Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Applesauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Applesauce

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2002

      I finally made this today, and it's fantastic! Since I had only 2 lb of apples, I halved the recipe, and for a while, I was worried that 1/4 cup water would not be enough, but all went well, and I have a jar of yummy applesauce sitting in my refigerator now! Thanks Lennie, now I have something to top my pancakes with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      I've made a lot of applesause and this is a very good recipe! I used Granny Smith apples, as that is what I had on hand. I put all the ingredients into the pot, including sugar with a little extra to our tastes. Results were perfect! Very easy recipe. Thanks, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      The coring of the apples took a long time. But, when the applesauce was ready, I was DELIGHTED! Absolutely lovely in taste, I felt like a kid when licking the blender jar towards the finish:) Also, this recipe brought back memories of one of my most favourite desserts known as 'Blushing apple'. I'm now all set to make all sorts of goodies with this delicious yummy applesauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      I was so pleased to find a recipe to use some apples that had been bought; and I found to bruised and not very nice to just eat as a snack. This was easy, except the peeling and coring of the apples is a little tedous; but well worth it in the end. Especially since my Mom has recently been diagosed with diabetes; and loves applesauce on her pork, I just had to try and make her some homemade, instead of just going out and buying more. I would also like to say I will definitely make it again; and that it filled a 1 litre jar, and a medium sized jar, with 1/4 cup left over for my Mom to enjoy with her lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I went to the orchard with my kids over the weekend and picked apples. I came home and made this recipe, however, because the apples I chose were tart already, I left out the lemon. Yummy. I added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to my second batch and it was even better! Serve it warm with a little bit of butter and cinnamon. Top with a pie crust cut out baked with sugar and cinnamon. ****** Update: On this year's trip to the orchard we bought Empire Apples which are a bit tart, but I like my applesauce a bit tart anyway. Again,I did not add lemon and this year I added the vanilla as last year and 2 T. of splenda and skipped the sugar. Just fabulous! Also, I purchased a Foley Food Mill so I did not need to peel the apples, or place them in a processor -- huge time savings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2014

      Very easy and made to use in a pork with curried onions and apple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! i used McIntosh windfall apples and used a 1/2 cup of sugar. The 2nd batch i used the 2 cinnamin sticks from the previous batch plus 3 and it is wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      YUM! This smells fantastic as it is cooking and tastes divine! This will be my go to recipe for apple sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This recipe is sooo good. I used a food mill for better consistency. You don't have to peel the apples, so it saves a bunch of time. Just fish the skins out of the food mill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      LOVE IT! So simple, and blowed the jar stuff outta the water!!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      my SIL had an apple tree in their back yard and they gave me 2 brown paper bags full of apples! i've made apple pie filling, apple butter and now applesauce! i really love this recipe! it was easy, the most time consuming thing is coring and peeling the apples. i tripled the recipe, i put everything in a pot and simmered it for 1hr. i added alittle bit of vanilla. going to serve with dinner tonight! i'm not a big fan of applesauce but this, i think, has changed my mind! thanks for sharing a simple and great recipe!!! i forgot to add that i used 3/4c. of apple cider and 3/4 c. of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This is awesome. Trying to make apple butter out of extra. Thank you The Bacon''s

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      What a WONDERFUL recipe. I just made my batch and it is delicious. I can't wait for my 2 little girls to try it. They are going to LOVE it. Thanks so much. Oh, I used ground cinnamon and Splenda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Lennie, thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe! I just made this to use up a bunch of apples that my family and I got last weekend at the orchard. I used a combination of granny smith and fuji and it worked very well. I cooked it a little bit longer then the 15 minutes you suggested and used a potato masher and it turned out perfect! I have never made homemade applesauce was intimidated but your recipe was easy and simple and I can not say I will NEVER by store applesauce again, this was too good to ever have anything else! THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Very tasty. I used a mix of Braeburn, Fuji, and Gala and ended with excellent results. I also used my blender since I don't have a food processer, but everything worked great, just needed to blend in batches. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      This is much better than the canned stuff. I also halved the recipe and had no problem with just the 1/4 cup of water. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Thank you so much for posting. I made this yesterday, I had to emprovize a little, I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice and 4 tablespoons of cinnamon and about 2 pounds of aples, since I didn't have lemons or cinnamon sticks or enough apples at the time. It still turned out fantastic though. Everyone loved it. Thanks again!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      very easy to make, and the taste is how can I say. ( I will be using this recipe again )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      I love applesauce and next to my mother's recipe, this has to be the best I've tried. I used Gala Apples and since they are quite sweet to beginn with, only added about 2 tsp of sugar - after it was cooked. Also I only slightly mashed the apples as I like a few chunks in my applesauce. Never thought to put lemon into this - great idea. Thanks, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      The first time I made this, I used lime instead of lemon slices-- BIG mistake! I had to throw it away, it was so bitter. The second time I used lemon and gala apples-- it was wonderful! The third time I made this I used red delicious apples and didn't need to add sugar due to the natural sweetness. If you are looking to make a natural, unsweetened applesauce, I would recommend this recipe with red delicious apples. Will keep making this, thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Applesauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2752 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.8
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    61%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.0 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 63.1 g
    252%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes