Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cough Medicine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cough Medicine

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2007

      THANK YOU!!!!! it works.. I did NOT cut it with the water... I tasted it 1st found the flavor to be fine( not offensive to me) so I did leave out the water...thinking the honey could better coat my throat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I got over a bad cold and was left with that same spasm cough. 3 Week later I still have it. I say 2 words and need to cough. Over the counter drops don't help for this kind because it goes deep into your lungs. I tried this recipe by taking 3 TBS twice a day. This really works! It feels like its working to calm the spasms but also heal the tissues. Just keep taking it until your completely better. Many thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Have to say this was really gross! But did the trick in the short term I must say. Made it for my husband and it was worth twenty stars for entertainment value, he took it after a few minues of looking dubiously at it and his face was priceless! Later he would only take it again if I took it with him for support, what a baby!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Made this recipe for my daughter who had a bad cough for a couple of weeks. Gone in 2 days. Got the same cough myself, and kept waking up my husband at night with my coughing. Made another batch, slept through the night (both of us.) My oldest daughter is in medical school, and she caught a cold and a terrible cough. She's come by twice to pick up her "prescription." She likes it because it doesn't make her drowsy or anxious, and it works well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      My son has allergies with coughing, sore throat, sneezing, etc. He hates taking cough medicine, but finally agreed to try this. He loved how fast his sore throat was gone, and it really helped his cough, too. Didn't do much for the sneezing, but you can't have everything! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Definitely worth giving a shot. Never having been impressed with OTC cough remedies, especially for children, I've used this on my 5 and 7 year-olds. My son's niggling hay fever cough woke him up last night...one dose of this and he was out for the night. Works like a charm and no one complained about the taste. Thanks, Daphne, for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      This tastes so much better than any OTC cough medicines or cough syrups I have tried! In fact, I kinda like the taste. I could feel a burning sensation all the way down. Have made this several times already. Sometimes I only use 1 tablespoon of water and add 1 tablespoon of vodka. I've shared this remedy with friend, they like it too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      I can't begin to tell you how happy I am with this remedy. It really works! I've noticed a significant improvement in my cough just today. The taste, well, it's kind of like hot, very sweet salad dressing (lol!), but it's not so horrible. Every time I've started coughing, I've taken one teaspoonful as directed. It does the job, and does it well. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      This stuff is excellent! I did not think the taste was all bad either. If you have a cough, please try this, It works!! Thank you so much for sarhing the recipe. I had cayenne pepper capsules, and one capsule was 1/4 tsp. I also had ginger capsules too, and 1 capsule is 1/4 teaspoon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I just whipped this up and took two tsps. Let me tell you it's NASTY but I'll how it works. I've been coughing for a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      "This really works!" I didn't have the cider vinegar so I used lemon juice and a splash of balsamic as a substitute. I only used about a 1/2 TBS of water to keep it more syrupy. The flu bug came through here and my lungs would burn when I cough and this just abates the cough quickly and the effects last a good while too. I am amazed at how well this simple yet powerful remedy works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I made two batches of this remedy. In one I used freshly grated ginger and in the other powdered ginger. Neither of these worked at all. I've a horrible cough and it hasn't helped one iota. I had such high hopes, based on glowing reviews, and was predisposed to think it would be successful but, alas, it didn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Didn't do anything for my cough, but was soothing on the throat. The heat from the cayenne was nice and warming. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Quick and easy to make with ingredients readily on hand. Unfortunately, it didn't work. Three doses later and I'm still coughing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      WOW, I have been coughing for 7 days now and I hate taking bought cough medicines. In desperation I googled home made cough medicines and this came up. I was very wary because of the pepper so did not put the full amount the first batch, even then it worked a treat. Tonight is the big test, the cough is always worse at night.... I have my fingers crossed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Made this yesterday for DH, who has had a cough for a couple of weeks. He is still coughing a bit, but says he feels much better. Thanks Daphne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Unfortunately this didn't work for me :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      My husband and I have been coughing for 2 weeks now. Tried this with great hopes but unfortunately, we are on day four and no improvement. Thanks anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I was really hopeful this would work, but unfortunately it never had any affect on my cough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This is wonderful! Thank you so very much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cough Medicine

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 17.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    29%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites