Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Condensed Cream of Chicken or Mushroom or Celery Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Condensed Cream of Chicken or Mushroom or Celery Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2012

      Great substitute for those cream soups we sometimes don't have on hand. I put plenty of mushrooms in mine. I also thickened mine with cornstarch, I prefer that over flour. Cornstarch does not get grainy or lumpy. I also added a Tablespoon of butter to make it rich and creamy. Ummmm! I made half the recipe but was wondering if anyone knows if this could be frozen for later uses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Wow! Honestly, I'm really surprised at how well it turned out - really flavorful with all those spices. I think next time I might experiment with cornstarch for thickener instead of the flour because it was a tiny bit grainy, but it was great for Thanksgiving green bean casserole. I've used cream of X soup recipes several times before, but never have I been so pleased with the results. I think my search for a go-to recipe is over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      This recipe is great! I had to use soy milk and it still turned out awesome! This is definitely going to be made again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      As a kid, I loved cream of mushroom soup from a can. However, as an adult, I don't buy it anymore. This is just as good as my childhood memory, and is almost as easy to make. I love that it is so versatile, today I added I cup of milk to half of the recipe along with chopped dried mushrooms and bacon bits. Next time maybe chopped artichokes, or cheddar and broccoli. I made this completely from ingredients I had on hand- so this will become a pantry staple as well. Thanks for posting a real winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2014

      I used this for a casserole and I am giving it 5 stars because it is cheaper than canned, less sodium and works great. I am not sure I am ready to use it in tuna casserole or something that requires a lot of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      I forgot to look at the reviews and wonder if cornstarch would fix it, as is, it tastes like flour. Blech. Next time I will go with one using fresh onion and garlic, making a roux.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      I can't get the canned soup where I live, not that it's healthy. Just made this for a tuna noodle casserole and it came out beautifully smooth and tasty. I will never regret not having canned soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Holy cow! This is perfect, and I hope to keep making this in the future. Perfect, I had my own chicken broth and went from there! I also used skim milk, and it worked great! I added mushrooms to mine and also minced garlic for a garlic/mushroom soup. I didn't even put the mushrooms in the olive oil, just dumped em' in, and they cooked absolutely into perfection. Great recipe! Thx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      There are just two of us so it seems I'm always needing 1/2 can of Condensed soup. I quartered this recipe and it worked great for me. I did have to add a little more milk to get to the consistency that I wanted but no big deal. Thank you so much for posting this. To me it is a treasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Very good and easy to make. I tend to make a lot of recipes with cream of whatever soup and this made for a great substite. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Made for Spring PAC 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Condensed Cream of Chicken or Mushroom or Celery Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.6
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    23%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 313.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    poultry

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites