Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Beef Stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Beef Stock

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2002

      We didn't like it very much, just not much flavor, I followed the directions to a T, just expected More Flavor from this. Okay, not bad, just expecting too much from this I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Great in French Onion Soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      It smelled absolutely wonderful when it was roasting and even better when it was simmering. I used mutton bones as I couldn't get beef bones. Poured the good stuff from the roasting pan into the stockpot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I adore this recipe, roasting is TOTALLY the wasy to go. I love the deep dark flavor that I get. I place 2 cups in zip freezer bags, squeeze out any air then freeze flat on a cookie sheet, when firm I stack them like files in my freezer for easy use,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      MilleR! Thanks for this simple no-nonsense recipe for beef stock. It makes great use of the beef bones I get in abundance with our side of beef. I didn't change anything - simmered stovetop for 5 hours. I am using it to make a spicy homemade beef & veggie soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This recipe was awsome. I roasted the bones for about 1 hour in a huge metal stock pot. After 1 hour I brushed them with tomato paste till well covered. I simmered the stock for about 6 hours after adding fresh herbs and vegetables. Roasting the bones in the stock pot kept every bit of flavor in the stock. I got 4 large and 3 small mason jars. It made the best French Onion Soup my family has ever had.... I am making it again tomorrow :):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Roasting beef bones is the best way to make stock dark, rich, and flavorful. I like to roast large chunks of onions, leeks, carrots, and celery right in the same roasting pan along with the bones. As moisture comes out of the veggies, the flavors are more intense. Be sure to glaze the roasting pan when done with a little cold water. Dissolve all of those brown flavorful "crispies". Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This was my first attempt at making beef stock from bones. It turned out great! I rubbed the bones with a little tomato paste before roasting which added another layer of flavor to the stock. Then I followed the instructions, using the crockpot method, letting it cook 22 hours until it was brown and aromatic. I couldn't believe how rich and flavorful it was with basically no work. I used 4 cups of the stock for Miller's Crock Pot French Onion Soup #19515 and it was fantastic. Try this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Miller, this produced a lovely, dark brown, fragrant stock. I used four large beef marrow bones (next time, though, will get butcher to cut each bone into smaller pieces), and added mushrooms and extra onions as I couldn't find leeks at my grocery store. I simmered the stock for about 5 - 7 hours and the depth of flavor was just excellent. I think that roasting the bones first is really the key to getting the flavor to truly develop. I ended up with about 9 cups of stock. Next time, I might add some wine to the stock, too. This will be the recipe I use to make stock from now on. Thanks, Miller...it's a winner in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Beef Stock

    Serving Size: 1 (448 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 644.2
     
    Calories from Fat 580
    90%
    Total Fat 64.5 g
    99%
    Saturated Fat 26.7 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 89.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 59.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsley stems

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes