Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      This is delicious! It's also just the right consistency. My youngest son is a terribly picky eater, but he asks for this at least once a week. I have only tried it with cheddar, but I think swiss or an Italian blend would also be good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Made this tonight and I thought it was pretty good. I used fresh onion instead of powder and left the salt out of the seasoning packet mixture since I used some Lawrys and salted to taste. Also added black pepper. I used whole wheat macaroni, skim milk, and reduced fat cheddar cheese so it wasn't as creamy as normal hamburger helper but it was still pretty good, especially for being really quick and easy and much healthier. I think next time I might add cayenne and some sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Absolutley wonderful!!!
      I followed the recipe exactly. I did use whole wheat macaroni pasta and the kraft american/cheddar cheese blend. Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      I am making up baggies with the "sauce packet" blend for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This. is. amazing! I cannot believe there are no more reviews than mine and DungeonDeb's. The taste is SPOT-ON to the boxed mix. My mom said it was even better than the boxed Hamburger Helper! We used about 2 cups of Sargento sharp shredded cheddar, and it was fine for us. We will definitely be making this again. Say goodbye to the boxed mix, everyone! You will never buy it again after tasting this. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Yay!!!! I have been craving this for SOOOO long!! Because I've given up so many things I can't even have the gluten free boxed version anymore! (Gluten, corn, casein, soy and all preservatives) Tried it tonight and it was AWESOME!!!! My hubby said it was even better than the original stuff! Here are the things I swapped around...
      Grass-fed ground beef
      Silk Original Almond Milk
      Sheep Cheese (1 1/2 C. of equal parts 3 month Manchego and Cordobes)
      Tinkyada Organic Brown Rice elbow pasta (needs to cook a few min. longer than recipe)
      Bob's Red Mill Unmodified Potato Starch

      I also doubled the onion powder, added some extra paprika, and a tsp. of black pepper.

      I will be making this again!!!! Woo Hoo!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      AMAZING!! This has a nice flavor and even my picky eaters LOVED this recipe.
      I wanted to give it more of a hamburger essence, so I added these ingredients :
      1tbsp. Chopped onion
      1tbsp. Ketchup
      1tsp. Mustard
      substituted regular salt for lawry's seasoning
      1tsp. Brewers yeast (optional) * just to add b-vitamins
      it was PERFECT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      To all those who say it's too bland, try adding different cheeses. I personally can't stand cheddar alone so I always add some american, asiago, or romano. Something to add a more complex flavor and break up the greasy, dullness I taste with cheddar alone. Just my suggestion. Nice and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I doubled it. It just seemed like it was missing something- maybe pepper? So much better then the boxed stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I recently made up 15 of these recipes (noodles & sauce packets) and sent to my daughter. She tried the lasagna, said it smelled wonderful and she added tomato paste, and it was wonderful. Nice gift to give to your working, kids w/busy life styles. Saves them so much time and you know they aren't eating all those chemicals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      Really good meal- I was hunting around for a quick dinner to make and found this recipe. I happened to have all the ingredients in my pantry! It was super easy and fast to make. My entire family loved it- even my husband who isn't a huge mac and cheese fan. My 1 yr old cleared her plate! This is exactly like the box mix but tastes better and not like fake cheese. Plus it feels good to know I controlled the ingredients. I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Awesome recipe!!! Love it, tastes better than the box, easy to make, had everything in my cubbord:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      I really liked this! I didn't have regular paprika, only smoked paprika. It's pretty potent stuff, so cut it down to 1 tsp instead of 2. It added a great twist though. It reheats fairly well but loses some of the sauciness after refrigeration. I love cheese and think next time I will double the amount of cheddar. I did notice that an 8 oz box of macaroni is slightly more than 1 1/2 measured cups which may have contributed to less sauce. I'll experiment with this a bit more. Overall, a good recipe with lots of flexibility! Thank you for a healthy twist to a HH favorite :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      SO flippin' fantastic!! I made this for a friend of mine who was convinced that %u201Cwhole foods%u201D don%u2019t taste as good as crappy packaged/frozen foods. I decided to find a recipe for cheeseburger macaroni hamburger helper and this did not disappoint! The ingredient list is short (yay!) and it%u2019s super quick & easy to make. Not only was my friend WOLFING it down but he%u2019s requested that I make it again! I am now patiently awaiting a from-scratch version of hamburger helper stroganoff from MDMama! *Note: I don't think it matters but I used bowtie pasta (couldn't find organic elbows) and mild cheddar cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Quick and easy, just my style. we enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Update:Made this again,tip to use otherMade this several times, first I made as is. The second time I made it, followed the receipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      I made this in hopes of it tasting like the original hamburger helper. I was disappointed and thought it lacked seasoning. Not sure what I would have done differently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      Great replica of a child hood favorite!! I feel a lot better making the seasoning packet myself and using real cheese than serving my kids the box version!! This is actually better and just as fast!!! Both my kids love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      Super easy! Took 20 minutes start to finish. I love that the pasta cooks in the same skillet as the meat and sauce. Great for a weeknight dinner. My husband loved it! I added the sugar as written, even though I was skeptical. I'm glad I did. Followed the recipe exactly, and I loved how it turned out. Will maybe reduce pasta by a teeny bit because I would like more sauce. I might have added a pinch too much of the cornstarch though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      OH EM GEE this recipe is the best. I followed it exactly except I substituted ground beef for vegetarian soy crumbles and I used soy milk instead of regular milk. Oh, and I also used whole wheat macaroni. It tasted JUST like the real thing! I almost ate the whole pot myself. I will definitely be making this again. It was also super duper easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I have to eat gluten free and my husband loooooves Hamburger Helper so I went online in search of recipes to make a gluten free Hamburger Helper meal and found this recipe! I simply substituted the pasta for Meuller's gluten free pasta and it was AMAZING! I did not think it tasted like the original, out-of-the-box Hamburger Helper but this was sooo much better than it! I have made this twice and both times my husband went back for seconds and finished off the pot....which he never did with Hamburger Helper (I normally had left overs). This recipe does make about the same portion of food as buying a box of Hamburger Helper. Also, I added a little extra cheese because we love cheese here! Highly recommend giving this a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper

    Serving Size: 1 (600 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 961.8
     
    Calories from Fat 441
    45%
    Total Fat 49.0 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 270.5 mg
    90%
    Sodium 1049.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 85.2 g
    170%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites