36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did not make this recipe, but have a suggestion as a substitute, particularly if you like Maple Syrup. I buy a 3 litre bottle of Edlyn Flavoured Maple Syrup from the Wholesalers at a cheap cost (can't remember) but it's much cheaper buying in bulk rather than from the supermarket in small quantities. <br/>The ingredients are Glucose, sugar, water, flavour, preservative 202, Acid 330, colour 150d. Doesn't say from which source the glucose is extracted, but you could check this out: Edlyn is an Australian company www.edlyn.com.au Consumer phone 1300 661 908. <br/>I have used it successfully in uncooked slices where corn syrup was called for. Of course it is delicious on pancakes too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yarrandabbi March 18, 2013

This a a very good corn syurp recipe, but I used it for corn syurp in making divinity and it does not work. The candy turns to sugar after it is boiled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twdowns January 27, 2013

I should have never followed the review from the person who said it takes almost an hour to cook. I tried it and it came out like rock candy! DO NOT boil this for anywhere close to an hour! This batch was ruined. I will try it again but follow the directions this time. You can't always believe reviews you read.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SnowyAngel October 18, 2012

I am very pleased with how this recipe turned out. It was thick just like store bought corn syrup - wow! I boiled until softball on my candy thermometer, but only got about 1 1/4 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa in WA May 24, 2010

Corn syrup is so expensive here, this is a cheap and healthier way for me to always have corn syrup on hand for recipes. So easy to make as well. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 04, 2010

This exact recipe just arrived in an email from cousin Donna, so it must be good. Will try asap as I don't like eating anything with corn. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods October 15, 2009

I bake our bread because it's miles cheaper than storebought (but believe me, it would never happen if I didn't have a standing mixer to do the kneading!) The most expensive ingredient is the honey. I decided to try this because we were out of honey -- not only is this syrup a fraction of the cost, it's actually better. I didn't tell my husband anything, and he asked me what I did differently -- it gave the bread a wonderful rich caramel-y flavor. I cooked this batch down a little bit too much -- next batch I'll cook for less time and make pancake syrup. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peanutbutterstew February 05, 2009

This is a definite money saver and is useful for alot of cooking. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee January 20, 2009

My try turned into a gooey lump. You could at least list the temperature instead of just saying soft ball stage. This blows!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rabbitbrain January 03, 2009
Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup )