Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2003

      These are wonderful. I am southern and am embarassed to say that every time I have ever tried to make buscuits they came out like little rocks. They could have easily been considered lethal weapons. Thank you so much for posting. Very easy and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      These biscuits were very good, cheap and easy. I followed the recipe exactly and turned out good. I made the biscuits about 3 inches in diameter and about 1/2 inch thick. I was able to get about 9 biscuits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I just made these biscuits and they were great!! I used butter flavor crisco in them and they were light and fluffy...also browned really nice. This is my new biscuit recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      That's a great recipe! I used melted butter instead of shortening and it worked alright. Very easy, yet delicious. I'm very happy that I've found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Just made them and they were perfect for us my family loved them . thank you very much for sharing it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I have never made biscuits before.....heck, I have a hard enough time making JIFFY corn muffins....LOL. I recently purchased some sausage patties and wanted to have sausage and gravy over biscuits, so I said let me give it a shot. I followed the recipe and instead of using shortening, I used 4 tbsp of margarine per cup of flour. When adding the milk, I made sure that the batter was pretty wet. I kneeded the dough with my hands, not using a rolling pin, (as what alot of other recipes required) careful not to over knead. I baked until a toothpick came out clean and I must say that these biscuits taste like they were southern made. "Thank You" for this recipe, cant wait to go through the website and see what else there is.....)(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I don't think this actually makes 12 biscuits, unless they are very small. The 450 degrees listed in the instructions seems very excessive for 12 small biscuits, which may be why so many reviewers ended up with hockey pucks.

      I didn't knead the dough, I added about a teaspoon of sugar, and a tablespoon of butter in addition to the shortening. They were still pretty bland, but there was a hint of biscuit taste in there. I baked them at 400 for 10 minutes. They looked more like cookies (two looked like actual biscuits), but they were a good texture.

      I would recommend adding butter and sugar to taste, and letting the dough sit for a little bit to allow the shortening and butter soften more. The best biscuits of the bunch came from the dough that sat longer, and had a glass to them. DO NOT KNEAD. Baking them between 350-400 is sufficient, for about 10 to 12 minutes.

      I give this 3 stars because it's a decent base recipe, but it definitely needs tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      This recipe was disappointing. It is extremely simple as described in previous comments, but fails to deliver on flavor and texture. The biscuits tasted exactly as you would imagine based on the ingredients - flour and shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      These were great, however the above recipe did not produce 12 and I think I made mine a little too thin. However they were wonderful, added a little bit of sugar and melted butter with a little sugar to brush on top. Yummy. Just wanted to say I didnt knead the mixture just stirred until I had a dough ball and patted them out. I think kneading is what makes them hard. Thanks for the recipe, will definitely make these again and this time will make sure they are at least half an inch before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      A good quick and easy biscuit recipe. For my oven 12 minutes baking time is right on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I just made these, and they are pretty good, other than being a bit hard, which was probably my fault, I think they taste great for my first attempt at home made biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Followed recipe as written. Was rewarded with hockey pucks. Don't know where I went wrong, but my baking proficiency has been described as excellent. I'll cover with a little sausage gravy and chow down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      great biscuits

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      These were very good biscuits, I took @DeboraHumphries advice and added 2 teaspoons of sugar so they'd go well with strawberries! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Wonderful biscuits, I simply added 2 teaspoons of sugar. These are Great! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Yummy! Loved them so!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These biscuits were okay and worked well with pear sauce (like applesauce) for breakfast. And they were easier than most to make. But, on their own, I think they could use a little bit more flavor. Maybe it would help to add just a little sugar or something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      my mom used to bake these in her iron skillet, with a tsp. of melted butter on the tops to help with browning. yum..i can almost smell them right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Wasn't the best I've ever had, but definately a quick recipe to some biscuits that taste good when you are in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Very easy to make and yummy!!! Ultimate comfort food...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.3
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    30%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 194.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites