Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2013

      Wow, just made tonight! Easy and quick, not to mention delicious. I called my mom who is British and I will be making this for her for Xmas! Followed directions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      I always make things from scratch but for some reason thought cream of mushroom was always a hassle, so I'd either switch up for bechamel or use store bought soup. <br/>Now that I made this for the first time, I've totally changed my mind<br/>It is CRIMINAL to buy the canned stuff when this soup is so, so, so, so easy to make, so much more cleaner tasting (and by cleaner i mean: doesn't have the dingy taste of preservatives, isn't overly salted, and doesn't taste processed to the point that it doesn't taste like mushrooms anymore). <br/>My tips:<br/>1) make sure to dice the onions very very finely. Use white, use butter (makes things taste smooth and creamy), and don't go over board. <br/>2) crush the garlic and then chop it up.<br/>3) I mixed brown mushrooms with white, white gives taste, brown tops keep their shape and color better through the cooking process<br/>4) doesn't need crazy long time to be prepared. literally wait for the flour to absorb the broth (about 1/3 of the liquid will evaporate/be absorbed) and add the cream, let it boil for a bit on high heat, and turn the heat off. the rest of the soup will fall into place while it's cooling down. <br/>5) used 18% table cream if that matters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Great easy recipe!! Made with Baby Bellas, added Sherry And fresh chopped parsley. Very Yummy! Try Try Try

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      This soup is fabulous. I used cream in place of evaporated milk, but this is the best soup I've ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Wow! This recipe is great! I needed a homemade mushroom soup recipe to prepare other recipes calling for a can of mushroom soup, because of my son's allergies to dairy products. I substituted coconut milk for the milk and it was great and an extra plus is less calories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      My Goodness!!! these are the words that came out of my mouth when I first tasted this soup!!! This is amazing!!! Absolutely loved it!! I made it as I need cream of mushroom soup in some other recipe as an ingredient... and it has turned out so delicious that it ended up being a dish itself!!
      Lovely!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Just made your cream of mushroom soup recipe and it was very good, an instant hit. Thanks for the great tasting and very simple to make recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      First time making mushroom soup and Im not going back to canned soup....thank you!
      PS I doubled it as per the comments below and added a little thyme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Easy and excellent recipe. I doubled it, so used 8 oz button mushrooms and about the same amount of rehydrdated dried mushrooms. I have to point out that the number of servings is off. By doubling the recipe I should have had 12 servings, but I ended up with a total of exactly 8 cups (I guess I should have figured that out beforehand given the amount of liquid used). Even though I didn't get a bowl for myself, my eight dinner guests really enjoyed the soup as a first course.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      I used this recipe. I only altered it slightly by crisping up some smoked prosciutto as my very first step. Then followed the directions as listed from start to finish. Amazing aroma! Great taste! I topped with some chopped green onion and some bacon bits (both mostly for color), and served some fresh sliced French baguette bread slices on the side. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      What a wonderful recipe! I've always loved cream of mushroom soup but never dreamed of making it homemade. It was so easy to make and by far better tasting than any canned stuff! It took me a lot longer then 20 minutes to make but it was well worth it. I bought an 8 ounce package of sliced baby bella and found they needed a bit more slicing so that took time. The only thing I did different from this recipe was add an extra 4 ounce mushroom blend package of baby bella, shiitake, and oyster along with some parsley. It was absolutely amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Excellent! I used regular cream, could not find light cream. Do not omit the nutmeg. I used 3 packages of mushroom because my family loves mushrooms. Forget about the soup in the can. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Love this soup. even better heated the next day, I did add extra mushrooms as we love them. doubled recipe..but in doing so i had to triple the spices. Chemistry I suppose. this came together in aprox 15-20 min..no need to ever open a can again!! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

    • on June 03, 2014

      As someone else said, "great and simple recipe!" I found it very easy to make and thought it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

    • on April 27, 2014

      Delicious. I was looking for a soup to use the mushrooms sitting in my fridge. I used the ingredients listed. I made the roux separately and added the cooked mushrooms after it was thickened.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      the best soup i have ever tasted so easy & quick 10/10 i'll say, i use Philadelphia light cream for cooking it's 60% less fat then regular cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      This soup is delicious and so quick and easy to make. I made it once for my husband and I and after my sister tasted it I now have to make a double batch every time I make it. I change up the mushrooms and add different ones from time to time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Terrific. Tons of flavor. I used the evaporated milk and it was still very creamy. The only tweak was I used my immersion blender right at the end to make it a bit smoother. The chopped up bits that resulted added a nice touch. So easy to make - a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    75%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 494.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites