10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

absolutely wonderful, a nice change from the canned. I substituted the almonds with pecans (chopper) and added some dried chopped apricots, and raisins. and an apple it turned out just as tasty as the original recipe, with just a bit of difference.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roberta Barker November 02, 2001

I've never done fresh cranberry relish, but this was easy and turned out great! Not too tart, not too sweet. It may also be good by adding a chopped orange after cooking. Took this to the family Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. January 01, 2010

This recipe is very good. A nice change from my regular recipe. I reduced the recipe quantities by 1/4 since cranberry bags are now 12 oz, not 16. I think, for my personal tastes, I might reduce the sugar even a little more. I also added 2 T. amaretto after the mixture had cooled. Yum! Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott December 03, 2007

So easy and good, the orange added just the right tang. As you said a must for Thanksgiving, I used the almonds and it added a nice extra crunch. This will be on our holiday tables from now on. Thanks Malarkey Test for a simple, but good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 26, 2007

I've made this for the past several years. It's so simple and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean R November 25, 2007

I have made this twice and it was great both times. The first time I added the almonds and a little Amaretto. It was heavenly. The second I made no additions. Thank you for a wonderful cranberry side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brianna Storer February 17, 2007

Very tasty!!! This is the 3rd year I have made this for Thanksgiving. I omit the almonds, only because I forget to buy them. It smells wonderful when cooking! My 13 year old with a very "discerning palate" even likes this. It is not overly sweet, yet not too tart, either. It is truly perfect as an accompaniment with turkey! This can be made up many days in advance, making food prep on the big day easier. It isn't Thanksgiving without this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet2 November 18, 2006

This was a HUGE hit this Thanksgiving (I made without the almonds) - especially with the kids! I mixed some leftovers with my plain yogurt - YUMMY! And I also had a little more left over to mix and mash in with some cream cheese to make a creamy fruit dip for some unexpected friends who popped over to the house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moni(ca) December 15, 2005

I added approx. half a small can of mandarin oranges and a bit of the juice, delicious! I didn't have almonds though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gen November 09, 2001
Homemade Cranberry Relish