Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Bread Crumbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Bread Crumbs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2011

      Thank you so much for your recipe! I was planning on making chicken parm tonight and my store bought crumbs just expired! This was so easy and delicious to make. I had to write a review before I started dinner. :) I tried making it crunchier by toasting my refrigerated bread till it was hard, then blended it. Threw 1/3 cup of butter, salt, pepper, dried rosemary, oregano and basil. It smells so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Thank you!! I had a loaf of gluten free bread go bad in my bread machine and used this recipe to make that brick of bread into the best gluten free bread crumbs I've ever made! Fast, easy and yummy. You saved the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Great recipe and super easy. I used a half of a loaf of bread that was too stale to use for sandwiches and was glad to not have to throw it out, and also to not have to buy bread crumbs to make crab cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This was also a first for me and it's a great recipe. I also made 1/4 of the recipe. I needed some Italian bread crumbs for another recipe so I added salt, parsley, garlic powder, onion powder, sugar and oregano from another recipe I found on here from aroostock (hope I spelled that right). I got 4 cups of bread crumbs that are the best! Thanks for posting. I'll be making a bag of plain ones tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Easy, quick and pretty tasty from ingredients I usually have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

    • on December 16, 2007

      We really liked this recipe! I have made my own in the past by making croutons & then crushing them. This was way faster! I made the whole batch per recipe & it turned out to be a very full stock pot full of breadcrumbs, making the stirring a little more work than I had expected. But we love that they are homemade & we have them on hand now. Thanks for posting, sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Thanks for this life-saver! Worked perfectly for my recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      This was my first time making breadcrumbs and this was a great recipe. I made 1/4 of this recipe using a stale 1/2 loaf of white bread. I added 1 tbsp of italian seasoning instead of the salt and pepper. It made about 4 cups for me. Thanks! I will make the full recipe in the future and not buy bread crumbs anymore, these were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      A very tasty batch of breadcrumbs. Will reduce butter by half (personal taste). Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Good breadcrumb recipe! I made a half batch of these and then used them on my favorite eggplant recipe, Evelync's Crispy Fried Eggplant #60764. Thanks Sugarpea, I'll be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Bread Crumbs

    Serving Size: 1 (1027 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1877.8
     
    Calories from Fat 946
    50%
    Total Fat 105.2 g
    161%
    Saturated Fat 61.1 g
    305%
    Cholesterol 244.0 mg
    81%
    Sodium 2854.3 mg
    118%
    Total Carbohydrate 202.5 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites