125 Reviews

Absolutely the best mushroom soup I've had. Mushrooms are great for preventing breast cancer in women also. Only thing I changed was instead of using chicken broth I used turkey broth and it really added a nice flavour to the soup. Thanxs SweetLady I've added this recipe to my soup collection!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkopal November 20, 2012

I had bariatric surgery a week ago and have been on protein shakes and soups. I made this today instead of the canned ones I've been eating and WOW. I am in love. It was so hard because my stomach is restricted and I wanted more. I used green onions, shiitakes and skipped garlic. Delicious. Makes a liquid diet much better!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wolf3749 June 19, 2012

First time making mushroom soup and Im not going back to canned soup....thank you!
PS I doubled it as per the comments below and added a little thyme.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yukoner November 05, 2010

Not outstanding but certainly better than canned soup. Followed the recipe but increased the mushrooms to 12 ounces. This is definitely not 6 servings to me. There are only 3 cups of liquid so if divided 6 ways it would mean very small portions. If I make this again I would double it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob September 29, 2009

This is really a basic no frills recipe but so good! It beats buying the canned soup with all the junk ingredients anytime!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ethel J. April 05, 2016

Awesome recipe! I kinda just eyeballed all the measurements. I used Chanterelles, Shiitakes, and regular button mushrooms. Turned out very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris B. April 05, 2016

I absolutely LOVE IS SOUP!!! My friends, family & I have all been wanting some GOOD mushroom soup. We have looked high & low at restaurants near & somewhat far only to be disappointed. So, online it is.. a few of us made a different mushroom soup & I have to say this has proven to be the best, so far. Easy to make, double, triple is easy as well & if u buy mushrooms u more than likely have the rest of the ingredients at home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilena S. April 01, 2016

Fabulous recipe. Simple and comes out tasting great. For a really tasty twist, substitute some Carib or Walkerswood mild jerk seasoning. It gives it a nice little umph without it actually being hot. You might add just a touch more of salt, but it made the recipe really stand out. No question though that this homemade cream of mushroom is so much better than the canned version. Pick up some organic mushrooms from Costco, chop up some green onions, fresh garlic, follow the recipe and voila!! Awesomeness!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dpolar E. March 03, 2016

Wonderful as written! Served it some guests we had over and everyone loved it. Thank you for a brilliant, simple and delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melodina February 17, 2016

Holy cow is this good! I've tried to make cream of mushroom over the years and it never came out great. I saw that this had 96 reviews, all 5 stars, and I tried it. I threw it in the blender, that's the only alteration I made. If you cover it it seems to lose some of the thickness. from steam.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fraulein A. September 15, 2015
Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup