19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! I had some rather hard (old) homemade bread and didn't want to throw it away. This was a perfect way to use it up. Easy and fast too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pretend Chef Buckley May 05, 2009

Wonderful! My husband doesn't normally like croutons but loved these! I substituted olive oil for the butter and sea salt for the garlic powder. I also used more parmesan cheese and sprinkled more after they were done to coat the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveNewRecipes January 25, 2011

used up some sesame hamburger buns I had left over...turned out great. The kids were eating them as a snack! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzy lizzie May 17, 2010

These were awesome! I used olive oil instead of butter. They only took 25 minutes to crisp up, any longer and they would have burned. I did 10 minutes on one side, then flipped them and did 10 more minutes... they weren't quite done, so I left them in about 5 more minutes, but even that was a little too long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy November 15, 2009

These are so delicious and easy, I don't think I will ever buy croutons again. Great for company, really looks like you slaved in the kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frenchcooki October 22, 2009

This was first making croutons and I really liked this recipe's straightforward approach. I used leftover homemade rye bread and used olive oil instead of butter. I also replaced cheese with parsley. The problem is that they have became a snack instead of a topping. Thanks the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Fraulein January 24, 2009

This is a terrific recipe for croutons. We all enjoyed them in the Ceaser Salad. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV May 11, 2008

Easy and tasty croutons! I'll add more garlic powder next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore August 06, 2007

These are so much better then store bought. I used up some bread ends that were in the freezer. It was quick and tasty. My 14 year old daughter has even made this. I will never by store bought again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Tanner-Hebb July 15, 2007

I could have sworn that I reviewed this one...Alas, it looks as if I never got to it, so here it is! I always wanted to make my own croutons instead of buying them prepackaged at the supermarket...But I was too chicken to try until I stumbled onto this recipe! It's SO easy and SO tasty and a GREAT way to use up all those ends/heels from my baguettes when I make subs, etc...Thank you so much for posting this recipe,I'm passing it along to all my friends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas July 07, 2007
Homemade Croutons