42 Reviews

The soup and noodles are well worth the time and effort. Received raves from family.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojoofval September 20, 2002

I made this one day and my husband absolutely loved it! It was so much for just the two of us though, so I gave some to the neighbors who gave me such high compliments on it. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone else.

**Although when I made it, I used packaged egg noddles because I didn't want to make the time to make the noodles. I also used garlic clove spice as opposed to using a fresh one. I also added a square of chicken buillion (I think that's how you spell it), which I think enhanced the taste even more.**

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rup79 December 01, 2011

Therese, thanks for posting! I used two large chicken breast, chicken stock was 99% fat free and no MSG, added one cup of frozen mixed veggies, 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder, did not make noodles I cheated and used store bought then adjusted servings to 6 even though there's only JustME! Its such a soothing soup not heavy nor loaded with oil. Have already added to My Star-Rating Cookbook. Going back for another cup!!!! My stars are not showing up but gave 5 star rating!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justmez2 March 30, 2011

This was so good! There is nothing better than a bowl of homemade noodle soup on a cold day and this was packed with flavour. It was filling and made me feel so good inside! I'll definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 08, 2015

I have been using this soup recipe for years. I always make it with two whole chickens (double the recipe). After the basic soup (prior to noodles) is made I put divide it into 4 parts - 3 freezer containers full of meat and vegetables and a little broth and 1 batch part to eat that night for dinner.<br/><br/>To make the frozen batch, I pop out the frozen food into the pot and add 32 oz of broth, chicken soup seasoning and thaw it out right in the pot. When it is boiling, I add the noodles and I have a "homemade chicken noodle soup in about 20 minutes. It is perfect for a quick meal! Thanks so much for posting an awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaWeb5ter August 19, 2013

"This is my recipe for chicken noodle soup." Plainly stated. No mention of homemade noodles, or broth from scratch. No mention of "Chicken noodle soup like your grandma should have made." My grandma DID make it, and it tasted VERY much like this. No higher praise can I give. I'm sure my grandmother had recipes hidden away somewhere. Never saw her use them much, though. Glad to have a recipe so close to hers, thanks to the chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. October 13, 2012

Really good. I made this on one of those cold winter nights and it hit the spot. I will use this again. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 24, 2012

I've made this twice. The first time exactly as directed. It was a little bland. However, I made some changes the next time and it was much better. 1. add three bay leafs (remove before serving), 2. add tbs dried parsley, 3. add tsp of dried thyme, 4. add 1 cup of milk or cream or half and half at the very end. In addition, you might think about adding other spices to taste after chicken is removed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg: Barrow, Alaska January 30, 2011

Tasted great, but the noodles are very difficult to make. Mine looked awful! But it still tasted great, and I'm sure with more practice I'd make better noodles. Next time though, I may just skip that step and use pasta noodles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrichards January 02, 2011

Wonderful recipe. The noodles turned out great.I baked the chicken and added some extra spices such as fresh oregano, rosemary and tarragon stuffed inside with a lemon. I then soaked the entire chicken in water to diffuse the spices. After simmering, I de-boned and shredded the chicken. With the coming fall weather, this will be made again and again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smurfette the Chef October 05, 2010
Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup