12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried several different homemade chili powders and this one is by far the best. What I love about it the most is that I use it for a lot more than making chili and can use it for everything as a base and add more heat, more garlic powder, onion powder, etc. to the different dish I am preparing. I really like the fact that it has no salt. I have certain dishes that I use chili powder in that would be ruined with the additional salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roy'sHunneyBee May 04, 2014

I can't review this yet, because I've not yet used it. I am unemployed at the moment,and things are tough around here,but I have every herb and spice known to man, so I made a batch of this. I think it will be good in our chili (which tends to be sweet due to our fresh and roasted tomatoes) and I have enough leftover for a spicy popcorn. I did add al little salt, and pulled back on the pepper a little., because i used habanero. (I like it HOTT!) thank you for the recipe, though, oh! And I threw in a few red pepper flakes, because that's always in the packets. If this works for us you will be a hero. I just wanted some proportions, and I'm glad that you took the time to work them out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deanna c July 13, 2013

Even though I'm a black pepper lover, I don't really think it belongs in chili powder, so I like this a lot. I also like the fact that it's salt free. I halved the cayenne because my son is a spice wimp. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl March 29, 2010

I've been looking for a really good salt-free chili powder for quite a while, but none stood up to my old favorite brand, not even the Penzy's version. BUT this one is a winner! No more searching or store-bought for me. Thank you for a simple solution in this winner of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama May 24, 2014

Perfect. I used the entire result from this recipe to one pound of ground turkey (for turkey tacos).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyriggs07 May 15, 2014

Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have not tested it out yet, but I am SO excited to find homemade chili powder as my husband is allergic to garlic and every chili powder at the store has garlic in it. This is easy, I can just simply omit it. Finally we can have my homemade chili and sloppy joe's!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seanna96_3747948 December 14, 2013

Thank you for this recipe! I used it tonight making spicy oven fries and it was great! I won't be buying chili powder anymore! I also make my own taco seasoning. I like to know what is in my spices...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toneill1963 May 18, 2013

I have to agree with the other reviewers....love the fact there's no salt or black pepper in this mix. This is the only one I'll use from now on and I don't have to buy it at the store anymore. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 30, 2012

While preparing to make a chili recipe for the Fall 2011 PAC I realized I didn't have enough chili powder. After looking I found this and I must say this is so much better than store bought. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 October 02, 2011

Great taste and so easy, and best of all, NO ADDED SALT! Just the right amount of heat for us. Used it to make a pot of chili. Made for Spring 2011 PAC game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 06, 2011
Homemade Chili Powder