Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cough Medicine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cough Medicine

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-54 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2007

      This will knock the cough right out of ya!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      This stuff is amazing! My 7 year old daughter has had a cough for the last couple of days. Last night I decided to make some of this and give to her before her bedtime. She hasn't coughed any more! She wasn't crazy about the taste though. I hope I can get her to take it again the next time she has a cough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I made this last night for my DD. It worked really well. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This works like a charm. I've tried this several times over the last few years when I've had a cough, and it works ever time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      My husband has a HORRIBLE cough right now and I just whipped this up for him a few minutes ago. He took two tbsp. and pucked up, screamed a bit, kicked his leg out a few times about the taste. We'll report back if this helps him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      It tastes good and it sooths the throad and seems to loosen the phlegm (sp?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      This worked well on my cough. Doesn't taste bad either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      A strange flavor, but not horribly bad. I took 3 TBS b/c I've had this horrible sore throat and cough for 4 weeks now due to allergies. My meds aren't working so I'm hoping this does. I did't see instant results, but after about 5 hours hours, my throat isn't nearly as sore when I swallow. ****UPDATE**** Well, my cough seems to have gotten worse, and my throat is now sore on the other side (where it didn't hurt before). I was up all night long coughing (and I took another 2 tbs before going to bed) and all day today I've done nothing but cough. I think I am going to stick to the OTC cough medicine. Thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Oh, Daphne2002, I feel aweful giving this only 2 stars, but it didnt help me at all. I kept trying some everytime I had coughed, but it didnt do anything. I ended up making a batch and then downing half of it near the end hoping that maybe it would help, but to no avail. I was still coughing. I will try this again, because I want to make sure it wasnt just me, or my bronchitis.....maybe that is the reason it didnt help? SO sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Works great! My 13 yr old's cough (that had been around awhile) was gone in 2 days! What a great find and it hardly costs anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      WELL, this does stop your cough, AND it gets you in a good mood! I really was laughing because it is a funny sensation when it goes down! At one reviewers suggestion, I did double the chili (my bad!), made dh take a tsp with me, for solidarity, and it was so hot! We were laughing so hard we were crying! BUT, alas, no cough for about 4 hours afterwards. I admit, I didn't continue to take it as was away, I'll make some more and try to stick with it this time. Thanks Daphne!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      THANK YOU ! I really dislike OTC cough medicine, decided to give this a try and it worked great. I was using just honey to soothe my cough, and it wasn't working. I like the peppery tingle, I think that's the key ingredient for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      I've had this nasty cough for several days so I thought I would give this a try. It really works and I didn't find the taste bad at all. Thank you so much for posting. I'm going to continue to take this for a few days and see what happens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      I've been chasing DH with a spoon for the last two days!!!He says this stuff tastes awful, but after taking it for just two days, he's not coughing anymore. All his cold symptoms are gone and he feels A-OK now. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's saved my sanity.....I couldn't stand his whinning!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cough Medicine

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 17.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    29%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes