Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Brown Sugar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Brown Sugar

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2010

      I usually do 1 T molasses to 1 c. of sugar. I've even taken this a step further and I do not even mix the sugar and molasses together first for most recipes (banana bread, barbeque sauce, etc.). As long as the sugar and molasses are going to be mixed together in the recipe anyway, I just toss in white sugar and molasses into the recipe when I would normally add the brown sugar. It eliminates having to make it up before hand, and also the packing. If the recipe calls for 1/2 c. packed brown sugar, for example, I add a level 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 T molasses. I have not found it to affect the texture, but I haven't tried with chocolate chip cookies or something where the texture is more susceptible. BWT this "recipe," brought up by a google search on brown sugar substitutes when all the babies were in bed and I couldn't go to the store, is what first introduced me to Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      This turned out great, I'll never have to worry about running out of brown sugar again! So easy and handy! Thanks Mae!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      I've been making brown sugar using this formula for about three years. I agree with the reviewer who said you don't need to mix it in advance for most uses, but I keep some mixed up in the freezer for when I want it for streusel and that sort of thing. Brown sugar does not dry out nearly as quickly in the freezer, sealed well of course. I keep a glass container with a screw top just for brown sugar.<br/><br/>I change the formula sometimes when I want more or less molasses flavor, to go from light brown to darker brown sugar. I accidentally used blackstrap molasses one time. I loved the interesting flavor it added, but I doubt most people would.<br/><br/>Works a charm. Thanks for this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I must say I usually don't comment on recipes However-this turned out so good! I made this and I think my Banana Bread is the best I ever made! Thank you for sharing this!!! A

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Perfect! I needed something in a pinch, and this did the trick. I also read online that you can reduce the amount of white sugar you need by a tablespoon. For every cup of brown sugar use a cup of white sugar (minus 1 tablespoon) add a tablespoon of molasses. This saved me from having to make it in advance, but now that I know the trick I don't think I'll waste the money buying brown sugar. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      This recipe didn't work at all for me. I ran out of brown sugar while trying to make oatmeal cookies. Using this sugar in its place, my cookies were darker, bitter, flat and burned too easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      You saved my bacon- or rather- zucchini cake. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      Perfect! Amazing! Life saver! Thanks MaeEast! I'm thinking maybe mixing it in a zip lock bag--I didn't this time, but maybe... :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Awsome recipe!!! I was craving chocolate chip cookies and didnt have any brown sugar or chocolate chips then I found this recipe and subed the chocolate chips for plain m

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      This is just the recipe for brown sugar, not really a substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I don't ever buy brown sugar now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Thanks! You saved dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I'll add one more: This was a life saver!! And easy. At first, the smell of the molasses was really strong when I mixed it with the sugar. I thought it might overpower the cookies I was making. NOT AT ALL. The cookies turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was a life saver!!! I was in the middle of baking when I relized I forgot to buy more brown sugar...UGH! But I used this recipe and it worked great. Thank You so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      A great life saver.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Exactly what I needed when I discovered I was short a 1/4 cup of brown sugar for the chocolate chip cookies I'd promised to make my family tonight. Worked like a charm, after a minute or so of mixing I couldn't tell which was the original brown sugar, and which was the stuff I'd just made. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This is fantastic. I was making cherry crisp and did't have brown sugar. What a lifesaver. Thanks, MaeEast!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This is a lifesaver. Thank you for posting this wonderful sub. I made half a recipe to make Baked Peach Oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      So useful! If you're using blackstrap molasses, you might need a little less molasses unless you like really dark brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Worked out perfectly! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Brown Sugar

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 890.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    44%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 229.8 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 221.8 g
    887%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites