Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2010

      I'm so happy to have come across this recipe! I made several batches and put each in a small plastic baggie. Now I have plenty of onion soup mixes for dips and recipe and I made them for just pennies! Plus, I can pronounce every ingredient in the mix. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      really good and no nasty chemicals

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Decided to make my own mix to try and keep the sodium level down..this was very good and will be added to my recipe book. Used in Fabulous Beef Stew (Fabulous Beef Stew) and it was excellent! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I used this to season a chuck roast I baked, and it was perfect. No additional salt or seasonings needed except a little sprinkling of garlic powder. I will definitely be using this again as I always have these ingredients on hand and do not usually buy the dried soup mixes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Good as a dip. I added garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Excellent! I don't usually make the foil pack but just measure out half the ingredient amounts. It's enough to season meat loaf, pot roast, burgers. . . the choices are endless. You can add different seasonings in this mix if you like. I sometimes add in 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. No more instant dry soup mixes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Yum! I am allergic to milk and most onion soup mixes are off limits. This was perfect! I have added it to my favs - thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was fantastic! I didn't have any onion powder, but replaced it with the garlic powder and it was just perfect. A+

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      What a great recipe! Have to watch our salt intake, so I used sodium-free beef boullion. This is perfect. Will never buy Dried Onion Soup again. Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      This dip tastes great!! We usually use Lipton's mix but were all out. So I found your recipe. It was so good that even my Picky brothers couldn't tell the difference. This is a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Needed an envelope of onion soup and I searched my cupboards and couldn't find one. So used this recipe in Quick Beef Noodle Soup and it worked out perfectly. Will be using more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Excellent recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Fantastic, thank you so much, you saved my life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is convenient using ingredients in my pantry without making a huge amount! For the last ingredient, I used Citrus pepper. Since I was using this with other ingredients as a rub for recipe#1888444, I ground everyhing in my spice mill. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I used fresh onion and black pepper. This is awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I have used this many times!Great!! You can use Sysco Beef Base but put the base in right before using since the base has to be refrigerated but it is really a cost saving measure compared to cubes or granules. I also buy 1/2 gallon of dried onions at a time if you have a place to store them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This is a perfect substitute for store-bought onion soup mix. I've used it many times in many different recipes with consistent success. I actually prefer this over store-bought and love how it saves us money. I don't use the bouillon granules, but make my own by crushing 4 beef bouillon cubes. I place the cubes in a sandwich baggy, seal, and then crush them. Then mix in all the other ingredients. I mix up several batches to have on hand when needed. To keep them fresh, I keep all the baggies in an airtight container. I keep a rubber mallet in the kitchen and it works great for crushing the bouillon cubes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I use this all the time and love it for its taste and convenience as well as cost!! This is one of those recipes you keep coming back to use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Oh, what a lifesaver this has been for me! If I'm out of granules, I simply crush up a bouillon cube (1 for ea. tsp needed) with my mini food processor. Thanks so much for posting! EDIT: I've recently started using beef flavored soup base and have been very happy with the results. The jar lasts forever and taste is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Made this specifically to use in a dip for a group I host each month, & found it to be much superior to anything I could have bought at the store! Your posting of the recipe is much appreciated! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.9
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    16%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2449.2 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes