Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2006

      i found this recipe last year to use our garden tomates. this is wonderful and yummy!! i omited the sugar because i think garden fresh is sweeter than store bought. it still tastes great! thank you for sharing. your are a "magic" recipe fairy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Wow what a great sauce. I made it exactly to the recipe except I pressure canned mine for 15 min at 10 lbs pressure. It turned out fantastic. I not only use this sauce for pizza but I also use it on chicken baked with provolone on top. My dh loves it. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      This is THE BEST pizza sauce I have ever made! I have tried several recipes over the past few years and have always made at least one batch of this. Now, I've decided that this is the only recipe I will make from now on! When I prepare this, I do add 1 (12 oz.) can of tomato paste to add extra body to the sauce. I also freeze the pint jars instead of canning, just to be safe! (Not sure if there's enough acid to safely can this.) Thank you, Recipe Fairy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      This is an excellent pizza sauce! It has enough flavour to notice that it's there, but it isn't overpowering so that the sauce is all you taste. My only regret is that I didn't make several batches. I'm definately going to run out before next summers tomatoes are ready! I cooked mine all afternoon to make it fairly thick-still well worth the effort! Thanks very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      Very easy recipe, although I had a few questions about the ingredients. A) need to know what size of tomatoes or how many pounds to use B) are the herbs fresh or dried. I used about 18 large tomatoes, at least 3" in dia. and I used dried herbs. It turned out great. I only had orange tomatoes which made the sauce "pale" looking but they taste just as good as the red ones!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      This is a keeper recipe. I am making the third batch. I let it cook for several more hours, until it was my desired thickness. It is delicious. My children say it's better than any delivery pizza! Now that is a compliment!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      This pizza sauce is very good. To puree the tomatoes I put them through my food grinder and it worked really well. To save time, I also ran the onion through the grinder and just added it to the tomato puree with the oil and garlic. I simmered the sauce about 1 3/4 hours and then completed the canning process. The little bit that was left provided a good taste. I will definitely make more of this sauce. The only ingredient that I may use less of next time would be the cracked pepper. Other than that, the seasonings were fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      This is really good sauce. I made this using my abundance of tomatoes as we have been on a homemade pizza kick lately. Well, there was some leftover that didn't fit into the jars so I made DS and DH a French bread pizza and this sauce is so good. I loved it. I'm so glad I found your recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This was fabulous! I had 8.5 lbs of roma tomatoes and got about 9 cups of puree. I scaled down the ingredients to 3/4 the total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This is good stuff! I plan to make it again. I got 5 pints from this recipe. I think I'll omit the sugar next time. I used fresh parsley (oh yum!). While it was cooking it smelled up the house wonderfully...had everyone's stomach growling. One pint made 2 pizza's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Delicious! Only comment is that I had to boil it down for about an hour longer than they say. Will be making again next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Great recipe! I took another reviewers suggestion and went with 12 cups of tomato puree. I increased the garlic. I also used my hand blender to whip it smooth before canning. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.4
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    38%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 301.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes