Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Buns

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2003

      OUTSTANDING - excellent flavor. These deserve more than 5 stars!!! Light textured buns, even made with 1/2 whole wheat flour! Since there were no assembling instructions, here's what I did. After step 1, I added salt, sugar, vinegar, wheat germ, and oil to yeast mixture, and mixed 30 seconds. Added oil and mixed 30 seconds. I then added half unbleached flour and mixed to form a soft dough. Then added the remaining flour (whole wheat) one cup at a time, until the dough was stiff. I skipped step 2. Sprayed mixing bowl with Pamcovered with plastic srap, and let dough rise as instructed in step 3. Continued with rising and baking instructions as listed. They were fabulous! I rolled out dough to about 3/4" thickness and cut 24 3-inch rounds. After rising, half the recipe made 24 light 3-1/2" diameter buns 1-3/4" tall. As soon as a friend make me the larger cutter, I can make those X-large hamburger buns in healthy whole wheat. I am pleased to add this recipe to my permanent cookbook. I may never buy hamburger buns again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      These turned out pretty good! I made a few changes in preparation, but kept the ingredients the same(I didn't use wheat germ and I used half wheat flour, half white). First I scaled the recipe back to only make 10 buns (instead of 60) and made it in my bread machine. I added the yeast ingredients in the pan first, stirred it together and let it sit for about 1-2 minutes. Then I just dumped the rest in(liquid first, then dry) and set it on the 'dough setting'. As soon as it was done in the ABM, I shaped it into buns and let them rise for the 2 hours. I will definitely make these again! Using the bread machine made them so easy and the taste was good too! Thanks for posting Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I used this to make Pizza Rollups today. It was great. I found myself wishing I'd made some buns as well just to see how they came out, but the pizza rollup bread was very light, fluffy, just how we like it. As decent bread rolls are like hens teeth here in Fiji, I will be using this recipe often. Thanks Pamela.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      These were fun to make. So easy! And they turned out light, and crispy. I used 3/4 ww flour and 1/4 white flour. I let step one sit for 10 min. Then did the rest of the steps. No wheat germ. The way I shape my buns is by pushing/pinching them between my thumb and curved pointer finger (it's kind of hard to explain).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I haven't even tried them yet but they are beautiful. I usually make a butterhorn type roll with eggs but I was in the mood for something a little different. I used all white flour to suit the inlaws and the dough was so smooth and elastic, you just know they are going to be great. I changed the serving to 45 buns so I could make the batch in my KA. I weighed them all (to make them pretty) into 2 oz rolls and got 43. I plan to top them with honey butter as in "You've Got to Be Kidding Me Restaurant Rolls (or Bread)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I've been a bread maker for about 8 yrs. Never could find a decent bun recipe though. All started out light but as they cooled they became heavy. Dear Pamela, this is absolutely the best bun recipe on the planet. AND I am very picky. I did cut the recipe in half though because there is only two of us. I followed Beach Girls instructions for rolling and cutting. Next time I'll use Whole Wheat Mixed with White to try. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Very nice. They were light and had a good flavor. I halved the recipe and it made 2 dozen dinner rolls and a small loaf of bread shaped like a loaf of Italian bread. I used all white flour but I did use the wheat germ. This will definitely be my go to recipe for dinner rolls. Oh gosh. I made a couple different shapes. The one I had tasted when I reviewed were 3 little balls of dough in a muffin tin so it ended up being a little cloverleaf shape. The next shape was just a ball of dough a bit larger than a golf ball baked on a cookie sheet. The second type really showed off the lightness of this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I love making my own buns. Still working on getting my shaping just right but The family loves these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      These turned out great!! I cut the recipe in half and got 16 large hamburger buns and 6 dinner rolls. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Hey Pamela! I have never tried to make bread like this before but this was a very good recipe- I did cut it in 1/4 to make a smaller batch- Just curious if I should have cut the yeast mixture -it seems they didn't rise as well as the ones in the pictures. I also tried what "Heather U" suggested and added sesame seeds. The family really enjoyed them especially with "ravensmith"s Pasta E Fagioli in a crockpot recipe. Have a Blessed Day!! 1 Cor.15:57

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Very nice. I'm not the best with yeast breads, but this was not very difficult and came out well. I used them to make Ham Calzones so I only got about 20 buns out of this, plus all the calzones. I froze some for a quick meal later. Thanks Pamela, and thanks to the older generation who taught you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      These buns were excellent. I scaled it down to 20 buns and followed the directions pretty closely. One batch I made with all white flour and the other with 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat. Both were very light and tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Amazing, delicious bun recipe! My DH made these for our family, his first foray into bun making. He used whole wheat flour and they turned out light and fluffy. We love them! Thanks Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Outstanding rolls!!! We were planning ribeye sandwiches, and I wanted to have homemade hoagie rolls. I used this recipe, cut down to 15 rolls. I used my bread machine, with about 3 1/2 cups of flour. I made two hoagie-sized rolls, and the rest more dinner-roll sized, maybe the dough was the size of a large golf ball. I got the two hoagies and 10 rolls, two of which we ate the second they came out!! Next time I might try letting the dough rise twice before shaping, for even more yeastiness. I also want to try some whole wheat. Wowza, thanks Pamela!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      These were very easy...used them for buns and pizza pockets. Didn't know how large to make the buns, so I have a few that are going to be like mini loaves of bread...might add something about the size on here. Tasted delicious! Thanks! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      these were so easy! I can't believe I made them, they are soo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Pamela, I made these buns today and they were delicious. I scaled the recipe to yield 12 buns (~3 c flour), and used 1 c white whole wheat flour and 1/4 c soy flour with bread flour making up the remainder. I shaped them into long buns for brats (AKA bratwurst, not spoiled kids!), and brushed the top with an egg wash so a sprinkle of poppy or sesame seeds would stick. What a great texture...soft but with substance. Really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (3220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.7
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    25%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 175.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites