28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also make this every Christmas season however the recipe that I have uses coconut extract instead of the vanilla. I also forgot to use eggs in it once and felt that it tastes better so I now make it that way. We had a taste test many years ago and felt that the commercial brand tastes very "chemical like" and enjoy our own much better.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee December 04, 2009

Wow!! I created an account here just to comment on this recipe. It's incredible. I used "Mulligan's" for the whiskey and took Wendy's advice and added a tsp. of instant coffee. I think this is way better than store bought Bailey's, as did my entire family that enjoyed it on Easter. Thanks LifeIsGood! It sure is :-)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntiedotes April 14, 2009

IT'S A WINNER! I can't believe I made this in like 5 minutes. WOW is it easy and good. I made it yesterday and it was good right away. . .agree it's a bit more smooth on day 2 (and I am enjoying some in my coffee right now). It is so creamy and delicious. I used some locally made whiskey in this recipe. Also used fat free condensed milk with great results. Thanks for sharing!!!! Made for our March Veggie VIP.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride March 04, 2011

so easy and tastey! :) I didn't have chocolate syrup, so I mixed 4 tsp of mint hot chocolate mix with 2 tbsp of hot water and voila~ mint baileys

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslierowse December 22, 2008

Yummy!!! 20 stars, LOL. Made it today for St Paddy's day tomorrow. Can't wait. Thought it would be good to rest and set a day. But I had to taste ... excellent. I made a quadruple batch. Lots of people. Good ol fashioned lamb stew, corned beef, etc ... so this was perfect. But this would be great any time of the year. This is a must do for best of the best recipes too. So tasty!!
Thx LIG, for an easy quick and wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 16, 2011

Oh my - this is soooo good worth 10 stars in my humble opinion! - I used fat free half and half, fat free sweetened condensed milk and eggs from free range chickens. Plus, I read an article yesterday that stated one alcohol drink a day helps reduce LDL - the bad cholesterol. So, I conclude this has got to be a healthy drink - right? Can't wait to drink this tomorrow when it will be even better (according to other reviewers). Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 March 13, 2011

Mmmmmmm.... What else is there to say? Ok, this definitely is improved by storage. Day 1 the whiskey taste was pronounced. Day 2 it was smoothing out ... Day 3 it was fantastic... Day 4 - HAHAHA!! There WAS NO Day 4, because I finished it! It won't last long around your house either. Hubby is NOT a fan of sweetened condensed milk, and on Day 1 said he could really taste it. I love SCM, so I was happy. I have fresh eggs, so not afraid to use raw eggs in this drink - that and the alcohol content would kill any germs! Thanks for posting LifeIsGood! YUMMERS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys December 14, 2009

Outstanding!! This tastes EXACTLY like the original, but a whole lot less expensive. I was a little concerned about using the raw eggs in this, so I used 3/4 cup "Best of the Egg" pasteurized egg product instead. Also, the size of the Eagle Brand condensed milk can is 14 oz. Thank you so much for sharing this fantanstic recipe...it is a definite keeper. I will be making this frequently to enjoy in my evening coffee :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill December 09, 2008

This Baileys was so smooth, it was incredible LIG. It was so quick and easy to make, with easy to obtain ingredients. I'll be making this often. Made exactly as written for Sweet December and wouldn't change a thing. Gave this batch away, but will be making another for New Years. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 25, 2014

I made this using coconut milk instead of half and half and it worked perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice December 22, 2014
Homemade Baileys Irish Cream