153 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay, so I've made this recipe about 4-5 times now and it's turned out great every single time. I was making it for dinner tonight when I realized that I only had skim milk in the fridge and no cream. I ended up using 2/3C of milk and 1/3C sour cream(!) mixed in with the stock. I will *never* make it any other way ever again, not only was the sauce a lot thicker, it's also lower in calories and adds the extra bit of flavour. Other than that the only other changes I've made to the recipe is to add a bit of parsley & thyme to the mix before putting it in under the crust and also using only a top crust and no bottom crust (again, to reduce the calories, like it should matter in a pot pie LOL). This is one of the best recipes (even without the changes) I've found on the 'zaar for chicken pot pie, they should just remove all the other ones now since this one can't be topped :).

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rob79 May 04, 2010

WHAT AN AWESOME RECIPE!!!! I have NEVER cooked homeade chicken pot pie before. And I am not a very good cook either. But I am pregnant and was craving it. My mom used to cook it all the time when I was younger. There were just a few changes that I made: I added a few more potatoes. I did not have half and half so I used 2/3 cup skim milk (I only had skim milk on hand) and 1/3 cup sour cream that I got from someone else's review. I did use a little more sour cream. I did not have as much butter as the recipe called for so I used half butter and half olive oil to saute the vegetables in. I also waited a little longer than the recipe called for to saute the frozen vegetables in with the potatoes and celery. I did not want them to get to soggy. I was out of real onions so I substituted with minced onion.

I used my own amount of salt and pepper and I used alot of it. My husband and I like alot of pepper (everyones own preference). I also checked the pot pie in the middle of cooking and I had to put aluminum foil over the crust to keep it from browning too much. Also my husband and I did not like the pie crust with the chicken pot pie because it tasted to sweet. So needless to say the next time we make this it will be with biscuits or I could make my own homeade crust without all the added sugar (that will be another one I would have to find a recipe before because I have never made homeade crust either).

My husband and a wonderful cook and usually does all the cooking. He usually does not like what I cook but he never tells me. I know he liked this because he wants it again tomorrow. He said this recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela23245 July 29, 2010

Easily the best pot pie I've ever had. Some easier measurements for everyone, I used half a large onion, 2 stalks of celery, 1 regular to large sized potato minus skin and cubed, and a 3 pack of chicken breasts.. I can't give you weight for chicken bc it wasn't on package. I beat the chicken before I cooked it and cooked in olive oil with about a teaspoon of white wine vinegar and a little bit of water in a skillet on medium while I prepared everything else flipping regularly.. I also used pilsbury refrigerated pie crust. I used a 9.25 x 13.25 casserole dish and it took me 2 packages of the pie crust, only 3 out of 4 rolls though..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jimcroft January 06, 2013

Yum! I was craving some great comfort food and this was it! Very simple and good. I used refrigerated pie crusts and this came together very quickly. Thanks for sharing this nice winner, breezermom. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 06, 2014

This was awesome after I added just a bit of seasoning - about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and about a tablespoon of mixed Italian seasoning. I didn't have cream so I used 2% milk and it was still good. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Kupkake April 20, 2011

I love this recipe, chicken pot pie without too much work! I pre-baked the bottom crust about 13 mins before pouring in the filling. I took a reviewer's suggestion and added 2/3 c. skim milk, but instead of 1/3 c. sour cream, I added 1/3 c. of non-fat plain Greek yogurt (in place of the half-and-half). The sauce was creamy and thick, but when I added the chicken, I had to add a little more milk. I skipped the salt and added a lot of freshly ground black pepper.
I will definitely make this recipe again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Poppy September 06, 2010

Finally I found a chicken pot pie I like. This was good. Everyone liked the filling and I will be making this over and over again, its a keeper! Thanks for sharing with us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny November 21, 2009

Comfort food at it's finest!! Seriously, you MUST try this recipe!! This will go directly into my best of the best file - for sheer downhome goodness. I thought about halving the recipe, as others have done, but decided to make the full amt. and I'm sooooooo glad that I did. It was polished off within 2 days. I made as directed, the only change was that I added another 1/2 cup of diced potatoes. Mine baked up perfectly within 30 minutes. I used store-bought rotisserie chicken. No more commercial chicken pot pie for us. With this recipe, you know exactly what ingredients are going into it and it's healthier than the boxed version. Plus it's much better tasting! Okay..so what are you waiting for? Run to your store to get these ingredients! ~Made for the Fall PAC~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 22, 2009

Wow! We really loved this quick and easy pot pie! The convenience of using frozen vegetables and refrigerated pie crust really cut down the prep time. I made this in a 9x13" baking dish and only used (1) package of the pie crusts. After cutting the bottom and top crusts to fit the pan, I used the removed bits to fill in the open areas of the crust. It may not have been pretty, but it worked out fine. Also, I baked it for about 50 minutes to make sure that the bottom crust was done. This made great leftovers for lunch the following day, too. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! **Made for 2014 Football Pool**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill November 26, 2014

I love this recipe and so does my husband! The moment he tasted it he said "omg kfc has nothing on this!" I've made it twice now once the way the recipe states and the second time with the milk and sour cream in place of half and half. I think I liked it better the first time. I use corn starch in place of flour so the filling will be super thick. I didn't do that the second time (I forgot) so maybe that was the big difference in it. Overall this is an amazing recipe and one that I'll be using over and over. Thanks for adding it breezermom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymixon November 06, 2014
Homemade Chicken Pot Pie