11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much for your recipe! I was planning on making chicken parm tonight and my store bought crumbs just expired! This was so easy and delicious to make. I had to write a review before I started dinner. :) I tried making it crunchier by toasting my refrigerated bread till it was hard, then blended it. Threw 1/3 cup of butter, salt, pepper, dried rosemary, oregano and basil. It smells so delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audreyu8 August 12, 2011

Thank you!! I had a loaf of gluten free bread go bad in my bread machine and used this recipe to make that brick of bread into the best gluten free bread crumbs I've ever made! Fast, easy and yummy. You saved the day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctoeller2_7212049 May 17, 2011

Great recipe and super easy. I used a half of a loaf of bread that was too stale to use for sandwiches and was glad to not have to throw it out, and also to not have to buy bread crumbs to make crab cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandy_lhs June 24, 2010

This was also a first for me and it's a great recipe. I also made 1/4 of the recipe. I needed some Italian bread crumbs for another recipe so I added salt, parsley, garlic powder, onion powder, sugar and oregano from another recipe I found on here from aroostock (hope I spelled that right). I got 4 cups of bread crumbs that are the best! Thanks for posting. I'll be making a bag of plain ones tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY November 06, 2009

Easy, quick and pretty tasty from ingredients I usually have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel May 25, 2009

We really liked this recipe! I have made my own in the past by making croutons & then crushing them. This was way faster! I made the whole batch per recipe & it turned out to be a very full stock pot full of breadcrumbs, making the stirring a little more work than I had expected. But we love that they are homemade & we have them on hand now. Thanks for posting, sugarpea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** December 16, 2007

Thanks for this life-saver! Worked perfectly for my recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog November 07, 2006

This was my first time making breadcrumbs and this was a great recipe. I made 1/4 of this recipe using a stale 1/2 loaf of white bread. I added 1 tbsp of italian seasoning instead of the salt and pepper. It made about 4 cups for me. Thanks! I will make the full recipe in the future and not buy bread crumbs anymore, these were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes December 05, 2005

A very tasty batch of breadcrumbs. Will reduce butter by half (personal taste). Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption June 09, 2004
Homemade Bread Crumbs