60 Reviews

Good evening! Great combination of flavors, and I agree with the addition of ginger, it's a secret ingredient of sorts in the BBQ world. If you use it, ginger adds a little brightness to the flavor, but keep in mind, it also adds it's own mild heat, so you might want to keep that in mind with the other heat elements in this recipe. Also, the difference in using low-sodium soy sauce vs regular will obvious change the salt content and some of the "shelf life". ANY homemade jerky that does not use cure should be refrigerated, just let it come to room temp to enjoy. What goes rancid the fastest is the fat, the more you can get rid of the better, that's why London broil is a great starter. BTW, save yourself the time of slicing - Cabela's and Bass Pro each sell jerky slicers. I've used the manual version for years. London broil in, jerky strips out, no cutting, no bothering the butcher, perfect thickness every time! Wait 'til you try this on a smoker as opposed to an oven! Enjoy, and thank you Cindy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken M. November 24, 2014

Best beef jerky recipe I've seen, turns out amazing.. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick M. July 27, 2014

Excellent recipe. When I make beef jerky, it is usually around 1 pound at a time. With the dry spices, I cut the amount to be used in half. It didn't change the outcome. I took some in to work today and everybody gave it rave reviews. I'm not sure yet if I am going to try to tinker with this recipe. Even though reading some of the reviews, there were some good ideas given. If anyone is looking for a good recipe to try. This is one to do

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwolsen March 19, 2014

I can not sing the praises is recipe loud enough! I can't stand to eat or justify the price of store bought brand name jerky since I have started making this. I do leave the hot sauce out of it though and add brown sugar to the marinate because I like my jerky to be a little sweet and not so hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bryan H. December 28, 2013

I would like to add some advise after making this a few times. 1st. Its important to cut your strip with the grain of the meat. 2nd. Hang the meat in the over with tooth picks, placed in between the bars on your oven rack. 3rd. Liquid smoke is hard to get in the UK and Ireland. Use ebay. 4th. I found that using real garlic paste instead of powder give a better taste. Teriaki sauce is quite nice when added . Dont go mad on the Worcestershire sauce as it is the strongest flavor when finished... I also found turning down the over to 120 c over a longer period has a better finish. Your meat will be 1/4 is size when done

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenarms March 04, 2013

Good recipe. Getting the butcher to slice is an excellent idea; takes so much of the tedious work out. I don't think you need to pound it either; it's supposed to be a bit chewy. Love the spice and will add more next time. I tried another batch and substituted a homemade rub for the marinade and it was even better to my taste. Try your own rub that you use for smoking meats. You'll love it. The thing I like best about the recipe is that it doesn't have any sweetener. So many recipes for jerky (and everything else) contain some form of sugar. I never have understood why so many people feel the need to hide the flavor of food with sugar. Savory rules!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webejammin843 January 05, 2013

Excellent beef jerky recipe. I made this as written and didn't change a thing, I won't next time either. This came out just as I was hoping it would. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mae2september March 14, 2012

I haven't tried this yet but I have decided to try different recipes for beef jerky. I have created my own with only 3 ingredients but this one sounds very tasty. I have been using London broil for some months now and was pleasantly surprised to see this one also recommending London broil. It's a good cut of meat because it has very little or no fat on the inside and the fat on the outside can be easily trimmed away. I'm looking forward to using this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FilmNoirFan July 29, 2011

I have forgotten to review this, sorry. I have made this jerky now, about 6 times. It's delicious! My whole family loves it; I think the nex time I make it, I will triple the batch because it dissapears to fast. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom June 03, 2011

This is a good recipe!! A great base to start with. I think the pepper is just fine in fact I added a little more on top before smoking. (did not use liquid smoke) I smoked my jerky for 4 hours and finshed in the oven for another 4 hours. It took a little longer but I sliced my jerky thick. I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought it needed a little something like brown sugar or honey maybe even your favorite BBQ sauce. Thanks for a good recipe but I will tweek this to my liking. My wife really liked this recipe!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Remi 13 July 09, 2010
Homemade Beef Jerky