9 Reviews

I've not made this recipe yet but will soon. I wanted to share a tip. I used to make a similar recipe called pine bark. With that recipe we would freeze it and break it apart like peanut brittle. Much easier than cutting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2five April 02, 2009

Yummy! They definately were crumbly when cut, I have tried freezing them after they were cut, but not out of the pan. That seemed to help, but they melt quick. I wonder if parchment paper underneath them might make cutting and serving easier. Then, I could just pull out the paper and peel it off. Definately sinful, as I can't seem to stop eating them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyW April 02, 2007

i made these last night for thanksgiving and they are gone!!! i tasted one and our neighbors taste testd some and DH tried a "few" and now i have to make another batch. are these ever wonderful!!!!i used low sodium Club crackers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears November 23, 2005

These are really really good and for taste deserve 5+ stars. I would give 3 stars for ease of prep and cutting, though. They created a lot of dishes (a pet peeve) and after chilling were difficult to cut - I ended up using a metal spatula to slice through because a knife just wasn't working. The first one I dished out the layers didn't want to stick together and the bottom cracker stuck to the pan but the rest seemed to be OK. Now that that's all over with though I'm looking forward to eating them! They taste *great*!! Thanks CaramelPie :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 November 02, 2005

Very tasty - like peanut butter twix bars. 2 tips: make sure your caramel bowl is big enough so it doesn't boil over in the microwave and after it firms up in the fridge, store on a plate at room temperature or they are hard to get out of the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc July 10, 2016

These bars are quite tasty although a bit crumbly when serving. I made exactly as directed and everyone enjoyed them even if they were messy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis December 19, 2006

Those were great ! i used whole wheat " petits beurres" and i added some peanuts, very good ! i will make this again and take a picture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elodie November 23, 2006

These bars are yummy! Being in Canada, I couldn't find Club crackers, but we have something called Toppables which are pretty much the same thing, so I used those. I would have to say that they don't taste like Twix to me, but that's ok because they are still really tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shels December 19, 2005
Homemade Cookie, Caramel and Chocolate Candy Bars