Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Chili Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Chili Powder

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2014

      I have tried several different homemade chili powders and this one is by far the best. What I love about it the most is that I use it for a lot more than making chili and can use it for everything as a base and add more heat, more garlic powder, onion powder, etc. to the different dish I am preparing. I really like the fact that it has no salt. I have certain dishes that I use chili powder in that would be ruined with the additional salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Even though I'm a black pepper lover, I don't really think it belongs in chili powder, so I like this a lot. I also like the fact that it's salt free. I halved the cayenne because my son is a spice wimp. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      I've been looking for a really good salt-free chili powder for quite a while, but none stood up to my old favorite brand, not even the Penzy's version. BUT this one is a winner! No more searching or store-bought for me. Thank you for a simple solution in this winner of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2014

      Perfect. I used the entire result from this recipe to one pound of ground turkey (for turkey tacos).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have not tested it out yet, but I am SO excited to find homemade chili powder as my husband is allergic to garlic and every chili powder at the store has garlic in it. This is easy, I can just simply omit it. Finally we can have my homemade chili and sloppy joe's!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I can't review this yet, because I've not yet used it. I am unemployed at the moment,and things are tough around here,but I have every herb and spice known to man, so I made a batch of this. I think it will be good in our chili (which tends to be sweet due to our fresh and roasted tomatoes) and I have enough leftover for a spicy popcorn. I did add al little salt, and pulled back on the pepper a little., because i used habanero. (I like it HOTT!) thank you for the recipe, though, oh! And I threw in a few red pepper flakes, because that's always in the packets. If this works for us you will be a hero. I just wanted some proportions, and I'm glad that you took the time to work them out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Thank you for this recipe! I used it tonight making spicy oven fries and it was great! I won't be buying chili powder anymore! I also make my own taco seasoning. I like to know what is in my spices...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I have to agree with the other reviewers....love the fact there's no salt or black pepper in this mix. This is the only one I'll use from now on and I don't have to buy it at the store anymore. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      While preparing to make a chili recipe for the Fall 2011 PAC I realized I didn't have enough chili powder. After looking I found this and I must say this is so much better than store bought. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Great taste and so easy, and best of all, NO ADDED SALT! Just the right amount of heat for us. Used it to make a pot of chili. Made for Spring 2011 PAC game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Since moving to Australia I haven't been able to find a chili powder that I really like.....not a problem any more...this was a really good blend of seasoning and heat..so my search is over..!!
      Made for 123 Hits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I was out of chili powder and made your recipe. I made only half the recipe to fit my small jar. This is the perfect seasoning since there is no salt in it. Thanks Lori :) Made for I recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Chili Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 348.8
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    29%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 78.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 29.5 g
    118%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites