15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Here's a tip: When grinding your own spices the flavours are enhanced by briefly "toasting" them first. That is, heating them over the stove in a dry skillet until they begin to brown and their rich aroma begins to be released (but don't overdo it!). Makes grinding them easier too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyLittleEye January 31, 2007

My car is broke down and I am out of curry powder to make my curried chicken recipe. I had all of these ingredients on hand but in the ground form already so decided to give it a shot anyway. I loved it! I will never buy curry powder again. Thanks Dancer.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen From Colorado February 27, 2004

We had this with potato wedges and it was very nice, I will make a curry with what we had left. I think it's nice to make your own as you know exactly what is in it. Thank you for posting. Made for Honor thy mother diabetic forum May 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny May 06, 2011

Out of 6 of us, we ranged from disliking it to loving it, with a couple of "It needs...something..." This was made with a white sauce recipe from Joy of Cooking, so probably was milder with that. Most really enjoyed it though - had some sweet potato fries with the meal and everyone loved dipping them in the sauce! Definitely has a lot of promise - we may just use it straight up next time to see how the flavor comes through. We'll be keeping this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie April 23, 2011

This is a nice quick, mild and easy one to whip up. I almost never buy curry powder and needed to throw some together in a hurry today. Being newly addicted to the zaar, thougth I'd give this one a go, and it's great. I'd say this made enough for about 4 dishes. I didn't have any crushed red pepper, so I just used one dried chile instead (would add more but kids don't like too much heat). Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 09, 2008

This is a really simple and good curry recipe. I just tried it with Curried Split Pea Soup, and it tasted wonderfully. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie February 25, 2008

I usually buy the Japanese curry already made into a bar because it is so easy - well I thought I had one in the cupboard and I am happy to say I didn't. Then I found this recipe - Easy & excellent flavor Thanks Dancer for another winner

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 14, 2008

Thank you for posting! Like another reviewer I was making a dish that called for curry powder, and I didn't have any but I had these ingredients. So simple and wonderful! No reason to buy curry powders again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamafabun December 12, 2007
Homemade Curry Powder