57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with asking the butcher to cut it into thin strips for you, I had the store cut it into 1/4" thick strips and it was much easier than doing it myself. This was my first attempt at making jerky, and was extremely pleased with the outcome. This is a very flavorful jerky, although we did omit the hot sauce and found it spicy enough for our taste. But if you are into spicy foods, I would definitely put it in. My family is just a little bit wimpish when it comes to really spicy. But this marinade is great, I am glad that I decided to try it for my first batch of jerky!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlipC November 26, 2002

Great recipe. You can use any cut of beef you like and get the butcher to slice it thin for you (saves your fingers if you're clumsy like me). Awesome for high protien snacks. Add a bit of BBQ sauce for a little different zip.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devon S October 24, 2002

This is an excellent basic recipe. It didn't suggest to use a meat mallet to flatten the jerky just prior to dehydrating. This makes it easier to chew for those with difficulty and lowers the drying time significantly. I also used a dehydrator. The spices were a good eve blend and well balanced and I like the idea of not adding the unnecessary sugar so many jerky recipes call for. I used Braggs Amino Acids in place of the soy sauce.

Overall this is one of the best jerky recipes out there.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 March 28, 2011

Jerky is the best all around protein snack, you can add a little bit of Ginger to this recipe and it gives a flavor that is familiar and makes this taste even better....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronbiz August 23, 2010

This recipe is amazing! Of course being a chef myself i changed it a little. I could not handle quite all the spice so i used paprika instead of cayenne and i cut the franks red hot down just a bit. I also added brown sugar to the recipe. Although the recipe is great just the way it is my first batch I directly followed the recipe. But had to go back and cut down the heat.Other than that it is great. This works really good with venison as well. .

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmreis December 16, 2012

OMG! LOVE THIS! I have the beef sliced so thin, that halfway through the oven time, my husband and I are eating it. Can't wait till it's all done. This is better than any jerky recipe out there. Thanks, Cindy. Awesome post!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ September 12, 2010

This is actually 10 stars, because my daughter introduced me to it and she loves it as much as I do! Fantastic recipe! One note: one reviewer indicated that she (or he) cut the strips 1/2 inch thick. I think the recipe is intending to say that the meat should be 1/2 inch thick before slicing, and the slices should be considerably less than that even before pounding. I slice mine about 1/8th inch and do not pound it at all. My daughter slices it about 1/4th inch and pounds it with gusto.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gepaza February 11, 2010

I made a small batch just to try out the recipe without ruining all of the meat. I omitted the hot sauce. Upon tasting the marinade I found the worcestershire and red pepper way too overpowing. But once the beef had been marinated and dried, it was a perfect taste. Husband liked it but wants it hotter so I'll use the hot sauce in the next batch. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 August 20, 2014

The first time I made this recipe, I didn't have enough soy sauce on hand, so I used about half the amount the recipe calls for. I also make my own hot sauces, so I used one of mine: kinda medium and very garlicky. After trying it, I didn't think more soy sauce would have improved the flavor much. The second time I made it, I used the recommended amount of soy sauce, and added a little ground cumin (about 2 tsp., I'd say)... definitely helped.

A couple of food safety concerns: I used a food deydrator, not an oven (easier to control the heat at such a setting)... it's important to use at least 175-180?F to dry jerky, because the meat can "develop" pathogens if it's not hot enough. Also, even if you trim the fat off a lean cut of meat, as the instructions recommend, even a small amount of fat can turn rancid, so it's best to keep this in the refrigerator. Overall, a good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikflorida January 02, 2013

In the process of making this recipe for the second time, the first I had no liquid smoke and no hot sauce. I also used skirt steak and had the butcher slice it for me. I really liked it but my family thought it was a little hot.

This time around I have sourced some liquid smoke but still no hot sauce (next time).

I have cut back on the chili and cayenne a little but added some brown sugar and more garlic powder. I think this recipe is a great starting point to tweak to your taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RandomLogic June 16, 2012
Homemade Beef Jerky