have Lipton's for a dip It worked great, we didn't notice any difference in taste from the packaged mix (I did add garlic powder). My Dad had given me a HUGE container of dried onions when he moved & I didn't know what the heck I was going to do with them - now I think I'll make your recipe X 40 :) Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      This was very good. I had to substitute chicken bullion (2cubes, crushed) because I did not have any beef, and I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I mixed this into hamburger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      This worked great when I made "They Could Be Sliders (If Eaten With Eyes Closed) - White Castle" recipe. I will make a big batch and use this often. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Works perfectly on a pot roast! Just like the mix in the box, but cheaper and healthier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Excellent replacement to that Lipton's dry onion soup mix -- for the seasoned black pepper, I used Montreal Steak Seasoning -- EXCELLENT for my awesome slow cooker pot roast recipe. Thank you -- such a cost savings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      My family loved this recipe. I used it as a dip with sour cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I used this recipe as a chip dip (mixed with sour cream). I tried it just as written, and let it sit for a bit. When I tried it later, I decided to add 1/4 tsp garlic salt and I think this helped bring it closer to the boxed mix taste for me. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      The day I decided to make hot pork sandwiches, and needed to add dry onion soup mix, I didn't have any packets of the soup mix on hand. I was so happy when I came across this recipe. I had enough ingredients to make a double batch, and I was pleased with how it turned out, and tasted in the pork sandwiches. I also like the fact that I didn't need a lot of extra added ingredients to make it, plus I didn't have to add any salt. This is one recipe I plan on keeping handy, just incase I need to use it again. I also wanted to mention... I found it made made exactly 1-1/2 ounces, which also equals 13 teaspoons. What a great substitute recipe this is. foodtvfan, thank you posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.9
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    16%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2449.2 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites