87 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had bariatric surgery a week ago and have been on protein shakes and soups. I made this today instead of the canned ones I've been eating and WOW. I am in love. It was so hard because my stomach is restricted and I wanted more. I used green onions, shiitakes and skipped garlic. Delicious. Makes a liquid diet much better!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wolf3749 June 19, 2012

First time making mushroom soup and Im not going back to canned soup....thank you!
PS I doubled it as per the comments below and added a little thyme.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yukoner November 05, 2010

Not outstanding but certainly better than canned soup. Followed the recipe but increased the mushrooms to 12 ounces. This is definitely not 6 servings to me. There are only 3 cups of liquid so if divided 6 ways it would mean very small portions. If I make this again I would double it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob September 29, 2009

Excellent soup. Increased mushrooms to 1.5 lbs, sliced, 4 cloves of garlic minced, 1 medium onion, finely minced. Used sodium reduced beef broth and 10% cream. With these changes the soup had a wonderful depth of flavour. Will make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne D. November 18, 2014

My New Favorite Mushroom Soup! Not only does it taste like mushroomy, not oniony like the last mushroom soup I tried, it is very fast to make. Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spicegirl61 November 16, 2014

Thank you so much for this recipe, this came out very well indeed!, As suggested by few people in the comments, I prepared the roux separately and I think it was better that way, added a little more nutmeg than mentioned just to get that strong flavour in the soup..perfect..thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nina A. November 08, 2014

If I could give this 6 stars I would! I've never had cream of mushroom soup before aside from the canned variety and only in recipes. But today I had fresh mushrooms that needed to be used, searched the site and came across this recipe. The nutmeg intrigued me because it is a key ingredient in my favorite homemade potato soup. So, I gave this a whirl and I can't say enough about how delicious it is. I only had red onion on hand but I chopped it super fine and it cooked up beautifully. I also made my own broth using Better Than Boullion brand chicken base. Now if only I could figure out a condensed version of it to use in some of my recipes! Thanks so much for posting! Will make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. May 01, 2014

fabulous!!!!! I will change nothing!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwhallahan March 20, 2014

I was initially looking for a cream of mushroom soup recipe to go in a beef stroganoff.I came across this recipe and it was simple and I had all the ingredients in my cupboard and / or the ingredients for something that I would normally have am I covered.when I was done making the soup, I obviously tasted it and it was ridiculously delicious! I even second guess the notion of putting it in a beef stroganoff rather than have a stand alone as a wonderful starter to a class email.fast forward, it was the very best beef stroganoff I have ever made! I plan on making it again and again using this recipe as a base. I also plan on using this recipe to serve the soup as a stand-alone starter for a nice meal. It works both ways and I'm very glad I found this recipe. Thanks for submitting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InnerChef March 05, 2014

So simple and delicious! Love the addition of nutmeg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough February 18, 2014
Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup