Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Brown Sugar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Brown Sugar

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      I use this alot because it is economical. I like to use less molasses also and to make ahead to keep in ziplock bags. I recommend this quite often simply because it"s easy, budget friendly and good. Thank you for saving me alot of money and trips to grocery stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      YEAH!!! Tasted just the same as store bought, I had some bananas in the freezer (I stick them in there when they start to go bad) and I defrosted them overnight knowing their viability was limited, I started my banana bread as soon as the kids and hubby left this morning and wouldn't you know it no brown sugar, being a 1 car household my only hope of getting some was hubby bringing it home with him 13 hours from now and baking well into the night! You saved my hide and my banana bread!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      MaeEast you are a lifesaver! I was in the middle of making Marie's Slice and Bake Chocolate Chip Cookies, #121571, when I discovered I was out of brown sugar. (I'm about 15 miles from the nearest grocery store). This worked out very well and I believe made the cookies even a bit softer than usual. The dough had a pretty strong molasses flavor at first, but after it chilled awhile it lost it. Thanks again for the great rescue recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      I've used this recipe with 2 T molasses for years for light brown sugar. I use 4 T molasses for dark brown sugar. Both are great and I prefer over store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This is better tasting than real brown sugar. If I'm feeling too lazy to mix the molasses with the sugar for a recipe, I just add the molasses to the wet ingredients. It saves about 5 minutes of mixing by hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Excellent. Makes all my baking good delicious and moist. Thank you for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I used this in my baked beans and it worked out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Sorry, I meant to rate this a long time ago!! This was great, I used it for Monkey Bread and noone ever knew the difference! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      this works really good.i didn't put the full 2 tbsp cuz i don't like molasses

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      works great thank u so much !!! perfect :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I have deffinately done this before! Every Christmas I always seem to run out of brown sugar, and purely because of laziness I make this instead of going to the store. Great recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Saved my butt with this. Of course on a rainy baking day I am out of brown sugar. This saved my cookies. I only needed 1/2 a cup so I halfed the recipe..You can't tell the difference at all. Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Loved this recipe. Comes in handy in a pinch. thans for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      Your a life saver! I'm down in Mexico and have been unable to find brown sugar. I've tried other substitue recipes before, but this one is right on! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This is simply amazing. I always buy 'golden' sugar because I don't care for the taste of the darker one. This recipe makes the most beautiful caramel coloured sugar I've ever seen. But that's not all....the taste is wonderful!!! 10 Stars for this one. I keep going into the canister, just to feel it. It's almost comforting, it's so soft. I'll NEVER buy brown sugar again. I made a 2 cup batch and followed the advise of a previous reviewer, and used a mixer. Amazing....I already said that didn't I. :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Love this recipe. So easy!! Plus it won't harden up on you. You make it as you need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This worked great in a cookie recipe. I think I like it better. I used black strap molasses. I don't shop with a grocery list so I'm a huge fan of substitutions:LOL: This one works! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Great recipe to use in a pinch. I use dark molasses which really seems to give it that 'brown' taste, though regular works well too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I'vebeen uxing a lot of brown sugar for my fund raising cookies lately and jsut bought some yesterday , i wish I didn't, but never again. I love clever tips and short cuts like this recipe. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      That's awesome ! brown sugar is sooo expensive in France, and not as good as the one you can buy in America ! Thank you very much for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Brown Sugar

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 890.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    44%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 229.8 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 221.8 g
    887%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites