Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Baked Chips (Tortilla or Pita) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Baked Chips (Tortilla or Pita)

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      Two words: garlic oil. You're welcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made these last night to take to a New Year's Eve party to serve with a dip I made. I used flour tortillas because that is what I had on hand. These were fantastic: super-fast, tasty, and versatile! Plus they look way better on the table than regular tortilla chips. I put all of the wedges in a ziploc bag with a little bit of olive oil and kosher salt, then put the wedges onto a baking stone and cookie sheets (lined w/ aluminum foil, for easy cleanup). Ground pepper over them before they went in the oven. Would love to try these w/ the cinnamon sugar sometime, too. Thanks for posting, MM! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I have been making these chips for years. I make them with cinnamon and sugar. I spray them with water before shaking on the cinnamon and sugar and bake them on a stone so there is no oil needed. I then sever them with a chocolate dip and they are delicious! They're so simple, but everyone LOVES them. I have never had any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      I brush the tortillas with oil before cutting into wedges, then stack and slice into wedges all at once. Great way to use up the rest of the bag of tortillas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Recipe is excellent and chips turn out delicious. Note to those who say they need more/less time to make the chips? Invest in an oven thermometer...you will not be disappointed and your chips will be done the way you like...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Brushed corn tortilla's w.olive oil, dusted w.coarse salt, cumin and chili powder. I will never purchase tortilla chips again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      I brushed leftover Greek pita bread with olive oil and sprinkled coarse salt and oregano over them, baked as directed with great results. Thanks for sharing your recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good! My husband and I are working on eating healthier so we gave this a try. We used lo-carb flour tortillas and it was so good! I brushed them with canola oil and baked some plain and then did a batch with a little salt and garlic powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      These are really good! We brushed them with lime juice and sprinkled with coarse salt. They do taste almost like a dessert- we'd like to try it with corn tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I've made chips like these before but I learned the recipe from friends. So when found this, I wanted to rate it. I added a little salt on some and some garlic powder on others. Some I left plain. They were all eaten just a quickly! I used pita's because that's what you can buy where I live.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Excellent idea! I went slightly Italian and seasoned with garlic powder and an Italian seasoning mix. Cut into squares and served as scoopers with some hot crab dip and cold lettuce. It was fantastic. What an awesome addition to a homemade dip or just a simple side. Alsooooo I sprinkled on some fresh parm reg 3 minutes before they were done baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      These chips are very tasty. They are quick and easy too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      It is also fun to use theme appropriate cookie cutters to cut the chips into shapes. I just made them for fourth of july and used a star shaped cutter. I takes a little more effort and time and you need to find a use for the scraps (I used them in a layered Mexican casserole) but they are a lot of fun that way. Also if you are baking them on a stone you don't need the oil, unless you want to add seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      I found that they needed more than 10 minutes. Not much more though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      These are great! We have been following the South Beach Diet and this is a great Phase II treat. They turned out nice and crispy. I used chili powder and seasoned salt and garlic infused olive oil. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      We made a dip and wanted some chips to go with them. Saw this and decided these would be great. I cut the tortillas into wedges, brushed on the oil and then sprinkled on garlic salt. They turned out great! Everyone enjoyed these so much! Next time I will try the whole wheat tortillas to make them a little more healthy. Thanks for sharing this one! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Just perfect!!! I love the way these chips come out. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      YUMMM!! I made these with our three year old twins today and they were a huge hit! Even my picky eater couldn't get enough! We just cut the flour tortillas into pie shape wedges, sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM, put down the wedges in a single layer, sprayed again and sprinkled with a generous helping of cinnamon and sugar! 12 minutes at 325 was perfect for our oven (we liked the chips crispier and 12 minutes did the trick)! Highly recommend! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      These were super simple and such a great idea. I used a combination of kosher salt and chili powder. The only thing that didn't work for me was the timing. I checked them around the 8 minute mark and they were already overdone. I think they would have been perfect around 7 minutes. I may try this again using pita bread, as you suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I used melted butter on top as I had to use it. And I sprinkled with chili powder. It's great. Thanks MommyMakes :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Baked Chips (Tortilla or Pita)

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    22%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites