Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cleaner Wow! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cleaner Wow!

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      This stuff works! I used Palmolive odor control dish soap as it's what I had. The smell is a bit strong, I might try adding 1/2 cup of distilled water to thin out the vinegar smell some, but I used it as regular cleaner for my kitchen and bathroom and it cleaned up GREAT and left the counters sparkly! I just sprayed Febreeze room spray after and the vinegar smell was gone. ;) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      It works great for soap scum there are not steaks if you rinse well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I'm very impressed! I used Sunlight dishwash, and was amazed by how very effective this is, and what a cost-saver! It absolutely strips grease and fats, and even though the strong vinegar smell is initially a surprise, you quickly get used to it. A used glass, quick squoosh of this inside, swirl and rinse... sparkly glass! It cleaned the top of my stove, I sprayed and wiped a persistent grubby spot on the floor, it cleans counters.. its great. Thank you for sharing, dozey doats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I am into wonderful lifesaver's like this. A easy combo to put together and even used the "store-type-Dawn" liquid instead of "Dawn" itself. I loved this, as I had spilled a bunch of juice all down my refrigerator and this really took the stickiness off and cleaned nicely. I am all for saving money and this did it. I now have a nice bottle of cleaner for so much less then then you would pay at the store. Thank you, dozey doats! Made for * I Recommend* tag game, February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Good as a money saver, but i have to say, being a natural healh consultant, dawn is detergent and is not the most *untoxic* ingredient to use. just the vinegar itself is a great anti-everything and cleans great. if u dont like the scent, you can add a few drops of essential oils to it, such as peppermint, vanilla, or lemon to make it smell better, though the scent of vinegar does dissipate rather quickly. thanks for the recipe, i love seeing people sharing knowledge that helps save money and is less toxic than commercial cleaners. great job:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      No more buying store bought cleaners! This stuff works great!! Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I won't be making this again. I tried it out on one of the panels of the glass doors on my shower, and it made no noticeable difference. It cleaned a little bit of the mildew, but not very much, and it didn't get any of the soap scum at all. Plus the vinegar odor was extremely pungent, even with the fan going and the window open. I was not at all impressed--I dumped out what was left.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      THANK YOU for taking the time to post such a GREAT RECIPE!! This works better then any of the commericial cleaners that I have been using in the shower and whirlpool!! Now my shower glass doors shine,and I didn't have to use a steam sprayer to accomplish it. You were exactely right when you stated "It's Amazing."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I made this on the weekend and have used it to clean the tub, sink and countertops. It works beautifully. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Wonderful, I used this in the bathroom and it removed all the stubborn soap scum quite easily, I couldn't find dawn liquid dish soap so (with permission from dozey doats) I used an organic, 100% natural liquid dish washing soap (which I purchased from the health food shop). I must warn people even though it's non toxic, wear a mask because it still smells very strong and you wouldn't want to inhale it by mistake (just like I did). LOL Thank you for the recommendation Chef Jean and thank you dozey doats for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I also tried this at Chef Jean's recommendation. It does work great! I made sure I used antibacterial dawn liquid to make sure it really killed the germs! I will use this again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I tried this today at Chef Jean's recommendation and it worked great. Used it to clean the countertops and cabinets in the kitchen and everything came clean lickety split. I love the idea of using a non-toxic cleaner in food preparation areas and will certainly keep my small bottle (1/2 batch) handy. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      This worked out great! I refilled my cleaner bottle for less than a 1/4 of the price.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I would not make this again. The main problem was that it left streaks on everything - I tried wiping with dry and damp cloths, and dry paper towels, but nothing worked to get my surfaces streak-free. I also found the vinegar smell didn't dissipate quickly; when I returned to the kitchen 30 minutes later I could still smell it. I only made 1/2 a recipe, so I filled up my bottle with water to dilute it, and will use this up in my laundry room where the streaks won't be on display.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I admit I used liquid castille organic soap instead of the Dawn. Still, this doesn't seem to clean very well at all. I couldn't take the scent so I added some orange essential oil and when I had opened the bottle I noticed it had become "gloppy" inside, I bet its really just spraying the vinegar instead of the combination with the soap despite my constant shaking and that's why it doesn't clean very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This is great. I though that a spray bottle may clog rather then mist this combination but it is fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cleaner Wow!

    Serving Size: 1 (648 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 29.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spray bottle

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites