Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Beef Jerky Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Beef Jerky

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2013

      I would like to add some advise after making this a few times. 1st. Its important to cut your strip with the grain of the meat. 2nd. Hang the meat in the over with tooth picks, placed in between the bars on your oven rack. 3rd. Liquid smoke is hard to get in the UK and Ireland. Use ebay. 4th. I found that using real garlic paste instead of powder give a better taste. Teriaki sauce is quite nice when added . Dont go mad on the Worcestershire sauce as it is the strongest flavor when finished... I also found turning down the over to 120 c over a longer period has a better finish. Your meat will be 1/4 is size when done

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Good recipe. Getting the butcher to slice is an excellent idea; takes so much of the tedious work out. I don't think you need to pound it either; it's supposed to be a bit chewy. Love the spice and will add more next time. I tried another batch and substituted a homemade rub for the marinade and it was even better to my taste. Try your own rub that you use for smoking meats. You'll love it. The thing I like best about the recipe is that it doesn't have any sweetener. So many recipes for jerky (and everything else) contain some form of sugar. I never have understood why so many people feel the need to hide the flavor of food with sugar. Savory rules!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Excellent beef jerky recipe. I made this as written and didn't change a thing, I won't next time either. This came out just as I was hoping it would. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      I haven't tried this yet but I have decided to try different recipes for beef jerky. I have created my own with only 3 ingredients but this one sounds very tasty. I have been using London broil for some months now and was pleasantly surprised to see this one also recommending London broil. It's a good cut of meat because it has very little or no fat on the inside and the fat on the outside can be easily trimmed away. I'm looking forward to using this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I have forgotten to review this, sorry. I have made this jerky now, about 6 times. It's delicious! My whole family loves it; I think the nex time I make it, I will triple the batch because it dissapears to fast. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This is a good recipe!! A great base to start with. I think the pepper is just fine in fact I added a little more on top before smoking. (did not use liquid smoke) I smoked my jerky for 4 hours and finshed in the oven for another 4 hours. It took a little longer but I sliced my jerky thick. I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought it needed a little something like brown sugar or honey maybe even your favorite BBQ sauce. Thanks for a good recipe but I will tweek this to my liking. My wife really liked this recipe!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Made my first jerky ever using your recipe and other than it being just a bit "hot" for us....we loved it. We have made it several times since then just holding back on some of the "heat". Like sweetp, I added some brown sugar. Everyone loves it. I'm starting another batch tonight. This has justified my investment in a dehydrator. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This was a nice spicy jerky. I added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar,and 1 teaspoon crushed pepper flakes. I also used a chuck roast this time. But I have made jerky using all types of cuts with no problem as long as the meat is lean. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      good for venison too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Very good recipe for beef jerky. My DS loves this stuff. Will use this from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      By far one of the best jerky recipes I have found. The only change I make is instead of using Frank's Red Hot, I use Firehouse Jamaican Jerk sauce. (And we have a dehydrator instead of the oven.) So good! Making another batch at the moment! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I love this beef jerky recipe. Made it once before and have some in the fridge marinating right now. It has great taste and so much better than store bought. The only change I made was to add fresh chili peppers in the marinade because we like it hot. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      I'm not a fan of beef jerky but my husband really likes it. We don't buy it often because it is so expensive, so I figured why not try to make some. After the long awaited 6 hrs in the oven at 170 (as low as my oven would go), it was ready. My husband tried it and liked it. His only complaint was that it didn't have any sweetness to it, and that the texture was a little dryer than the store bought kind. Maybe 5 hours would have been sufficient, and some brown sugar would have been a good idea for my husband's particular taste. Although making beef jerky was an adventure, I'm not completely convinced that it's cost effective. Considering the use of the gas stove for 6 hours, the ingredients that went into it and the shrinkage of the meat, it just might have cost $14/pound! Either way it was fun and novel use of a london broil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This was my first time ever making beef jerky. It was worth making too better than the bagged beef jerky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      DH is a jerky fan and he loved this. I did only have about 2 1/2 pound of steak, and used all of the seasoning, so mine packed a bit of a wallop, but we love spice here. DH has been snacking on it all day, so I think I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      A couple of days before Christmas I decided to have a beef jerky cook off in my kitchen with two receipes from this site and two from other sites. This was hands down the winner! Good amount of spice. I used the toothpick hanging in the oven method then and today I am trying small wooden skewers for more stability. I cannot wait until it is done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This is very good! I used round steaks and sliced mine very thin so it took much less time to dry out. I had my convection oven at 170 and dried them for about 4 hours turning them after 2 hours. I didn't have any liquid smoke but mine turned out just great. My biggest problem is fitting all the pans into my oven! Pic up soon...hopefully! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      We tried this with turkey and it was great! We will use this recipe again sometime when we feel like some jerky with a little heat! Thanks Cindy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Wow!! This is wonderful. I don't think I'll ever buy beef jerky again after tasting this. I used a 2 pound london broil and sliced it with a serrated knife while it was still frozen. I used the same amount of ingredients because I like to make sure I have enough marinade/sauce. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar to this to sweeten it up a bit. Next time I'd like to add some Captain Morgan to it. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      That was good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Beef Jerky

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.3
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    38%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 78.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 628.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes