Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2014

      Great and simple recipe! I've always loved cream of mushroom soup. Most people just use the canned version as an addition to other recipes, but I've always liked to eat it as-is. That is, until I tried this recipe. It was simple and easy enough that I could see me making this on any given day.<br/><br/>I stuck strictly to the recipe as it is printed here (because I always do that with a new recipe when making it for the first time). I thought the ingredients/proportions were spot on. The recipe truly only makes about 4 servings. My 'tweaks' were as follows: I chopped the mushrooms up so they were more dispersed throughout the soup; I added just a bit of the chicken broth to the mushrooms/garlic/onions to give the mushrooms more liquid to imbue their flavor to, then I put a lid on it and let it cook for awhile to get the mushroom flavor fully embedded in the juice. I recommend starting the roux separately while the mushrooms are simmering. I melted 2 Tbsp. butter with 2 Tbsp. flour and stirred that continuously until it was slightly golden. I gradually added the rest of the chicken broth. Adding it very slowly keeps the mixture smooth, lump-free and thick. After about 10-15 minutes simmering the mushrooms, I poured that mixture into the roux and stirred that all together. <br/><br/>Following the directions, I mixed the 1 Tbsp. of flour with just a small amount of the light cream (to keep the flour from lumping up). Then added the rest of the cream and the seasonings; then put that all into the soup mixture. I let it heat for another 5 minutes. It was awesome! I put leftovers into the refrigerator and it was even better the next day! I could definitely see me using this in recipes that call for cream of mushroom soup. I imagine it will take any other recipe up a notch or two and will impress the heck out of my friends and family at the next potluck dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I made this today with sliced mushrooms I needed to use up and oh my goodness! This was the most delicious cream of mushroom soup I've ever had. I will never buy canned cream of mushroom soup again. I didn't change a thing while making this and it was perfect! It was so creamy and flavorful. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      This was an awesome recipe for the base of the soup. I altered it by making the following changes: 16 ounces of mushrooms, most chopped in large slices with some minced. 2 1/2 tablespoons onions chopped. 2 garlic cloves. 3 tablespoons butter. 3 - 4 tablespoons flour (separated). 2 2/3 cups chicken broth. 1 12oz can evaporated milk. About a teaspoon salt, about 3/4 teaspoon pepper, about 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg (seasoned to taste). Added a teaspoon of corn starch. Added a pinch of Spanish saffron. Added a dash of parsley. Added about an hour of heating on low low heat to blend the flavors with regular stirring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Great soup - As a vegetarian I substituted the chicken broth for vegetable stock as well as added a handful of fresh chopped parsley. I gave some to my mum who loved it so much she wanted the recipe to serve international guests. Dad said that he thought it was the parsley that took it to the next level!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      It was the best mushroom soup I ever had. It is so easy to make. Can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      A mushroom soup that allows the flavor of the ingredients shine. No spices to overpower the wonderful taste of mushrooms and cream. Perfect, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      The stock from these ingredients was fabulous. I used 2 cloves of garlic and half and half cream. I did cook the soup longer than time given to bring out more of the mushroom taste and to blend flavors. The nutmeg addition was a wonderful idea and complemented the mushroom flavor. The only problem I had with the recipe was the quantity given is 6. The two of us used this as a main dish with dinner rolls and it was just enough for the two of us. However, that could be because we are piggies! I will definitely make this again, but will add more mushrooms, since we are mushroom freaks. I also may heat the butter/flour roux in a small saucepan, then stir in the chicken broth until lumps go away before adding it to the sauteed mushroom mixture. This may reduce lumping and whisking time. However, this a very good recipe as written and I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      Easy, efficient, and excellent! We go to the Farm Show in Hershey, PA every year mostly for their wonderful portabella soup. This recipe tasted just as good which amazed my husband and me. I did add extra garlic and sprinkled a little feta cheese on top. I will make a double batch next time as this recipe made less than a quart. I will serve this to guests in the future and am sure to get raves from those who like mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      I made this recipe in about 10 minutes with frozen mushrooms. Sauteed onion, garlic and shrooms in very small amount of white truffle oil. Used canned milk and powdered chicken base. Did not add salt but extra fresh ground pepper. Absolutely PERFECT flavor. Like the captain asked a few months ago "Do you remember when canned mushroom soup used to have mushrooms in it?" Will never buy canned again when this is so quick, simple and 10 times better and actually has mushrooms in it!!! Thanks for a perfect base soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Absolutely the best mushroom soup I've had. Mushrooms are great for preventing breast cancer in women also. Only thing I changed was instead of using chicken broth I used turkey broth and it really added a nice flavour to the soup. Thanxs SweetLady I've added this recipe to my soup collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I had bariatric surgery a week ago and have been on protein shakes and soups. I made this today instead of the canned ones I've been eating and WOW. I am in love. It was so hard because my stomach is restricted and I wanted more. I used green onions, shiitakes and skipped garlic. Delicious. Makes a liquid diet much better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Not outstanding but certainly better than canned soup. Followed the recipe but increased the mushrooms to 12 ounces. This is definitely not 6 servings to me. There are only 3 cups of liquid so if divided 6 ways it would mean very small portions. If I make this again I would double it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      If I could give this 6 stars I would! I've never had cream of mushroom soup before aside from the canned variety and only in recipes. But today I had fresh mushrooms that needed to be used, searched the site and came across this recipe. The nutmeg intrigued me because it is a key ingredient in my favorite homemade potato soup. So, I gave this a whirl and I can't say enough about how delicious it is. I only had red onion on hand but I chopped it super fine and it cooked up beautifully. I also made my own broth using Better Than Boullion brand chicken base. Now if only I could figure out a condensed version of it to use in some of my recipes! Thanks so much for posting! Will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      fabulous!!!!! I will change nothing!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      I was initially looking for a cream of mushroom soup recipe to go in a beef stroganoff.I came across this recipe and it was simple and I had all the ingredients in my cupboard and / or the ingredients for something that I would normally have am I covered.when I was done making the soup, I obviously tasted it and it was ridiculously delicious! I even second guess the notion of putting it in a beef stroganoff rather than have a stand alone as a wonderful starter to a class email.fast forward, it was the very best beef stroganoff I have ever made! I plan on making it again and again using this recipe as a base. I also plan on using this recipe to serve the soup as a stand-alone starter for a nice meal. It works both ways and I'm very glad I found this recipe. Thanks for submitting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      So simple and delicious! Love the addition of nutmeg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      You'll never go back to the canned stuff again! This is a very easy soup to make and takes no time at all...YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Wow! This soup is FANTASTIC! I could eat it as a meal! Won't ever buy the canned version again. Wow incredible! Using it to make green bean casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I decided to make this for use in my green bean casserole. I used turkey drippings and water and cut the mushrooms smaller. It is very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      FABULOUS!!! I just made this. I used heavy cream b/c that is what I had. I also fished out all the mushrooms and put them in the mini food processor and chopped them up fine b/c I was afraid my kids would freak if they found a big old mushroom in their green bean casserole! I think portioned it out in 2-4 oz portions and froze it for future cooking use. And with the remaining 1 oz in the pan, well...that lone dinner roll in the freezer got thawed and mopped it up and jumped in my mouth and it was sooooo yummy! Oh, I left out the nutmeg b/c I'm not sure about nutmeg with my nut allergic kids. Not really sure if that is a nut or not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    75%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 494.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites