8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thankyou so much forthis recipe! So many recipeson Zaar call for Bisquik, and we don't have that in Australia. I used your recipe as a substitute tonight, and it worked perfectly! I'm going to buy some buttermilk tomorrow, to try the mix as actual biscuits! ********************************************* UPDATE: I wish I could give this another 5 stars! I just used the remaining mix to actually make the biscuits, and they are amazing! This is only the second time I have made biscuits, but this recipe is unbeatable! I used the mix I made 1 month ago. I had it stored in the fridge, and it has kept just fine. I had to microwave it for 15 seconds to soften the shortening (I used copha) and then I mixed in 1/2 cup of buttermilk. Perfect biscuits!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 February 09, 2009

Of all the biscut mix recipes here, this was one of the simplest. I used this to substitute for Bisquick in a cornbread recipe (#83483), & the results were spectacular. I seldom use Bisquick so I am thrilled to have a fast & easy substitute. I halved the recipe, but still have enough left to make the biscuits. Thanks Darlene!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B February 23, 2004

I used this recipie to make a TON of biscuits to freeze. And for the casing to some biscuit pockets. Both are great. This has become a staple in my kitchen.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i8ntproverbs31 March 03, 2007

This was fantastic! I made this up last night, but I used butter instead of shortening (what I had). My family raved about these and requested more tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smileyone March 16, 2011

Thank you I am saving this recipe and am going to try it and rate it as soon as I buy some powdered milk lol. FYI I make biscuits from Bisquick and use Buttermilk in place of water and they are soooooo good. Almost as good as my moms southern homemade buttermilk biscuits. Thank you again. I shall return.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell September 12, 2008

I didn't make the biscuits but needed a substitute for Bisquick. Thanks! This was quick, easy and totally fit the bill. Now to try the biscuits! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k June 27, 2008

Made this last year to take with us on holiday in our camper - forgot to rate (sorry!). Just made another batch to take away this year! We don't really use this in the UK, so it was a bit of an experiment - brilliant!! Used it for courgette fritters, pancakes...loads of grub!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave July 19, 2007

I tried this in Savory Scones, and it worked great. I think it was better than the Bisquick type mix I had been using. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G August 21, 2011
Homemade Biscuit Mix ( Substitute / Copycat / Clone )