Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup )

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      NOTE: for those who think this is healthier than high fructose corn syrup. The purpose of the cream of tartar is to break the sugar down into glucose and fructose. So probably not any better than storebought from a health point of view. Some recipes need these simple sugars to stop crystals forming (eg candy, some frostings) but for other purposes (eg pancake syrup) maybe better to find an alternative if health is your motivation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      It may not be "healthier," but for those with a corn allergy, this could be a great recipe. My 6 year old son has missed having marshmallows since he was diagnosed with a corn allergy a year ago, now we can make them at home! :) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      I only gave this 3 stars as the posted recipe failed. I tried it again doubling the water which worked perfect. I also feel it should be noted that this takes almost 1 hour to cook. It must be slowly simmered. The first batch I cooked to quickly and it turned to hard sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Wow; thank you, Thank You, THANK YOU! I am unable to tolerate corn syurp (or table sugar) for that matter. I use a fabulous sweet substitute called Whey Low Type D Granular, made from a marvelous blend (fruitose and lactose) and is substituted 1:1 for table sugar (sucrose). I have no affiliation, but the web source is: http://wheylow.com (I highly recommend it for everything using granulated sugar!) Anyway, this syrup recipe has now come to my rescue for - my family being able to go back - to ENJOYING many other favorite recipes! Re: Soft-Ball Stage 235 degree F to 240 degree F. At this temperature, sugar syrup dropped into a small bowl of cold water will form a soft, flexible ball. If you remove the ball from water, it will flatten like a pancake after a few moments in your hand. Again, MY MANY THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      It so far is working okay in my hard candy, but making the corn syrup itself was a bit off. You need to cook it until it is about 225 degrees (farinheight). The problem for me might have been that I am at high alltitude. Great Recipe. Thanks so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Best recipe available **anywhere** and preserves the important non-crystallizing properties of real corn syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Very handy for me, being an American living in the UK! Thanks for the great recipe... Lyles Golden Syrup just doesn't work well with alot of stuff calling for Karo Syrup. I found this on another site, which should clear up the confusion over the "soft ball" part of the instructions: LIGHT CORN SYRUP SUBSTITUTE 2 c. white sugar 3/4 c. water 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar ( in spice aisle) Dash of salt Combine all ingredients in a heavy, large pan. Stir and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and put cover on it for 3 minutes to get sugar crystals off the sides of the pan. Uncover and cook until it reaches soft ball stage. Stir often. Cool syrup and store in a covered container at room temperature. It will keep for about 2 months. Makes almost 2 cups

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      This seemed like it was going to be great. However, after cooking to the soft ball stage using my candy thermometer and pouring into a jar, it solidified. Perhaps I shouldn't trust the thermometer and try cooking for less time. I hope if I warm the jar it will liquify. At least I only made half a recipe to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I did not make this recipe, but have a suggestion as a substitute, particularly if you like Maple Syrup. I buy a 3 litre bottle of Edlyn Flavoured Maple Syrup from the Wholesalers at a cheap cost (can't remember) but it's much cheaper buying in bulk rather than from the supermarket in small quantities. <br/>The ingredients are Glucose, sugar, water, flavour, preservative 202, Acid 330, colour 150d. Doesn't say from which source the glucose is extracted, but you could check this out: Edlyn is an Australian company www.edlyn.com.au Consumer phone 1300 661 908. <br/>I have used it successfully in uncooked slices where corn syrup was called for. Of course it is delicious on pancakes too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      This a a very good corn syurp recipe, but I used it for corn syurp in making divinity and it does not work. The candy turns to sugar after it is boiled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      I should have never followed the review from the person who said it takes almost an hour to cook. I tried it and it came out like rock candy! DO NOT boil this for anywhere close to an hour! This batch was ruined. I will try it again but follow the directions this time. You can't always believe reviews you read.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I am very pleased with how this recipe turned out. It was thick just like store bought corn syrup - wow! I boiled until softball on my candy thermometer, but only got about 1 1/4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Corn syrup is so expensive here, this is a cheap and healthier way for me to always have corn syrup on hand for recipes. So easy to make as well. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This exact recipe just arrived in an email from cousin Donna, so it must be good. Will try asap as I don't like eating anything with corn. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I bake our bread because it's miles cheaper than storebought (but believe me, it would never happen if I didn't have a standing mixer to do the kneading!) The most expensive ingredient is the honey. I decided to try this because we were out of honey -- not only is this syrup a fraction of the cost, it's actually better. I didn't tell my husband anything, and he asked me what I did differently -- it gave the bread a wonderful rich caramel-y flavor. I cooked this batch down a little bit too much -- next batch I'll cook for less time and make pancake syrup. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is a definite money saver and is useful for alot of cooking. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My try turned into a gooey lump. You could at least list the temperature instead of just saying soft ball stage. This blows!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

    • on October 29, 2008

      I am so excited to try this, I have been wanting to try some recipes with corn syrup in the ingredients, My diabetic better half just loves Olive Gardens salad and the dressing has corn syrup in it...I will try this, thanks bunches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I am so glad that you posted this recipe. My daughter is intolerant to high fructose corn syrup and has been missing out on some of her favourite baked goods. Today, I was able to make her granola bars using your recipe and they turned out great. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Corn Syrup Substitute ( Simple Syrup )

    Serving Size: 1 (579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 774.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 82.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 200.1 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 199.6 g
    798%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites