56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tastes awful, but works great! My daughter (5 years) and I have both tried it for nagging coughs, and it helped both of us. My daughter calls it that "disgusting" cough medicine, but readily admits that it does a bang-up job of alleviating her cough.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe December 16, 2003

I've NOT been dealing with a bad cough for the past 2 fortnights. It's because of my STRONG DISLIKE to take medicines. I prefer natural cures, really. I've been drinking this of late, and my cough is much much better(almost going away). I am not just going to save this in my book, but recommend it to everyone I know. I've made a batch for a friend as well. Really easy, cheap, home-made, natural and most of all, it WORKS like a charm! Thank you very much for posting this very effective home treatment to fight nasty irritating cough.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 17, 2003

So far so good! My 6 year old has the flu, and has been up for 2 nights coughing nonstop. After the first dose of this, I saw no improvement at all. 15 minutes later I decided to give a second dose. Well, after it 'kicked in' (in about 10 minutes), he's sound asleep! Maybe him and I both will finally get some rest. :) I'll be saving this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cg2013 February 05, 2013

It really works. I was 2 night without sleeps because I was always coughing. I tried a few things and it didn't help me to sleep. But the evening I tried it, I took 2 times 1 tsp. And just before going to bed, I took 2 tsp of this and I slept like a baby. I'm doing better now. Thanks Daphne :) Made for All you can cook buffet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 15, 2012

Sorry it's taken me so long to write a review!! This stuff really saved my life! Prob due to allergies, my throat would dry up at night, or even during the day & would produce a coughing fit. It was hard to get back to sleep. Regular cough syrup didn't help. This strange combo did the trick! I wasn't able to bring myself to use the full 1/4 tsp cayenne but I still felt it's bite as it went down my throat so I guess I used enough! I sleep better thru the night now & keep some of this by my bed in case I wake up with throat dryness. Can't thank you enough for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS April 08, 2011

I sent a copy of this recipe to my daughter today. She has had a cold and a really bad cough for over a week. She said it kind of burnt her lips a little but it did work. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 09, 2010

I didn't find this to be unpleasant tasting at all. Unable to sleep due to a cough, I was desperate to try anything. The usual honey and lemon mixture wasn't working for me this time, so I decided to give this recipe a try. I think I ended up taking all of it in one sitting, over the course of about 15 minutes or so. Like some other reviewers, I left out the water. I honestly do feel this has helped my cough enough that I should be able to get some much needed sleep. That is, if I'm not distracted by the tingling of my tongue! This stuff has some kick. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen June 10, 2009

This sounds really gross, but it actually doesn't taste that bad. It really works for me, but I wanted to use it on my 7 year old son. He seems to have a coughing problem more than the rest of us. When he takes it, it does work, but he really doesn't like the taste of it. I just feel better knowing I'm not pumping him full of all kinds of crap just to get rid of a cough. All the stuff in here is good for you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN April 11, 2008

Maybe it is just because my throat is so raw from all the coughing, but boy howdy does this stuff burn! The taste isn't so bad, I was expecting much worse given the other reviews, but if you think about it, with the exception of the vinegar, it sounds like something wonderful to coat your chicken... I made up a double batch of this stuff since I have a killer cough and am taking one tsp when I start to feel that tickle and it seems to be working. I was skeptical at first, but I absolutely loath taking OTC medications or ANY medications for that matter, so I decided to give this a shot. I'm glad I did too! My cough is subsiding and I don't have to suffer through the rest of my day in an incoherent fog... Thanks for posting! I will be sure to keep this one bookmarked for future use!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy February 26, 2008

It's around 3 in the morning and having kept myself awake half the night with a cough that cough drops and liquid cough suppresant wasn't doing anything too I decided to try this. First off, the stuff is vile. Second, if you don't do well with the heat of cayenne pepper, try and get it past most of your tongue as you put it in your mouth and no where near your lips, the stuff burns. I do have to give it five stars though, I took a teaspoon of it every time I started to cough this evening and after three spoonfuls (and lots of gagging) I'm doing pretty good. I'll probably need more, but I think I'll actually get to go back to sleep. I think I'm going to find an empty spritzer bottle and use this stuff like a throat spray. I would recommend not to use anything as a chaser to get rid of the taste (I tried it). I think the combination of everything burns the cold out of your throat and water or milk just washes it away, not allowing it to work. Horrible stuff, awesome job. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow December 14, 2007
Homemade Cough Medicine