Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Dishwasher Detergent Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2010

      I have been using close to this recipe for over a month (1 load a day) with great results. Here are my tips. 1 cup each washing soda and borax plus 2 envelopes unsweetened lemonade (like koolaid) And use white vinegar in rinse agent compartment. This is for people with soft water. If you have hard water, mix in 4 envelopes of lemonade. If you continue to have white film, add another lemonade packet. I would also suggest, before giving it a try,(those with hard water) to run through 6 envelopes of lemonade first in an empty dishwasher and put 1 cup white vinegar in the rinse (to clean the dishwasher of limestone) I put my dishwasher powder in an old coffee creamer container with pour spout lid. Use approx. 1 TBS./ compartment- adjust to less if you can-LESS IS MORE. You may notice the powder will clump after a while-it doesn't hurt it- I put a silicon gel pack from a new pair of shoes to dry out my container. If you have heavy limestone build up in your dishwasher-look in your instruction manual or on the internet to find out how to clean out your sprayer arm. I started with FISTFULLS of limestone. Good luck- and don't give up... we can do this on the cheap... I HATE paying 5 bucks for something that is washed down the drain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Just thought I'd give everyone my tip for avoiding the white film on your dishes. Fill only the small pre-wash cup with the "detergent" and fill the larger wash cycle cup with white vinegar and the essential oil. Works perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Tried this tonight as I forgot to buy detergent at the store. It seemed to work pretty well on plastic containers, plates and silverware, although, I admit that I pre-rinse my dishes, so there wasn't a lot of stuck on food. Two previous reviews of this recipe were very helpful ~ whammie and isispleiades. Whammie suggested using lemonade packets, which contain citric acid. I've seen other detergent recipes include citric acid, so I am thinking it acts as an abrasive to help scrub away food particles. Isispleiades suggested filling the pre-rinse compartment with the detergent and the main wash compartment with white vinegar as well as adding the vinegar to the rinse compartment. I followed this advice (although my compartments are labeled "light wash" and "heavy/normal wash") and it seemed to work pretty well. 1 tbsp of the detergent filled the "light wash" compartment. Hopefully, this detergent mixture will continue to clean as well as it did tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      It seemed good the first wash or two, but now I'm looking for one that doesn't leave a film plus dirt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I was very hopeful for this one. Used it this afternoon. The dishes were clean, but my glassware & plastic containers had a milky film covering them even tho I do use the white vinegar as a rinse agent. I will say I have very hard water here. Perhaps this formula simply isn't up that that challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I have been using this for a while and really like it. It works best if you use the vinegar for the rinse cycle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I really was hoping this would work...I had all of the ingredients on hand, since I make my own laundry soap and bath soaps...BUT, even with the vinegar in the rinse I still had food stuck on the dishes, and the glasses had film left on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I really hate to give bad reviews but this just did not work. Not only did we still have "stuff" caked on our dishes there was grit in our cups and glasses. All the dishes has a white kind of chalky film on them. I'm sorry but this just doesn't do the job for our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I made this because DH was complaining about our dishes smelling and tasting like the commercial detergent I had been using. This was very simple to make- I already had the washing soda on hand (AKA Soda ash or Sodium Carbonate) because I use it as a dye fixative (purchased at www.dharmatrading.com)- I made a double batch and just shook it up in a plastic jar I bought to store it in. I'm not giving it 5 stars just yet as I haven't worked out the right amount to use where it doesn't leave a film on my dishes. I'm using vinegar as a rinse,too- but there's still a milky film on my glasses. DH is thrilled that the dishes no longer smell like soap. *UPDATE- the film kept building on my dishes and I couldn't get the amount right where it would effectively clean without leaving the milky film, so I have switched back to a commercial detergent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I'll be using this from now on. Tested the mix last night for the first time in the dishwasher and the dishes came out clean and the glassware sparkling. (I also use the white vinegar trick, too.) I didn't bother adding essential oil. For my machine, 1 tablespoon was sufficient. Thank you for posting this. Note: in the US, Arm and Hammer manufactures washing soda in powder form. In PNW, washing soda can be found at Fred Meyer and WinCo. ~fyi~ Thank you again! cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      The first couple of times I used this, I think I put in too much (about 2 Tbs.) and was left with residue on - most noticeably - my colored plastics. I have reduced the amount I was using to a scant teaspoon and am using white vinegar in the rinse aid compartment. This combination seems to work well for me, but I am wondering about the statement on the borax box that says that borax should not be ingested. Of course, I know most of it gets rinsed off, but wonder whether the small amount of residue that I can see may be harmful over time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I love this stuff! I've made it three times now, and added the vinegar to the rinse aid part of the dishwasher...our dishes come out sparkling clean! We used to have leftover bits of stuff on our dishes sometimes with the store bought brands, but not anymore! It's very easy to make, and I usually make it while I'm also mixing up a batch of some homemade laundry detergent. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I used this last night and everything came out pretty clean. Even my tupperware with the heavy grease came out clean. I didn't make a full batch though. I just put one tablespoon each of the soda and borax with a few drops of lemon oil. I also put white vinegar in the rinse cycle cap. I didn't have to process the washing soda because mine (arm and hammer)is already in powder form. Thank you. I will definately use this again! update 2/1/08 Folks i have abandoned this recipe and I am now using the Publix brand of dishwaher. After struggling for months with this I have officially given up. At first this worked perfect but after some time my glasses and tupperware would not come out clear anymore and developed a white film. I tried to research this problem on the net and many have experienced this phenomenon as well. Others suggested different recipes based on how hard your water is and i did so accordingly. At one point, I eliminated the borax and substituted it with baking soda and it improved it for some time but the results were never consistent enough for me. Cloudy glassware really bugs me so i caved in and finally went with the Publix brand. I must say that this recipe and the variations thereof have consistently given me sparkling porcelian dishes but everything else was touch and go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This stuff is great--use it lots. If you have problems with film on the glass, just add some vinegar and viola; problem solved. Thanks for a cheap, environmentally friendly alternative Kookaburra! Renita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I ran out of detergent late last night and decided to give this a try. I made a trial-size batch to start with and all I can say is "Wow!" My dishes (even the ones that had dried on cheese) are completely clean. I did miss that freshly-cleaned scent you get with commercial detergent, so I'll add the oil when I make a full batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      I try this recipe because I ran out of dishwasher detergent. I did not like this at all. My glasses were filmy and streaked. Had to go right out and buy some Cacade which was what I was trying to avoid in the first place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      It's a keeper! Works just as well as the expensive brands and saves me money. Will use this from now on, as I usually have the ingredients anyway, because I also make my own washing powder too. Thanks Kooka

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      Kookaburra, this is my second review on this, I have been using it for 3 months now with no problems. The only thing I do different now is I do not put the powders in the blender, saves alot of time just saving that step, I just mix it all in a container along with lemon essential oil. I have not had any problems with residue build-up or foggy glasses. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      This cleaned almost everything in my dishwasher except the porridge pot which I had forgotten to soak. But my regular powder doesn't clean that either. I hd no problems with the glasses unlike the other reviewer. May have something to do with the type of water. You can get washing soda here as a powder so at least in Australia it is worth looking out for. Very easy recipe and effective.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      this left a haze on my dishes and did not clean well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    washing soda

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites