Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup )

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2008

      Wonderful! I have been looking for a sugar-free alternative to regular corn syrup. I used splenda and it turned out great. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Brilliant! Just made first batch and will definitely make more. Thanks you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Good recipie to have

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Wow, easy to make and I'm sure much healthier. I did the same thing as someone else here and used this with the syrup recipe. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Will do in a pinch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Loved it. I won't be buying corn syrup anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I too try to avoid high fructose corn syrup whenever I can. The only change I made to this recipe was to use 1 cup Splenda Baking Blend instead of 2 cups sugar. This substitution reduced the calories by half but only yielded 3/4 cup syrup. I used a candy thermometer and cooked the mixture until it reached the soft ball stage. It turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe. It worked wonderfully. I needed corn syrup to make icing for my v-day cookies and the icing turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I've been looking for a sugar-free corn syrup for years. So I took this recipe and used Splena in place of the white sugar and it works great....Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      After not buying regular corn syrup from the stores because they use high fructose corn syrup in it, I was very happy to find this recipe. I mixed this up as stated, though I too didn't know what "soft balls" were, either. I just simmered it and stirred constantly, until it thickened and turned completely clear. I let it cool and used 1 cup of it in Homemade pancake syrup, Homemade Pancake Syrup. It was perfect and delicious! I poured the rest in a glass jar with a tight fitting lid and keep in the back of my pantry, dark and cool. Perfect! I will now make one more thing from scratch, saving money and my health. Thanks, again. Just to let you know, I got about a cup and a half out of the recipe after simmering. Well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Thank you so much for this. Since my move to the UK, I can't find anything I regularly use! I needed this for marshmallow sauce. Mmmm! Next time I make this, I'll make sure I have a candy thermometer on hand. I think I cooked mine a bit too long. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This is quite close to store bought corn syrup. I used this to make Midas Squares [Midas Squares} and they came out very well. Thanks alot for posting this recipe. I'll be using this one alot!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      I tried this, but ran into major difficulties understanding the recipe. "Simmer until it begins to form soft balls when you stir" is an instruction I have yet to see elsewhere in many years of cooking. I thought perhaps it meant to cook it the soft ball stage of candy making, so was going to use my candy thermometer, when I discovered it was broken. So I tried the cold water candy test for soft ball. As the mixture was cooling, I stirred it (it might have been better if I hadn't), and it crystallized. Since the main reason corn syrup is used in recipes is that it discourages crystallization, this does seem to defeat the purpose. Actually, though, the recipe I was using this in was a sherbet that called for corn syrup combined with a sugar and water mixture, so I was able to dissolve the crystallized syrup, and make the sherbet successfully. That is the reason I'm not rating this. I do think that this would not work well in some recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Great recipe. I needed corn syrup for a marshmellow recipe, and realized we didn't have any! This worked great, but I only got about 1 1/2 cups out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup )

    Serving Size: 1 (579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 774.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 82.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 200.1 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 199.6 g
    798%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes