11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great substitute for those cream soups we sometimes don't have on hand. I put plenty of mushrooms in mine. I also thickened mine with cornstarch, I prefer that over flour. Cornstarch does not get grainy or lumpy. I also added a Tablespoon of butter to make it rich and creamy. Ummmm! I made half the recipe but was wondering if anyone knows if this could be frozen for later uses.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 May 28, 2012

Wow! Honestly, I'm really surprised at how well it turned out - really flavorful with all those spices. I think next time I might experiment with cornstarch for thickener instead of the flour because it was a tiny bit grainy, but it was great for Thanksgiving green bean casserole. I've used cream of X soup recipes several times before, but never have I been so pleased with the results. I think my search for a go-to recipe is over.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LightEra December 23, 2011

This recipe is great! I had to use soy milk and it still turned out awesome! This is definitely going to be made again! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ame589 October 10, 2011

As a kid, I loved cream of mushroom soup from a can. However, as an adult, I don't buy it anymore. This is just as good as my childhood memory, and is almost as easy to make. I love that it is so versatile, today I added I cup of milk to half of the recipe along with chopped dried mushrooms and bacon bits. Next time maybe chopped artichokes, or cheddar and broccoli. I made this completely from ingredients I had on hand- so this will become a pantry staple as well. Thanks for posting a real winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH November 07, 2009

I used this to make New England Clam Chowder. I added a cup of diced potato to the cream base. It was phenomenal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmetgreasemonkey November 08, 2014

I used this for a casserole and I am giving it 5 stars because it is cheaper than canned, less sodium and works great. I am not sure I am ready to use it in tuna casserole or something that requires a lot of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas August 29, 2014

I forgot to look at the reviews and wonder if cornstarch would fix it, as is, it tastes like flour. Blech. Next time I will go with one using fresh onion and garlic, making a roux.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tharrison78_13049102 May 11, 2014

I can't get the canned soup where I live, not that it's healthy. Just made this for a tuna noodle casserole and it came out beautifully smooth and tasty. I will never regret not having canned soup again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chava Cohen May 25, 2012

Holy cow! This is perfect, and I hope to keep making this in the future. Perfect, I had my own chicken broth and went from there! I also used skim milk, and it worked great! I added mushrooms to mine and also minced garlic for a garlic/mushroom soup. I didn't even put the mushrooms in the olive oil, just dumped em' in, and they cooked absolutely into perfection. Great recipe! Thx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 25, 2011

There are just two of us so it seems I'm always needing 1/2 can of Condensed soup. I quartered this recipe and it worked great for me. I did have to add a little more milk to get to the consistency that I wanted but no big deal. Thank you so much for posting this. To me it is a treasure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Ann May 06, 2010
Homemade Condensed Cream of Chicken or Mushroom or Celery Soup