Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      The soup and noodles are well worth the time and effort. Received raves from family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I made this one day and my husband absolutely loved it! It was so much for just the two of us though, so I gave some to the neighbors who gave me such high compliments on it. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone else.

      **Although when I made it, I used packaged egg noddles because I didn't want to make the time to make the noodles. I also used garlic clove spice as opposed to using a fresh one. I also added a square of chicken buillion (I think that's how you spell it), which I think enhanced the taste even more.**

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Therese, thanks for posting! I used two large chicken breast, chicken stock was 99% fat free and no MSG, added one cup of frozen mixed veggies, 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder, did not make noodles I cheated and used store bought then adjusted servings to 6 even though there's only JustME! Its such a soothing soup not heavy nor loaded with oil. Have already added to My Star-Rating Cookbook. Going back for another cup!!!! My stars are not showing up but gave 5 star rating!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      I have been using this soup recipe for years. I always make it with two whole chickens (double the recipe). After the basic soup (prior to noodles) is made I put divide it into 4 parts - 3 freezer containers full of meat and vegetables and a little broth and 1 batch part to eat that night for dinner.<br/><br/>To make the frozen batch, I pop out the frozen food into the pot and add 32 oz of broth, chicken soup seasoning and thaw it out right in the pot. When it is boiling, I add the noodles and I have a "homemade chicken noodle soup in about 20 minutes. It is perfect for a quick meal! Thanks so much for posting an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      "This is my recipe for chicken noodle soup." Plainly stated. No mention of homemade noodles, or broth from scratch. No mention of "Chicken noodle soup like your grandma should have made." My grandma DID make it, and it tasted VERY much like this. No higher praise can I give. I'm sure my grandmother had recipes hidden away somewhere. Never saw her use them much, though. Glad to have a recipe so close to hers, thanks to the chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Really good. I made this on one of those cold winter nights and it hit the spot. I will use this again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I've made this twice. The first time exactly as directed. It was a little bland. However, I made some changes the next time and it was much better. 1. add three bay leafs (remove before serving), 2. add tbs dried parsley, 3. add tsp of dried thyme, 4. add 1 cup of milk or cream or half and half at the very end. In addition, you might think about adding other spices to taste after chicken is removed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Tasted great, but the noodles are very difficult to make. Mine looked awful! But it still tasted great, and I'm sure with more practice I'd make better noodles. Next time though, I may just skip that step and use pasta noodles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Wonderful recipe. The noodles turned out great.I baked the chicken and added some extra spices such as fresh oregano, rosemary and tarragon stuffed inside with a lemon. I then soaked the entire chicken in water to diffuse the spices. After simmering, I de-boned and shredded the chicken. With the coming fall weather, this will be made again and again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Great soup.I pretty much folowed the recipe to a"T" and made the noodles with my kitchenaid pasta roller set.I did not have to add the extra water(4 cups) and I'm not sure why you'd have too.I think it would be very watery if you did as my pot maintained the same amount of liquid that I added.The only thing I added not listed in the ingredients is two tablespoons of Chicken flavored "Better Than Bouillon" which added a much deeper chicken flavor. Thanks Therese !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Very easy to make. My soups never come out the same from batch to batch (some good, some not so good), so I thought I would try an actual recipe. I did alter it slightly. I salted the water and boiled the chicken (used a 3 lb whole chicken and two skinless boneless chicken breasts). Once the water came to a roaring boil, I turned the stove down to low, skimmed the scum off the top (that's what my dad always did - it is hard to get the scum off when all your veggies are in the pot), and covered the pot. After the chicken was done cooking (about an hour if that), I took it out and let it cool. I skimmed the top of the soup again and then added the vegetables and only added one can of broth, and 3 more cups of water. I doubled the amount of carrots and celery (love my veggies), and added two more cloves of garlic. I also added a handful of curly parsley, chopped, and two bay leaves. Once the chicken was cool enough to touch, I cut up the chicken breasts into cubes and shredded the meat from the whole chicken and placed it all back in the pot to cook with the veggies. I turned up the heat to get it to a boil again and then put it on simmer with the lid on. I did not do the noodles as my recipe is slightly different for pasta, which is what we grew up on, but I am sure your noodles are GREAT. I added a little pepper and a dash more salt. This was very easy and very good. Love the addition of the garlic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

    • on January 08, 2010

      The soup part deserves 5+ stars. It was delicious. BF said it was the best he's ever had. For the soup I sauteed the onions and garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I used 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. I also added 2 bay leaves and they really made the flavor pop. I followed the directions for the noodles but really did not like how they came out. I didn't like the taste or the texture so I ended up fishing them all out and adding regular packaged bow tie noodles. The soup and packaged noodles=DELICIOUS. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was really classic & comforting, but I made a few changes that I thought were yummy; I sauteed the garlic & onion in olive oil & added 1/4 C minced fresh parsley & 10 matzo balls 20 min. before serving. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      easy and tasty, what more can you ask for!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Really good. don't skip on making the homemade noodles its worth it and makes this soup FANTASTIC!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Excellent, classic chicken noodle soup. My husband, who is INSANELY picky (to the point of hurting my feelings every now and then) ate two giant bowls of this. I used one can of chicken broth I had in the pantry, and the rest was water. Used three (skin and bone) chicken breasts, sliced the vegetables thickly, and included some broccoli stems because it kills me to throw them away. We make noodles once or twice a week anyway, so I just saved some of the dough (whole wheat this time) from Friday and made wide noodles from that. Cooked the whole thing about three hours and served with French bread right out of the oven, and we are both in complete agreement, this is a winner. Thanks, Therese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I did as another reviewer suggested and just added three chicken bullion cubes to the water instead of broth. I didn't have time to make the noodles, and all I had in the pantry were macaroni noodles, but it was still really good. I will try the homemade noodles next time. Perfect for a cool, fall evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I took this to a woman's group and everyone LOVED it! I usually skim off some of the fat to make it a little lighter, but it is delicious either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Made this last night for sick family. I agree with I think the only other reviewer who actually made the noodles- if you add all 3 cups of flour, you end up with very dry dough that is impossible to work with. I had to throw the first batch away-very frustrating! The second time, I added 2 1/4c flour to make dough, then used some of the rest for dusting work surface, and it came out great. The soup and noodles (corrected) came out fantastic- I added parsely too- great for sick tummies or a cold night. Will definitely make again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.5
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    36%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 59.3 mg
    19%
    Sodium 712.4 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites