Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Bulk Italian Sausage, Chicago Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Bulk Italian Sausage, Chicago Style

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2014

      Fantastic! What a great recipe. My DH said I don't know why you buy prepared Italian sausage when you can make it better. I did a half recipe for some stuffed jalapenos. The fennel is a must. If you have ground pork and the seasonings, try it, you'll like it. Thank You for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Thanks for this great Italian sausage recipe. I have tried many before this one and most fell short on flavor. Your recipe certainly is the best by far in flavor. I used non lean turkey meat for the sausage and it turned out delicious. Used it on pizza and as patties on grilled sandwiches . I can't wait to try the recipe with lean pork. Definitely not your sweet Italian spice but a bold Italian flavor rich with paprika color and satisfying taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      I made this with ground beef, fresh garlic, and I did reduce the salt. It had exactly the flavor I was looking for! So delicious, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Made this recipe spur of the moment, so was missing a couple of the seasonings. I thought the flavor created by the combination of spices was really good. (I only used about 2 tsp paprika). The salt, though was way too much! I like salty food, but I don't usually measure it when I cook. 1 1/2 tsp seemed like a lot, but since I don't usually measure on meat, I went with it. I felt it was so salty that you could almost feel the salt crunch. That said, I will probably try this recipe again with much less salt because I did like the flavor I could get until the salt took over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Thank you for this recipe!!! I haven't eaten sausage in a long time because it's filled with so much fat and calories, but I used lean ground turkey to make this and it tasted just like regular Italian sausage. I'm from Chicago, so the fact that this is Chicago-style sausage makes the recipe even better. I'll be making this a lot :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This is a tasty, savory, slightly spicy sausage.....not the sweet Italian kind, which is what I had hoped for.....but good in its own right. I'll definitely make this again when I'm in the mood for a savory sausage. Followed the directions exactly except omitted the salt since I'm on a low-sodium diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Thank You sooo much!!!!!!! I am in Japan and needed Italian sausage recipe for pizza and pasta. I was buying it in bulk from an Italian restaurant here but it was awesome but really expensive, were paying about 1,300 Yen ( about 13 bucks) per lb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I thought the seasonings were just right for this sausage. I'm no expert on "Italian" or otherwise when it comes to sausage flavors, but I used this with a pasta dish and it was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Bulk Italian Sausage, Chicago Style

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.7
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    71%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1250.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites