28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just Excellent!!! I've made many versions of homemade Baileys, but this is by far the best. My quest has reached it's end - thank you! Like a previous reviewer, I did not use the eggs (because they don't refrigerate eggs in this country!). And I added a teaspoon of instant coffee granules. In my opinion, this is better than store-bought! Made for Sweet December 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori December 18, 2014

Delicious and sooo easy. I scaled it down for the freshness of the ingredients and for the fast done recipe. <br/>I did not use the brand mentioned as I don't live in USA and I had other brands at home.<br/>This worked so well, that I can't imagine it would be even better! Thanks so much for this excellent recipe and suggestion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde December 04, 2014

In our version we use eggbeaters or egg substitute, increase the chocolate, Hersheys is best to 4 tbsp. and add one tsp. of a freeze dried coffee. YUMMY!!! Oh yeah we use fat free ingredients for mine. Everyone we gift gets regular half & half and sweetened condensed milk. We don't throw it away. It only get better with age.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pkcampbell_9504336 December 20, 2013

I better get this review in before I am seeing the bottom of too many Baileys. I am lining up behind the rest of the reviewers and am just loving this drink. It only sat for 2 hours before we had to try it and it is great already. In Canada a regular can of sweetened condensed milk is only 10.5 oz which I clued into too late while I was in the middle of blending. I added a bit extra half & half and also added a sprinkling of instant coffee as some other reviewer did. Heaven! We do not miss the lacking sweetened condensed milk, it is sweet enough for us. I will be making a few batches for a cottage trip with friends next weekend. Made for ZWT 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 17, 2012

Made for Zaar World tour 8. I had to substitute quite a lot since I positively had to make this RIGHT NOW! hahahaa, so I used scotch whiskey instead of irish whiskey, and used chocolate essense rather than syrup. My housemate is over the moon with his new liqueur and I'm feeling quite pleased with myself. I have uploaded a recipe with my substitions and have given you credit in it. Thank you so very much for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne August 14, 2012

I found a can of sweetened condensed milk in my cupboard and was looking for something to do with it (other than eat it out of the can.. yummy) and came across this recipe.. I LOVE Irish Cream so had to give this a shot... It is wonderful! Even my wife who HATES anything alcoholic had a rather large glass of it (I wonder if that means it is going to be a good evening :P) And this recipe seem to make about the same at a bottle of Baileys... for a fraction of the cost! I will be making this a LOT!!! Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amalsam February 12, 2012

Made a double batch of this for a St. Patrick's day party. There were rave reviews and none of it was left @ the end of the night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amorgizi May 13, 2010

i read the reviews and had to try it. just as everyone said, first day the whiskey was strong but then mellowed as the days go on. i cant believe how much my husband and i love this! we've been tasting a little bit each day and it just gets better and better. thinking of making a few batches for some St Patrick's Day cheer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mullingal March 14, 2010

This recipe made it into our Book #242923! 09/21/09 - Wow is this good stuff! When I went to make this, I found I was out of whiskey. I asked Buddha if he felt the Christian Bros. brandy we had would work. He said no. Well, I'm defiant anyhow, so I decided to make a small batch and give it a whirl. I let it sit in the fridge for 1 day, gave Buddha a shotglass full to try, and guess what?... he bowed to me! (That'll teach him who the master cook is in this family!) lol. Great recipe, and so much cheaper than Bailey's, and more potent too. Thanks for sharing a keeper recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 30, 2009

WOW!!! I usually make Kahlua, but thought I would try some Bailey's this year. I am SO SO glad we did!! This recipe was perfect!!! We had some left out of the blender & decided to try it & it was delicious!! I can't wait to taste it after it ages a couple days! (Well if it lasts that long!) We are definitely making this more often. It was cheap & fun to do! Way faster than making kahlua also! Thanks! Zeek family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CourtneyZ December 12, 2009
Homemade Baileys Irish Cream