57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would like to add some advise after making this a few times. 1st. Its important to cut your strip with the grain of the meat. 2nd. Hang the meat in the over with tooth picks, placed in between the bars on your oven rack. 3rd. Liquid smoke is hard to get in the UK and Ireland. Use ebay. 4th. I found that using real garlic paste instead of powder give a better taste. Teriaki sauce is quite nice when added . Dont go mad on the Worcestershire sauce as it is the strongest flavor when finished... I also found turning down the over to 120 c over a longer period has a better finish. Your meat will be 1/4 is size when done

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenarms March 04, 2013

Good recipe. Getting the butcher to slice is an excellent idea; takes so much of the tedious work out. I don't think you need to pound it either; it's supposed to be a bit chewy. Love the spice and will add more next time. I tried another batch and substituted a homemade rub for the marinade and it was even better to my taste. Try your own rub that you use for smoking meats. You'll love it. The thing I like best about the recipe is that it doesn't have any sweetener. So many recipes for jerky (and everything else) contain some form of sugar. I never have understood why so many people feel the need to hide the flavor of food with sugar. Savory rules!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webejammin843 January 05, 2013

Excellent beef jerky recipe. I made this as written and didn't change a thing, I won't next time either. This came out just as I was hoping it would. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mae2september March 14, 2012

I haven't tried this yet but I have decided to try different recipes for beef jerky. I have created my own with only 3 ingredients but this one sounds very tasty. I have been using London broil for some months now and was pleasantly surprised to see this one also recommending London broil. It's a good cut of meat because it has very little or no fat on the inside and the fat on the outside can be easily trimmed away. I'm looking forward to using this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FilmNoirFan July 29, 2011

I have forgotten to review this, sorry. I have made this jerky now, about 6 times. It's delicious! My whole family loves it; I think the nex time I make it, I will triple the batch because it dissapears to fast. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom June 03, 2011

This is a good recipe!! A great base to start with. I think the pepper is just fine in fact I added a little more on top before smoking. (did not use liquid smoke) I smoked my jerky for 4 hours and finshed in the oven for another 4 hours. It took a little longer but I sliced my jerky thick. I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought it needed a little something like brown sugar or honey maybe even your favorite BBQ sauce. Thanks for a good recipe but I will tweek this to my liking. My wife really liked this recipe!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Remi 13 July 09, 2010

Made my first jerky ever using your recipe and other than it being just a bit "hot" for us....we loved it. We have made it several times since then just holding back on some of the "heat". Like sweetp, I added some brown sugar. Everyone loves it. I'm starting another batch tonight. This has justified my investment in a dehydrator. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvBeinHere April 25, 2010

This was a nice spicy jerky. I added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar,and 1 teaspoon crushed pepper flakes. I also used a chuck roast this time. But I have made jerky using all types of cuts with no problem as long as the meat is lean. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp March 18, 2010

good for venison too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Healthnut #3 December 29, 2009

Very good recipe for beef jerky. My DS loves this stuff. Will use this from now on. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 26, 2009
Homemade Beef Jerky