54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I usually do 1 T molasses to 1 c. of sugar. I've even taken this a step further and I do not even mix the sugar and molasses together first for most recipes (banana bread, barbeque sauce, etc.). As long as the sugar and molasses are going to be mixed together in the recipe anyway, I just toss in white sugar and molasses into the recipe when I would normally add the brown sugar. It eliminates having to make it up before hand, and also the packing. If the recipe calls for 1/2 c. packed brown sugar, for example, I add a level 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 T molasses. I have not found it to affect the texture, but I haven't tried with chocolate chip cookies or something where the texture is more susceptible. BWT this "recipe," brought up by a google search on brown sugar substitutes when all the babies were in bed and I couldn't go to the store, is what first introduced me to Zaar!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendiMommyOf3 April 19, 2010

This turned out great, I'll never have to worry about running out of brown sugar again! So easy and handy! Thanks Mae!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 16, 2003

I've been making brown sugar using this formula for about three years. I agree with the reviewer who said you don't need to mix it in advance for most uses, but I keep some mixed up in the freezer for when I want it for streusel and that sort of thing. Brown sugar does not dry out nearly as quickly in the freezer, sealed well of course. I keep a glass container with a screw top just for brown sugar.<br/><br/>I change the formula sometimes when I want more or less molasses flavor, to go from light brown to darker brown sugar. I accidentally used blackstrap molasses one time. I loved the interesting flavor it added, but I doubt most people would.<br/><br/>Works a charm. Thanks for this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane/NM July 04, 2014

I must say I usually don't comment on recipes However-this turned out so good! I made this and I think my Banana Bread is the best I ever made! Thank you for sharing this!!! A

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie741 October 01, 2012

Perfect! I needed something in a pinch, and this did the trick. I also read online that you can reduce the amount of white sugar you need by a tablespoon. For every cup of brown sugar use a cup of white sugar (minus 1 tablespoon) add a tablespoon of molasses. This saved me from having to make it in advance, but now that I know the trick I don't think I'll waste the money buying brown sugar. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe September 12, 2010

This recipe didn't work at all for me. I ran out of brown sugar while trying to make oatmeal cookies. Using this sugar in its place, my cookies were darker, bitter, flat and burned too easily.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casey Clark April 17, 2004

You saved my bacon- or rather- zucchini cake. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex September 16, 2003

Perfect! Amazing! Life saver! Thanks MaeEast! I'm thinking maybe mixing it in a zip lock bag--I didn't this time, but maybe... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao September 11, 2003

I never use brown sugar. white sugar and molasses is far better, in my opinion. it works perfectly in chocolate chip cookies. I generally and a tad more molasses when I make chocolate chip cookies and it makes a chewier, richer tasting cookie. like a previous commenter said, I don't mix the the molasses and sugar together first, I just add them individually to the recipe. I have never had a problem doing this. the best part is you never have to pack the brown sugar. or open your box of brown sugar and decide discover moisture has converted into a brown brick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen A. April 18, 2015

Awsome recipe!!! I was craving chocolate chip cookies and didnt have any brown sugar or chocolate chips then I found this recipe and subed the chocolate chips for plain m

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alpha C. September 07, 2014
Homemade Brown Sugar