17 Reviews

OUTSTANDING - excellent flavor. These deserve more than 5 stars!!! Light textured buns, even made with 1/2 whole wheat flour! Since there were no assembling instructions, here's what I did. After step 1, I added salt, sugar, vinegar, wheat germ, and oil to yeast mixture, and mixed 30 seconds. Added oil and mixed 30 seconds. I then added half unbleached flour and mixed to form a soft dough. Then added the remaining flour (whole wheat) one cup at a time, until the dough was stiff. I skipped step 2. Sprayed mixing bowl with Pamcovered with plastic srap, and let dough rise as instructed in step 3. Continued with rising and baking instructions as listed. They were fabulous! I rolled out dough to about 3/4" thickness and cut 24 3-inch rounds. After rising, half the recipe made 24 light 3-1/2" diameter buns 1-3/4" tall. As soon as a friend make me the larger cutter, I can make those X-large hamburger buns in healthy whole wheat. I am pleased to add this recipe to my permanent cookbook. I may never buy hamburger buns again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl October 21, 2003

These turned out pretty good! I made a few changes in preparation, but kept the ingredients the same(I didn't use wheat germ and I used half wheat flour, half white). First I scaled the recipe back to only make 10 buns (instead of 60) and made it in my bread machine. I added the yeast ingredients in the pan first, stirred it together and let it sit for about 1-2 minutes. Then I just dumped the rest in(liquid first, then dry) and set it on the 'dough setting'. As soon as it was done in the ABM, I shaped it into buns and let them rise for the 2 hours. I will definitely make these again! Using the bread machine made them so easy and the taste was good too! Thanks for posting Pamela!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ October 08, 2003

I used this to make Pizza Rollups today. It was great. I found myself wishing I'd made some buns as well just to see how they came out, but the pizza rollup bread was very light, fluffy, just how we like it. As decent bread rolls are like hens teeth here in Fiji, I will be using this recipe often. Thanks Pamela.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU October 10, 2009

These were very easy...used them for buns and pizza pockets. Didn't know how large to make the buns, so I have a few that are going to be like mini loaves of bread...might add something about the size on here. Tasted delicious! Thanks! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2 T, K, K & G September 03, 2006

Pamela, I made these buns today and they were delicious. I scaled the recipe to yield 12 buns (~3 c flour), and used 1 c white whole wheat flour and 1/4 c soy flour with bread flour making up the remainder. I shaped them into long buns for brats (AKA bratwurst, not spoiled kids!), and brushed the top with an egg wash so a sprinkle of poppy or sesame seeds would stick. What a great texture...soft but with substance. Really good. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 24, 2005

These were fun to make. So easy! And they turned out light, and crispy. I used 3/4 ww flour and 1/4 white flour. I let step one sit for 10 min. Then did the rest of the steps. No wheat germ. The way I shape my buns is by pushing/pinching them between my thumb and curved pointer finger (it's kind of hard to explain).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Monica* March 21, 2004

I haven't even tried them yet but they are beautiful. I usually make a butterhorn type roll with eggs but I was in the mood for something a little different. I used all white flour to suit the inlaws and the dough was so smooth and elastic, you just know they are going to be great. I changed the serving to 45 buns so I could make the batch in my KA. I weighed them all (to make them pretty) into 2 oz rolls and got 43. I plan to top them with honey butter as in "You've Got to Be Kidding Me Restaurant Rolls (or Bread)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doughy March 06, 2010

I've been a bread maker for about 8 yrs. Never could find a decent bun recipe though. All started out light but as they cooled they became heavy. Dear Pamela, this is absolutely the best bun recipe on the planet. AND I am very picky. I did cut the recipe in half though because there is only two of us. I followed Beach Girls instructions for rolling and cutting. Next time I'll use Whole Wheat Mixed with White to try. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ripley February 23, 2010

Very nice. They were light and had a good flavor. I halved the recipe and it made 2 dozen dinner rolls and a small loaf of bread shaped like a loaf of Italian bread. I used all white flour but I did use the wheat germ. This will definitely be my go to recipe for dinner rolls. Oh gosh. I made a couple different shapes. The one I had tasted when I reviewed were 3 little balls of dough in a muffin tin so it ended up being a little cloverleaf shape. The next shape was just a ball of dough a bit larger than a golf ball baked on a cookie sheet. The second type really showed off the lightness of this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann December 05, 2009

I love making my own buns. Still working on getting my shaping just right but The family loves these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CurlyCass April 04, 2009
Homemade Buns