37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful. I am southern and am embarassed to say that every time I have ever tried to make buscuits they came out like little rocks. They could have easily been considered lethal weapons. Thank you so much for posting. Very easy and very good.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie LaBrake March 08, 2003

These biscuits were very good, cheap and easy. I followed the recipe exactly and turned out good. I made the biscuits about 3 inches in diameter and about 1/2 inch thick. I was able to get about 9 biscuits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turkjen March 27, 2013

I just made these biscuits and they were great!! I used butter flavor crisco in them and they were light and fluffy...also browned really nice. This is my new biscuit recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sporty September 20, 2008

That's a great recipe! I used melted butter instead of shortening and it worked alright. Very easy, yet delicious. I'm very happy that I've found this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
isadora.m August 05, 2013

Just made them and they were perfect for us my family loved them . thank you very much for sharing it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommaof8 April 13, 2013

I have never made biscuits before.....heck, I have a hard enough time making JIFFY corn muffins....LOL. I recently purchased some sausage patties and wanted to have sausage and gravy over biscuits, so I said let me give it a shot. I followed the recipe and instead of using shortening, I used 4 tbsp of margarine per cup of flour. When adding the milk, I made sure that the batter was pretty wet. I kneeded the dough with my hands, not using a rolling pin, (as what alot of other recipes required) careful not to over knead. I baked until a toothpick came out clean and I must say that these biscuits taste like they were southern made. "Thank You" for this recipe, cant wait to go through the website and see what else there is.....)(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kedwards224 January 29, 2013

I don't think this actually makes 12 biscuits, unless they are very small. The 450 degrees listed in the instructions seems very excessive for 12 small biscuits, which may be why so many reviewers ended up with hockey pucks.

I didn't knead the dough, I added about a teaspoon of sugar, and a tablespoon of butter in addition to the shortening. They were still pretty bland, but there was a hint of biscuit taste in there. I baked them at 400 for 10 minutes. They looked more like cookies (two looked like actual biscuits), but they were a good texture.

I would recommend adding butter and sugar to taste, and letting the dough sit for a little bit to allow the shortening and butter soften more. The best biscuits of the bunch came from the dough that sat longer, and had a glass to them. DO NOT KNEAD. Baking them between 350-400 is sufficient, for about 10 to 12 minutes.

I give this 3 stars because it's a decent base recipe, but it definitely needs tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coriander39 January 22, 2013

This recipe was disappointing. It is extremely simple as described in previous comments, but fails to deliver on flavor and texture. The biscuits tasted exactly as you would imagine based on the ingredients - flour and shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
italianswife January 04, 2013

These were great, however the above recipe did not produce 12 and I think I made mine a little too thin. However they were wonderful, added a little bit of sugar and melted butter with a little sugar to brush on top. Yummy. Just wanted to say I didnt knead the mixture just stirred until I had a dough ball and patted them out. I think kneading is what makes them hard. Thanks for the recipe, will definitely make these again and this time will make sure they are at least half an inch before baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
learning_n_loving September 13, 2012

A good quick and easy biscuit recipe. For my oven 12 minutes baking time is right on. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker October 01, 2011
Homemade Biscuits