Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Dog Food Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Dog Food

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2010

      I have 5 Dachshunds, 1 Great Pyrenees, and 1 BloodHound on my farm. I started making this food with minor adjustments for 12 years and feeding my dogs 1/2 Kibble and 1/2 this, because we had a Dachshund that nearly starved to death because we couldn't find a food she would eat. So I started making rice and cooking chicken or beef or ground turkey in olive oil which is great for their skin and coat and adding carrots,peas,potatoes, or sweet potatoes.It saved our Samantha and The vet always comments on how beautiful my dogs coats are and how healthy they are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I would definitely give this 5 stars if I knew the portion size. My dogs love it and it is easy to make and store. It smells and looks so much better than store bought food as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      I have an extremely picky 18mo. old Border Collie that has been underweight since we brought her home. She eats but not enough to put on weight. She is otherwise healthy and has lots of energy. We have tried numerous brands of dog food. I have tried everything including adding Nutri-Cal per my vet's recommendation. No matter what I added to her food she would lick off the additions and only eat a little of her dog food. I have been desperate to try to expand her stomach to increase her appetite. And then I found this recipe. I made it last month and froze it in portions in zip-lock bags. She loves it! She did pick out the carrots :-) After feeding the homemade dog food to her a few times I then began processing it with some of her dried dog food and she eats it all up. I think her appetite is starting to increase. I did use sweet potatoes instead of baking potatoes. I omitted the chicken broth and just used water in order to reduce sodium content and preservatives. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I chose this recipe as it seemed to have the least objections to it in reviews. Didn't cost me a lot to make, made a lot. So far I am giving about 1 cup mixed with their kibble (that they weren't fond of) and they are thrilled at dinner time now. My 2 girls have been on the thin side and this has increased their appetite very nicely. Their coats look good too. I used low salt/fat broth to keep it as healthy as possible. Thanks for the nice reipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      So...I was wondering if this delicious doggy dish could be good for me too cuz it sounds so good!!!I can't just let my puppy have it all to himself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      My dogs LOVED this!!! I have a black lab with a sensitive stomach (she has to be on expensive prescription dog food). I mix 1 cup of this food, and 1 cup of her normal dog food, and she loves it! Better yet, its cheaper than the prescription dog food (god only knows whats in it) and she hasn't had any digestive problems at all! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I give this recipe four stars because I like most of the ingredients in the list. Cooking casserole style is easy and if your dog likes it, great! I've tried a recipe very similar to this one but it called for using a crockpot. My finicky mutts just didn't go for it. For those of you who want to feed homemade diet and don't have success with this recipe, try cooking items individually (roasting the meat, blanching the vegetables, steaming the rice etc). My finicky two will clean up their bowl for most meals cooked this way. I cook in quantities and then freeze the food in two-portions so that I need only fuss about once every two weeks or maybe once a month. All in all, I believe homemade food to be a by far healthier choice than the highly processed kibble foods!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Our Xzena loves this food.I give her one cup with a handful of her expensive dog food,morning and night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      I've been interested in making my own homemade dog food for awhile, and was intrigued by all the positive reviews and healthy ingredients.

      I made some changes to the recipe. I swapped out the potatoes for sweet potatoes. Since meat comes in 1lb packages, it was easy to just double the rice. I also added spinach in addition to the carrots and a tablespoon or so of rosemary. I also cooked the ingredients separately then mixed them together for 30 min or so to combine the flavors.

      My two Australian Shepherds (25lb & 60lb) gobbled this down and LOVED it. I mixed about a cup of it with a cup of their dry food and will slowly get them off the dry food. I make sure to keep them on multi-vitamins so they get the other nutrients they need to stay healthy.

      It cost me about 35-40 bucks for all the ingredients, and with 2 large-ish dogs it will last me about 7 days. I plan on looking for ways to make this a bit more affordable! Thanks for the great start!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      The instructions to the recipe don't work. If you cook the rice, then add in the veg and potatoes, the rice is over cooked and the veg/potatoes are not cooked in 30 minutes. You have to cook everything separately, the mix it together at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      My three dogs love this recipe so much and I feel good giving this to them but can any one tell me how much to give I have a 55 lb 13 lb and a 4 lb dog thank you so much for your time sincerely Barbara in Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This sounds delicious. I've been wanting to make my own dog food for a while and this seems the healthiest I've seen. I don't know proportions - do you know how much per weight of dog to feed per day?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Dog Food

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.7
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    26%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 49.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 144.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites