Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cream Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cream Cheese

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2002

      Mirjam, this was my first cheese-making experience, and I must thank you for making it absolutely wonderful! This is an excellent, creamy cheese, if not as tart as Philadelphia Cream Cheese. I halved your recipe and got approximately 100 grams (3 1/2 ounces) of cheese. I was worried it might be too salty, but most of the saltiness gets drained off so it comes out just right. I let the milk cool completely before straining, and I let it drip for about 8 hours. I also made Jacques Lorrain's Dill Buttermilk Bread (#636) yesterday, and gawsh, this tastes fantastic on it! Mirjam, this was one recipe I had oodles of fun making... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Definately one of the easiest recipes for homemade cream cheese I've tried. A good texture and delicate, slightly sweet flavor. When I made it again today, I added an extra 1/2 Tb of vinegar and a 1/2 Tb of lemon juice, in an effort to duplicate the tang of "Philly" cream cheese. That did seem to help, but its still not "Philly" ;) (personally I think this is better than "Philly" even without the extra "tang").

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Great recipe. So very easy and it's delicious. I don't imagine it's really any cheaper than buying cream cheese, but what fun it was and the tangy taste is wonderful. Would probably be a good way to use up milk if you found yourself overloaded. I did drain mine in paper towels rather than muslin--seemed to do a great job. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This is so good. First time I ever made cheese and it was so easy. This is very versatile too--I found that playing with it a little you can make it more similar to ricotta, mascarpone, or regular cream cheese, it's just a matter of using different fat-content milks, adding cream and playing with the amount of salt added. I used it to make Mrs. Knobbes Gooey Butter Cake, and it worked very nicely. Thank you Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This worked out great for me and I've never made any type of cheese before. I threw in some chives and salt to flavor it, and before serving I added about a teaspoon of milk to it because it had become stiff and crumbly overnite. The milk really helped to cream it back up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      Mirj!! This is wonderful! My first attempt at making this didn't turn out well I think for two reasons. I don't think I let the mixture cool well enough. Secondly, I didn't have any muslin so I tried using coffee filters. They clogged and I had to fiddle with it a lot to get it to drain. I wound up putting the results into a cream soup I was making, so it was fine. My second time making this I put it in a cloth and it worked like a charm. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      Wow, I cannot believe how this turned out!! it was in my opinion even better than the store-bought kind. I drained it in cheesecloth, and used whole milk... I am SO happy I found this, I will make my own cream cheese from now on! Thank you Mirj very much sharing this recipe....Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Very economical especially since the price of cream cheese has doubled in the last few months where I live! The second time I made it I added about 200ml of cream to the milk and it tasted much better-even better than the commercial one!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Nice recipe. Easy to make with good results. You can apply some weight to the top of mixture in the refrigerator and let it drain a couple of hours to make a crumbly, mild cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      This is a good recipe, I used 1T of vinegar & 2T of lemon juice, which gave the cheese a nice tang. Mine came out a bit dry although I only left it to hang for 2 hours. I did use 3.5% milk though, so will try this again with lighter milk to see if that makes a difference. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      It worked! I thought it resembeled a bit ricotta cheese, anyhow it is a great substitude for creamier cheeses! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      i have not tried the recipe yet- it sounds very easy to make- i am going to make it later next week. where do you get muslin bags or is that the same as pillow cases? i want to get the right type bags. what is the carb coiunt for your recipe? sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Great starter recipe! Use this basic all the time. I prefer to use reconstituted non-fat dry milk. After cooling, I stir in "flavors"... minced onion &/or garlic, chives, peppers, whatever. Serve with crackers or toasted lavish. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      Made this to make the frosting for Whole Wheat Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting #62114 by Evelyn/ Athens and wowee it was da bomb! I followed your instructions except that I halved it and then cut the salt by 1/4th instead of half. After it was ready to drip dry, I added around 3-4 tblsps of homemade yoghurt and allowed them to drip together for 3 hours. The result was wonderful. Thanks a million, Mirj!. You helped me to arrive at the solution for the quandary(whether to do without or spend a fortune for it) I find myself in when I see cream cheese in the ingredient list. :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cream Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.8
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    51%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 641.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites