Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Baked Potato Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Baked Potato Chips

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2007

      If they are not crispy enough, turn up the oven and back closer to the element. Its a basic recipe for potato chips. This isn't rocket science. Don't cook in the microwave unless you want a dried out shriveled up potato. A microwave can dry out any vegtable and make it crunchy, doesn't mean its worth eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      I love home baked chips! Here are a few tips for perfect crisp chips: <br/><br/>1) Soak the sliced potatoes anywhere from 5 minutes to overnight. This depends on how much time you have but one good rinse/soak is a must, you'll see the water turn cloudy-that's the excess starch! Excess excess starch is the main reason potatoes fail to crisp. <br/><br/>2) Remove excess water before baking. (I use my salad spinner but paper towels work fine.) <br/><br/>3) Use a higher temp for a shorter amount of time (400-450 for 10-15 minutes...be sure to check them until you know the right amount of time for your specific oven.) <br/><br/>4) If you have problems with chips browning evenly rotate your cooking tray/sheet and/or flip the chips halfway through your cook time. <br/><br/>5) You might also benefit from preheating your cooking tray/sheet 5 minutes. (I just put mine in while the oven is preheating and I'm chopping.) <br/><br/>Hope this helps. Snack on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Great taste-but I couldn't get them crispy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I took the advice of others and cranked up the heat to 400 and baked them on the top rack for 13 minutes and they still weren't crispy. My potatoes were super thin, so that wasn't the issue either. Oh well, I ate them anyway as they sort of tasted like french fries. Would highly recommend using sea salt on them prior to baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      For a nice crispy result, try soaking the potatoes in ice cold water before cooking. This will allow the starch to rinse out and prevents that sogginess after frying or baking. Works great with homemade chips & fries!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      These were good and easy to make. The kids really liked them and I liked the fact they could have chips! I do not buy commercial chips because of the fat and salt content. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      These were so so. The cooking temp and time needs adjustments. I think this has potential but needs to be thought out a little more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I have a huge weakness when it comes to potato chips. I love that it's simple, that it's a lower calorie and healthier choice than regular chips. I will be making this again for sure. I can't wait to try other seasonings as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These just didn't get crispy. They were either soft or they were burned. I would still recommend people to try them because the cheese-garlic topping is delicious and addicting, but expect something closer to fried potatoes, not potato chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      10 stars for simplicity and WOW factor. I didn't have cooking spray and had to use oiled baking paper. Naturally, the chips stuck to the paper but that didn't stop me for carefully peeling them off the paper and chomping on them! I ran out of garlic powder so left that out. Sprinkled the salt and some grated parmesan on to the tray, laid out the spud slices, sprinkled more salt and cheese and popped it into the oven. Some became crispy and some didn't but hey, the taste is awesome! Definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I hate to give a bad rating so I will just comment instead of leaving stars. I was disappointed with this recipe. They would not get nice and crispy in the oven, the few on the tray that did were stuck to the tray and crumbled in tiny pieces(even with plenty of spray). I was doing some in the microwave at the same time as the batch was in the oven, I was able to do 3 batches in the microwave that came out the perfect crispiness while the one batch was in the oven and never did come out properly, I had to finish them up in the microwave. I will definitely be sticking with the microwave method. If you don't care for then nice and crispy then this recipe is great, otherwise I don't recommend it. And a tip for the one using her peeler, some people use a mandolin slicer to slice the potato, if you have a meat slicer it works fantastic too, that's what I am using and it's so fast and easy to slice them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      These were awesome! All I did to get them crispy was bake them for 30 mins. You have to flip them at some point, too. If they still aren't crispy enough, bake longer. Some smaller chips may turn brown, but that just means they are crunchy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I enjoyed the ease of this recipe, never having made chips before...but at the temperature and time given, they just were not crispy. I turned the oven up to 400* and flipped them, spraying both the pan again and the chips (light mist). About 15 minutes later (total time now 25 minutes or so) I took them out and they were getting crispy, but not done yet. I decided it was a moot point as everyone was waiting. They were delicious and I will use this recipe again, just with a higher temp (or lower and slower) when I have more time to fool around with it all. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I love these potato chips! I never am able to get the potatoes sliced as thin as I like them, so I have started to use a potato peeler and 'peel' the potato the entire way instead of slicing them with a knife. Another good take on these is to skip the parm and sprinkle with garlic or onion powder along with some salt. Very yummy! A very nice addition to a low fat meal. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and very healthy! I have a photo.. I'll post it soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      These were pretty good. I only keep the shredded parmesean (the long shreds) so I made half with the cheese mixture and half with just some salt and garlic powder. I liked that I could put a bunch in the oven at once (my big issue with microwave recipes is that I can cook so few at a time). But mine took MUCH longer to cook. More then double the time suggested. Pretty nice taste though, and so very lf. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Wow, Dancer! These were so yummy and healthy too!! Thanks so much for the great recipe. I will be making these again and again, I can tell. They have been requested at my home several times in the last week. Thank you again. You always have the BEST recipes!! Hugs, Susie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Baked Potato Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    79%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 147.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat parmesan cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes