Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2013

      Wow! This soup is FANTASTIC! I could eat it as a meal! Won't ever buy the canned version again. Wow incredible! Using it to make green bean casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I decided to make this for use in my green bean casserole. I used turkey drippings and water and cut the mushrooms smaller. It is very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      FABULOUS!!! I just made this. I used heavy cream b/c that is what I had. I also fished out all the mushrooms and put them in the mini food processor and chopped them up fine b/c I was afraid my kids would freak if they found a big old mushroom in their green bean casserole! I think portioned it out in 2-4 oz portions and froze it for future cooking use. And with the remaining 1 oz in the pan, well...that lone dinner roll in the freezer got thawed and mopped it up and jumped in my mouth and it was sooooo yummy! Oh, I left out the nutmeg b/c I'm not sure about nutmeg with my nut allergic kids. Not really sure if that is a nut or not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Wow, just made tonight! Easy and quick, not to mention delicious. I called my mom who is British and I will be making this for her for Xmas! Followed directions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      I always make things from scratch but for some reason thought cream of mushroom was always a hassle, so I'd either switch up for bechamel or use store bought soup. <br/>Now that I made this for the first time, I've totally changed my mind<br/>It is CRIMINAL to buy the canned stuff when this soup is so, so, so, so easy to make, so much more cleaner tasting (and by cleaner i mean: doesn't have the dingy taste of preservatives, isn't overly salted, and doesn't taste processed to the point that it doesn't taste like mushrooms anymore). <br/>My tips:<br/>1) make sure to dice the onions very very finely. Use white, use butter (makes things taste smooth and creamy), and don't go over board. <br/>2) crush the garlic and then chop it up.<br/>3) I mixed brown mushrooms with white, white gives taste, brown tops keep their shape and color better through the cooking process<br/>4) doesn't need crazy long time to be prepared. literally wait for the flour to absorb the broth (about 1/3 of the liquid will evaporate/be absorbed) and add the cream, let it boil for a bit on high heat, and turn the heat off. the rest of the soup will fall into place while it's cooling down. <br/>5) used 18% table cream if that matters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Great easy recipe!! Made with Baby Bellas, added Sherry And fresh chopped parsley. Very Yummy! Try Try Try

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      This soup is fabulous. I used cream in place of evaporated milk, but this is the best soup I've ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Wow! This recipe is great! I needed a homemade mushroom soup recipe to prepare other recipes calling for a can of mushroom soup, because of my son's allergies to dairy products. I substituted coconut milk for the milk and it was great and an extra plus is less calories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      My Goodness!!! these are the words that came out of my mouth when I first tasted this soup!!! This is amazing!!! Absolutely loved it!! I made it as I need cream of mushroom soup in some other recipe as an ingredient... and it has turned out so delicious that it ended up being a dish itself!!
      Lovely!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Just made your cream of mushroom soup recipe and it was very good, an instant hit. Thanks for the great tasting and very simple to make recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      First time making mushroom soup and Im not going back to canned soup....thank you!
      PS I doubled it as per the comments below and added a little thyme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Easy and excellent recipe. I doubled it, so used 8 oz button mushrooms and about the same amount of rehydrdated dried mushrooms. I have to point out that the number of servings is off. By doubling the recipe I should have had 12 servings, but I ended up with a total of exactly 8 cups (I guess I should have figured that out beforehand given the amount of liquid used). Even though I didn't get a bowl for myself, my eight dinner guests really enjoyed the soup as a first course.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      This recipe is set up as servings for a starter dish or someone who eats very little. If you want to make this the main dish then you must bump up the servings quite a bit. We have 7 of us(2 seniors, 2 adults, 3 teens) we feed and we did 25 servings. That gave us a couple more bowls left over, but not enough for another meal of this soup. I think it really needs more mushrooms if you want it to feature in the soup as I do. I cut the nutmeg just slightly because it's a very strong flavor. I like garlic so I add just a little extra of that. I also required more starch because it didn't thicken at all for me. That was mainly though because I got so much liquid from my mushrooms (They were dirty and needed washed). Awesome meal. We've made it about 5 times in 2014. I've used cream, half and half, evaporated milk, and 1% milk. All of them have worked fine and taste great. This time I used unsalted butter to cut back on that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      fall proof recipe , makes the most delicious creamy mushroom soup i have ever made!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      Easy to make and quite tasty. I would use less nutmeg and more garlic if making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      I used this recipe. I only altered it slightly by crisping up some smoked prosciutto as my very first step. Then followed the directions as listed from start to finish. Amazing aroma! Great taste! I topped with some chopped green onion and some bacon bits (both mostly for color), and served some fresh sliced French baguette bread slices on the side. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      What a wonderful recipe! I've always loved cream of mushroom soup but never dreamed of making it homemade. It was so easy to make and by far better tasting than any canned stuff! It took me a lot longer then 20 minutes to make but it was well worth it. I bought an 8 ounce package of sliced baby bella and found they needed a bit more slicing so that took time. The only thing I did different from this recipe was add an extra 4 ounce mushroom blend package of baby bella, shiitake, and oyster along with some parsley. It was absolutely amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Excellent! I used regular cream, could not find light cream. Do not omit the nutmeg. I used 3 packages of mushroom because my family loves mushrooms. Forget about the soup in the can. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Love this soup. even better heated the next day, I did add extra mushrooms as we love them. doubled recipe..but in doing so i had to triple the spices. Chemistry I suppose. this came together in aprox 15-20 min..no need to ever open a can again!! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    75%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 494.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes