11 Reviews

What a great idea for using up those annoying little pieces of crayon that you can't justify throwing away.
Ours also really only had colour on the bottom too, but no big deal- the kids had fun making them and are using them for rubbings, which is working out well.
Thanks for this one!
Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #59.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo December 31, 2011

DD (toddler) and I did this together with some really old crayons. We broke them into approximately 1 inch pieces. They turned out like Kiwiduch's photo where the colours were only on the bottom and would only draw from the bottom too which DD 2 years old today had difficulty with. I loved the idea though. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE~Tag Game Ed't 10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 06, 2010

since my oven is still waiting to be repaired i am going to try melting the wax on the stove top otherwise this this is a really good and somewhat original idea (i know i never thought of it!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngmum September 03, 2009

We made this for a project for Earth Day, in which we needed to bring something in recycled. Unfortunately I think I cut the pieces too small, all the colors melded and the crayon was a brown. I love the idea of this recipe and would do it again, cutting them as suggested in directions...pea sized. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI April 19, 2009

My daughter and I made these for her story hour class, it was a hit! We just broke the crayon into 1 inch pieces and when they were melted (about 20 min.) we let them cool and stuck them into the frig so they would come out of the tins easier. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen December 12, 2008

5 stars ! How easy is this?!! I collected a handful of broken crayons and put the pieces into mini muffin pans, ... one barely warm oven later these were melted and I only needed to take them out to set.... they popped out of the muffin forms really easily and presto DD has a crayon that she can hold again. Please see my Rating System: I'm all for recycling things whenever possible as we are too much a "throw-away" society. Excellent to find a recipe that shows kids recycling in a tangable way too.. and with so little effort (bonus!).. I passing this recipe on to the creche and to all my friends who have crayon aged kids. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch May 28, 2008

Have done this a number of times with my daughters' oodles of broken crayons, thanks for sharing! I used mini-muffin tins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 January 22, 2008

Thank GOD, I now know what to do with all of the broken crayon's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacieJG May 07, 2007

Great idea!! We made these for Christmas gifts for my daughter's class and friends!!! Everyone loved them!! Great way to recycle broken crayons!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fentonreunion February 15, 2007

This was a fun project that I made with my daughter to take into her preschool class! Thanks for the great idea!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SCM76 February 01, 2007
Homemade Crayons