Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2008

      This sauce was awesome. Instead of peeling the tomatoes, I just core them and puree them down in the blender. The skin dissappears, and you save yourself a lot of work! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Absolutely a delicious sauce. I used about 10 lbs of tomatoes = 12 cups of tomato puree. Cooked down the onions and garlic in a bit of water instead of oil. I also upped the acid by adding 1 TBSP of lemon juice to each cup of pureed tomatoes. Will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      A great way to use up some of my garden tomatoes! Both my husband and a friend walked into the house after I'd canned it saying it smelled wonderful like pizza and an Italian restaurant. I don't have a food mill and the blender worked just fine. I canned mine in 8oz jars because that is the amount of sauce I need when making pizza. Thanks. Three months later and want to add that this sauce is wonderful and I will definitely make again next summer. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Chef # 1380981 if your jars sealed your sauce will be fine. If however you still have some concerns all is not at a loss, cook your sauce for a minimum of 25 minutes prior to tasting. The lemon juice would need to be add, 1 tsp per quart, only if you plan to drink it right out of the jar without any further cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I canned 9 pints of this last summer with an abundance of tomatoes, basil, rosemary and parsley from my garden (substituting parsley for the savory). The only herb I didn't have fresh was oregano, but the sauce was still wonderful. I canned it in pints since I usually make 2 pizzas at a time. As the picture implies, it is not a smooth as a store-boughten sauce, but the taste is so much better! Thanks, southern chef. I'll be making more next year, garden permitting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This is really good. I did cook it about 3 hours, and didn't have any summer savory...but did add a bit extra fresh parsley. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Excellent sauce! I had so many tomatoes from my garden that ripened all at once. This recipe helped me use them. I didn't bother peeling the tomatoes; I just cut the tops off, squeezed some juice out and chopped them into large pieces before adding to the pan of sauteed onions and garlic. I didn't have summer savory so I left it out, but increased the sugar to about 1/4 cup. After cooking uncovered for over an hour, I pureed in a blender. Then, I cooked it down for about another 2 hours to thicken it up. Instead of canning, I froze it in small containers. Each container will make about 2 pizzas. My family loved the sauce on homemade pizza.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This is really delicious, fragrant and thick, after cooking it down for a lot longer than the recipe says... However, I read up on acidity and safety in canning *after* I made and canned this and now I'm quite nervous about botulism. The acid added (in the form of lemon juice) doesn't seem like enough to counter the onions (which make the sauce prone to botulism growth). My question is, is this a tested recipe (meaning, has anyone actually tested with a pH kit strip)? Botulism spores cannot be killed with the heat of a boiling water bath (but can be killed using a pressure canner), and can thrive without oxygen. This is why even a proper seal does not guarantee safety. I would have appreciated a note on this recipe about the safety of canning without a pressure cooker. I wish I had just frozen it now, and there would be no concern!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This sauce was delicious, definetly making it agaign this year, will try and add some tomato paste to make it thicker, but it was delicoius :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      very tasty as is

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I've been looking for a pizza sauce recipe to can for a while. I found this receip and everyone LOVES this pizza sauce! I do add about 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it a little kick but that's the only adjustment I have or will make to this recipe. Thanks so much for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I just made this and WOW! I followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to try this. It took 1-1/2 hours to reduce. and thank God for littlehibault's input it saved me a ton of time by pureeing in the blender. I got 6 pints out of this recipe I can tell already I will be making this again for sure, Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Mama Mia! Thatsa delicious sausa! I thought this tasted like the pizza sauce at the local Italian restaurant. I really loved this on pizza and over pasta! So simple to make and makes a lot to save for later, thanks for sharing this sauce recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Well worth the effort! I've never tried canning pizza sauce before, but it was definitely worth it. I only put in a pinch of the cracked pepper, otherwise I followed the ingredient list. Also, I didn't do the hot water bath -- I did my canning open kettle, and it worked fine. The flavor is great, and I will definitely be using this recipe again next year when I have fresh tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I just made a second batch of this because it was such a hit at my house. My picky kids love it!! The only change I made the second time around was to can it in half-pint jars instead of pints. I don't want ANY of it to go to waste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      this is exactly what I was looking for. Its got the perfect taste I wanted. Altho its time consuming, its absolutely worth it. I had some tomatoes extra and was hoping to find something good to do with them. This was definately it. I see a ton of pizza's in our future. I left out the savory, and I used 1/2 pint jars instead of pint sized ones. this is great! thanks a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Just like everyone states.......evxellent recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is AWESOME! We have made several batches of this with our garden tomatoes. I omitted the summer savory however as I couldnt find any in the store. But it sure didnt affect the taste. We love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This is really great sauce, and the flavor for me did not change once it had been canned. I did change the initial method however. I quartered the tomatoes and added the onion and garlic and cooked it all down until soft. I then ran everything through my food mill, added the spices and cooked it down until thick. This way I was able to omit the oil for a fat free sauce. I also reduced the salt, didn't have summer savory, so I added a bit of fennel seed. Loved it and I am so thrilled to have a fat free low sodium sauce that I'm not paying an arm and a leg for. Thank you Southern Chef for sharing the recipe. It is one I am sure to return to every canning season.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I made 2 batches of this sauce after trusting the comments posted here. I was not disappointed. Delicious sauce. I must say that my homegrown tomatoes took lots more time to cook down than the recipe states. Maybe they were just really juicy. It took about 7 hours and I think it should've still cooked longer. I didn't have any summer savory, so I skipped adding it. Not sure how critical it was. I used fresh herbs where I could. I pulsed the onions and garlic in my food processor and it worked well. I pureed the tomatoes in the food processor as well, but I'd use the blender next time. Too messy and you can only do small batches at a time. I blanched the tomatoes (put them in boiling water for a minute or two) to make it easy to remove the skins. Great sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Canned Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.4
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    38%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 301.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites