Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Crackers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Crackers

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2008

      We really enjoyed the flavor of these crackers. I did add a Tablespoon of olive oil to the dough (I might try butter next time). I was afraid they would be too dry if I didn't. I couldn't taste the garlic. Next time I'll add more. I cut mine in cracker shapes and pricked with a fork before baking. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Nice crispy cracker. I used a pasta rolling machine to hand crank out nice thin sheets that I cut into squares before placing in the oven (I like the way this lets the edges tinge a little browner). Thank you Tripsy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Easy to make, used my pasta maker to get it as thin as possible. I did get the overwhelming baking soda experience, so next time I will use only 1/2 tsp. Also, I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes, then shut the oven off and let them sit for another 5. They came out nice and browned, crispy, and with the salt sprinkled on top before baking they tasted like tasty little pretzel crackers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      The only thing I changed was granulated instead of minced garlic and I upped the pepper. It gave me the tang I was looking for. I followed the bake 10 then cut and next time I will cut and put on the sheet. My total bake time was 16 minutes and could have been longer to make them crunchier. I rolled it through my pasta maker on #4 which is right at 1/8 inch. Next time will go down to #5. Reading the reviews, I see several people poked holes in them. I think that is a good idea as it will crisp them more. I will also either spray/brush with vinegar or oil before sprinkling salt and it will be kosher or a nice gourmet salt. I have always meant to make crackers. However, for some reason, I thought it would be hard. Thanks for showing me it is not at all hard to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I can't really rate this based on the orginal recipe, but will assume following exactly would have yielded good results. I used chickpea flour in place of regular flour, less than 1/3 cup of water, 1 garlic clove, cracked pepper, baking soda, sesame seeds, whole flax seeds, ground almonds, and a little less than a tbsp of olive oil & freshly crushed rosemary. I sifted the flour and baking soda, added the other dry ingredients, mixed then added the water and oil & mixed again to form a dough. Was still very moist so added chickpea flour as needed and rolled out. This flour tends to be sticky so I cut into pieces before putting on cookie sheet & sprinkled with sea salt. Baked 10 min as instructed, poked holes, cooked another 10 or so minutes until firm. I enjoyed the crackers with white bean hummus. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Something went awry with this recipe. The dough was incredibly stiff, I could hardly roll it thin. Then the end result ended up tasting like baking powder. I gave 3 stars b/c my husband ended up eating some of the crackers with hummus. I followed the recipe to a tee, but felt it lacked some liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I thought these were great! I took them to a Bunco party and they were well received. I did cut with a pizza cutter and used a fork to prick before baking. I separated the crackers after 10 min. and did another 6 min. then after cooling they still needed more to crisp up so at the party we put them in for another 10 min. Served with cheese and all the other appetizers that were there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      This was my first try at cracker making. I rolled the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap for easy clean-up. I could swear I rolled it 1/8" thick, but it seemingly puffed up thicker than I would have expected. Also, the recipe doesn't state whether to grease the baking sheet. I passed a few swipes of olive oil and the cracker stuck onto areas without the oil, pulling away dough from the bottom of the cracker. I've noted that a cookie cutter is not sharp enough to get a clean cut on the baked cracker as well. On the other hand, the garlic and rosemary infusion into the cracker was quite remarkably good. I'd like to make these again with a few tweaks and I'm sure they'd be perfect. Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      OH. MY. GOSH. NICOLA, IS THIS YOUR RECIPE. RECIPEZAAR'S STRANGE AND MYSTERIOUS WAYS. PS--Delicious crackers. I also made a batch w/o rosemary and garlic and added salt. I baked 6 min after cutting the crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      The best, absolutely the nicest home-made cracker recipe. The teenage boys in my house said these were better than chips. Thats the reason I've hidden the remaining crackers in the pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      These were good. Nice peppery flavor! i rolled mine out quite thin, but they puffed up and were thick. Still, even when thick they worked well to dip into chicken salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      I burned mine a little, but I could still taste the spices - good mix! I thought I rolled it out thin enough, but the dough must have shrunk and risen a bit, so they were thick like pita chips. Next time I might try olive oil, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Crackers

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    52%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1264.2 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.1 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites